Yoga, Yoga, Yoga, Walk, Pump Iron

Yesterday was a glorious day.  To fuel me up for the day ahead, I had a piece of leftover crabcake quiche with a rooster sauce drizzle. I think the quiche was even better leftover!! This recipe is going in the blue jar, for sure. The blue jar is a little jar that the dear husband and I write our favorite meals on little slips of paper and when we are stuck for what to make, we pull something out of the jar.

020809-005

Breakfast was followed by a quick clean up because I was having my ever anticipated private yoga lesson with Candy. Candy is one of my all time favorite yoga teachers and I was so excited to have her at my home to teach me. She arrived around 10 and we started by just talking about what it is that I am looking for in an at home yoga practice. My ultimate goal was to have an at home practice that doesn’t require the use of an audio or dvd class. I believe that this is when the real yoga happens. When we can explore our minds and go where our body takes us rather than where a teacher takes us. Don’t get me wrong, I wouldn’t trade my Saturday AM class for the world but a consistent, mind, body and soul searching home practice is what I really crave.

We talked for a short while and then made our way to my back deck. It was a gorgeous 72* degrees and we couldn’t resist it. We swept away the acorns and pine needles and laid our mats down for a glorious 2 hours of yoga in the sun. We broke down sun salutation and explored each pose as an individual and as a flow. She taught me about creating new sun salutations and how to piece together pracitices that will give me what I need at the time. She encouraged me to explore poses rather than focus on getting them “right”. She taught me how to focus on the right muscles for making jumping and lunging more graceful. We worked on crow, wheel and shoulder stand, some of my favorite poses.

I learned so much about yoga, more than I have ever learned in one space of time before. Once we rolled up our mats, I felt empowered about what my body can do and encouraged to spend time with my mat and my mat alone. I feel ready to take my yoga practice to the next level and really explore who I am through yoga. This private lesson changed my yoga practice and I can’t wait to explore it through my own eyes.

Once Candy left, I was starving. All of the sun salutations, down dogs and warriors made my appetite ready for food. I had a long drawn out lunch planned but at that point, my stomach didn’t want to wait. I looked around in the kitchen and came up with an ultra fast lunch. I sauteed Trader Joe’s Vegetarian Italian Sausages in olive oil and then topped them off with marinara sauce. Once the sauce was warm, I served it with leftover brown rice and parmesan shavings.

jan-082

Though I felt really hungry, I was only able to finish about half of what I served myself. I think I was actually hyper aware of my hunger signals which is a good thing. I did, however, save room for a few chocolate covered almonds.

jan-083

After lunch, the dear husband and I got the laundry started and then headed out for a 4 mile trek. It was such a beautiful day, we both just wanted to be in the sun. Once we returned home, we did the Get Ripped dvd. We only did the upper body tracks because my lower body was already sore from all of the yoga and the long, hilly walk. It took us about an hour and once we were done, my appetite was in full force again.

I had a small bowl of greek yogurt with mixed fruit and creamed honey. Yum. Yum. Yum.

jan-084

We spent the remainder of the day finishing up laundry, catching up on the DVR and reading. I was completely wiped out so we made frozen pizza for dinner. This time, we chose the Mediterranean veggie

jan-086

and I made sauteed spinach for the side.

jan-085

For dinner dessert, we split a Reese’s egg. I could have eaten the whole thing but I wanted to play nice and share 🙂

jan-0871

Don’t forget to visit Meghann’s blog today at 11:00am. She is hosting the bloggers bake sale where my Best Fudge Brownies, along with many other blogger goodies, will be for sale. Meghannis training to run the Rock n Roll San Diego Marathon in an effort to raise money for The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society. So get on over there and buy something delicious for a super cause!

22 Responses

  1. Yoga + spinach = love them both 😀

    Happy Monday!!

  2. My Beautiful, Beautiful Yogini. I adore reading your posts, they feel like home to me. Yoga has SAVED my life and it brings such peace, serenity, and ease into my day. I love the warmth I feel throughout my body… I feel it, not only in my joints, my bones, my muscles, and my pores, but in my spirit. I literally cannot help but feel like a delicate dancer when I practice… It’s like no one can touch me and I am free and beautiful. It is the 0NE time that I am, somewhat, at peace with my body. What a blessing to have in my life.

    Thank you so much for allowing me to reflect on this. I have a Rebirth Vinyasa today, and cannot wait to just close my eyes, and allow my heart to flow.

    I love you! Have a Beautiful Monday! X0

  3. Wow, yoga outside in the sun sounds like a beautiful experience. 72 degrees seems like a dream today!

  4. I’m so glad the yoga lesson was good, and that you had great weather!

    I love the idea of the blue jar 🙂

  5. Yay for an awesome yoga lesson!

    The quice looks great!

  6. It must have felt wonderful to do your yoga outside.

  7. Beadie, your blog has quickly become one of my favorites! Your attitude and experiences are something I very much look up to, and your eats as well! I am so impressed with the thought and effort you put into eating real life food-I want a reese’s egg!!

  8. P.S. and sauteed spinach!!

  9. I wish I had a TJ’s near me. Vegetarian Italian sausages sound so yummy!

  10. Hooray for yoga! That quiche looks amazing…

  11. darn you are one of the best cooks I’ve ever “met’ in blogland. Everything you eat (that crab quiche) looks like it would be gone in no time if it were in my fridge. heheh for 1 second I thought those delicious chocolate covered almonds were olives! hehe

  12. What an amazing practice. In the sun even!

  13. ok so i would be making your quiche this minute if i could find wholewheat pastry crust ANYWHERE in england. ARGH. maybe i’ll just do it with white.

    your yoga experiences are truly inspiring – i’ve never gotten into yoga, but reading your accounts really do make me want to try.

    AND!! your blue jar idea is the sweetest and best thing i have heard all year!! i am DEFINITELY doing that once i have a family of my own, and will call it the “beadie jar”

  14. 😀 You are so sweet!!! And thank you. I will add you of course! I’m a devoted follower/fan:P

  15. How cool that you got to do that amazing yoga outside!

  16. Sounds like a beautiful class and experience. I love reading people’s stories about how yoga has impacted their lives because I feel like yoga is a true friend. I’ve never practiced outside though and I would love to try.

  17. I have enjoyed that very pizza myself I believe – it’s a winner on the no-cook nights! And I am jealous of your yoga!

  18. […] Yoga, Yoga, Yoga, Walk, Pump Iron […]

  19. beadie, you won!! visit my site!

Leave a Reply

