Back In Town

First, I want to give a big thank you shout out to Brandi for doing a guest post for me yesterday! I really appreciate the time and effort she put into making it happen. Stay tuned in the future for other guest post opprotunities!!

We traveled over the weekend so we planned to have a late breakfast. To tide me over, I had a banana with a cashew macadamia nut butter smear. It did a fantastic job of holding me over, I now know why so many fellow bloggers eat this particular snack!

food-0011

For breakfast, we ate at the Cracker Barrel. I had planned to get pancakes and eggs only to discover their new skillet meals on the meni. I ordered the veggie skillet with sunny side up eggs, light on the cheese.  It was loaded with roasted broccoli, mushrooms, onions, tomatoes and potatoes.

food-0031

OMG! This was a killer breakfast, the dear husband ordered the same thing and asked me to duplicate it at home only a few bites in. It was a load of food and I only finished about 3/4 of it. But I saved a little room for breakfast dessert; a biscuit with grape jam. Need I say more?

food-004

After breakfast, we made the three hour drive home. On our way, we stopped in town and did a few errands. I had an unphotographed grande half caf 2 pump vanilla latte while we were out. Once we arrived home, I had a handful of almonds

food-0062

and a bowl of grapes.

food-0071

After more errands and some laundry, I hung out with the most recent copy of Health magazine and my treadmill. I walked for 45 minutes and relieved all the tension from the long drive. I took a quick shower and then got started on dinner. I wanted to make something quick and easy so I made mustard BBQ sauce glazed salmon

food-0082

with half a baked sweet potato topped with cinnamon

food-0102

and steamed yellow and green beans with carrots. I tossed the veggies in garlic.

food-0112

After dinner, we finally sat down to relax. I had a couple of reese’s hearts to cure my sweet tooth

food-014

and finally went to bed with my book.

Overall, my weekend was pretty good. How was yours?

16 Responses

  1. Sounds like you had a great weekend! Mine was pretty good too, just wish it had been longer! 🙂

  2. I love those biscuits! I rarely get them, but they’re the main attraction when I go to Cracker Barrel. Last time they didn’t bring biscuits, and I was so sad!
    Also, your dinner looks beautiful!
    I’d say my weekend was also pretty good. Not amazing, but nice.

  3. BISCUIT!!!!!!! OMG!!!!!
    Ok, I’m good… just a little bit excited to see a biscuit! Weekend was good, uneventful except for the blog going live on my own site!

  4. Gorgeous almonds, grapes, SWEET POTATO!!!

  5. Wow, that glaze looks and sounds wonderful! Yum, sweet p’s, love them!

  6. Those biscuits look so delicious!

  7. yay for being back!

    glad the weekend was good 🙂

  8. When I was home (Arkansas) over the holidays, my parents, brother and I were supposed to meet up with my aunt and uncle for lunch. My aunt really wanted to meet up at the catfish buffet, where everything is very greasy, heavy and fried to death!!! Not that it isn’t tasty (I do love a hush puppy), but I hate feeling greasy, heavy and fried to death myself after a meal. I talked them into Cracker Barrel instead just because I wanted to eat biscuits and blackberry jam.

    I also like that CB tries a bit. They do have some options like egg beaters instead of eggs. I appreciate that. I mostly appreciate the biscuits, jam and company. 🙂

    Glad you had a good weekend!

    • Sweetie Pie, I was impressed with the new skillets. It was loaded with vegetables and when I asked for light on the cheese they happily obliged (sp?). Cracker Barrel has always been an off limits kind of place to me but now I am seeing that they do actually have some good options. And of course, hoooray for biscuits!!! 🙂

  9. my weekend was so busy…All I did was homework =[ And it doesn’t look like it’s going to get better from here! However, I look forward to some baking time soon.

  10. WOW! Busy day! AND, you got your grape jam in!! 🙂

  11. Your food pics are beautiful!

  12. Um, any Cracker Barrell skillet is amazing – and all that melty cheese! Mmmmm.

    Glad you had a good weekend!!

  13. It was great! The biscuit looks so yummy 🙂

  14. OMG that cashew macadamia nut butter sounds amazing! I really need to branch out from the normal PB!

    I’m glad you had a good weekend with your husband!

  15. Alright, that salmon looks *killer*.

Leave a comment