On a Sushi Roll

Yesterday, I woke up in time to spend about 30 minutes doing a walk/run on my treadmill followed by about 15 minutes of vinyasa yoga. I flowed through a few sun salutation a followed by my own version of sun salutation b. I included warrior I, warrior II and side angle. I also worked on wheel and then did a short meditation. What a terrific way to start the day.

I got to work feeling ready to take on my day but first, I had breakfast. I made overnight banana oats which had 1/3 cup oats, 2/3 cups milk, a dash of salt and a mashed banana. When I got to work, I heated them in the microwave for 3 minutes and then topped them with ground flax seed and a PB spoon. Yum! As long as you know that you want oats the following day, I see no reason to use any other method!

jan-107

Again, T suggested that we pick up sushi from Kenji for lunch. Being the sushi lover that I am, I happily obliged. This time, we decided to order 3 rolls and share them. On my plate was half of each of the following: green spiral roll, volcano roll and red passion roll.

jan-108

On the side, I also had a ginger salad.

jan-109

OK, this was THE BEST SUSHI I have ever had. Ever, in my whole career of eating sushi. The part that makes me sad is that since I work so far away from home, the dear husband and I can’t pop over there and eat sushi anytime we want 😦

After lunch, G brought up frozen reeses cup for T and I to share. It was a perfect compliment to the spicy sushi.

jan-110

The afternoon wizzed by and when I got home from work, I was  a little hungry so I munched on an orange.

jan-111

We once again consulted the blue jar for dinner because neither of us knew what we wanted. We pulled out a couple of meal ideas before finding one that we had all of the ingredients for. We settled on whole wheat ravioli in marinara sauce

jan-1131

with pan roasted broccoli.

jan-112

After dinner, I had a few chocolate covered almonds and then started baking for a special event happening this afternoon. You’ll have to tune in tomorrow to find out what it is!

jan-114

Shortly before bed, there was a knock on the door and right away, I knew it must be my secret cupid gift. Maggie at Say Yes to Salad sent me a jar of my beloved lemon curd

jan-116

a couple of honey sticks

jan-117

and a cute pair of handmade earings.

jan-118

Thanks, Maggie, such thoughtful gifts you sent!

And don’t forget to sign up for my country bob’s giveaway! All you have to do is comment on that post, link back to the contest and you are all set. If you don’t have a blog, comment and send me an email confirming that you don’t have a blog. I will also be including a very special surprise so be sure to sign up! The contest ends Tuesday, good luck!

20 Responses

  1. Lovely curd and gorgeous jewelry from Maggie!!

    HAPPY FRIDAY!!

  2. Seeing all your sushi recently has really given me a craving for some!!! I may just have to treat myself this weekend!!

  3. What lovely Secret Cupid gifts!

  4. Oooh the lemon curd looks yummy! I’ve only had it on scones, what else do you put it on?

  5. Yum! I love the ginger salad at sushi places. The dressing is always so tasty!

  6. You are definitely on a hardcore sushi roll! Looks fab.

  7. Oh I can’t wait for the surprise! Let me know your thoughts on the read 0 it’s a little clinical but I like stuff like that 🙂
    Sushi is so yummy@

  8. […] The rest is here:  On a Sushi Roll « What I ate Yesterday […]

  9. Glad you liked the gifts! I never knew about lemon curd before your blog 🙂

  10. I love Lemon Curd! You reminded me I need to think of some other things to eat with it 🙂

  11. That sushi looks delicious! Now I am having a huge craving! Ginger salad is the best too!

  12. Aggggghhh I am SOOOOO craving sushi now!!!! I hope you have a fabulous valentine’s day and have a wonderful time w/ your sweetie!(while having sweets of course:P)

  13. I’ve never seen a broccoli look this tasty.

  14. OMG i love lemon curd… and that sushi looks incredible!

  15. Oh sushi… how seriously badly I could go for some right about now. That platter of yours looks incredible! I don’t think I’ve ever seen sushi look quite that unique before. I definitely dig it and it makes me want to go seeking out new sushi places now.

  16. Mmmm, ravioli! I just had some yesterday and today!

    Cool gifts!

  17. awesome gifts!
    that broccoli looks AMAZING.

  18. Sushi 3 days in a row is hardcore sushi love. And what a nice Valentine’s Day present 🙂

  19. mmmmm….lemon curd. Can’t go wrong there!

Leave a Reply

