Sushi Thursday

Yesterday started with yet another bowl of quaker oat squares mixed with Trader Joe’s High Fiber Cereal. I topped the bowl off with dried blueberries, ground flax seed and milk. Maybe one day I will get a little more adventurous with my morning bowl 🙂

jan-077

About mid morning, I felt a little hungrier than usual so I snacked on this lovely orange.

jan-078

Breakfast may have been dull but lunch was very exciting, at least to me! T and I decided to start up our weekly sushi run again despite it being the slow season for golf. During the season, we have lots of errands to run which makes sushi runs much easier. Now days, we rarely have to go anywhere and with civilization a 15 minute drive away, sushi isn’t the most convenient lunch. But we both love it so we are going to try to get out more for it. Yesterday, I chose a kryptonite roll, which is tuna, cukes, avocado, crunchy and spicy sauce, and a sweet potato roll. After the picture was taken, I added a little extra rooster sauce for some kick.

jan-079

I ended up working really late so our evening wasn’t very exciting. I made shrimp and veggie stir fry with brown rice for dinner

jan-080

and had a small bowl of chocolate coconut milk ice cream for dessert. I have said before that the vanilla is my favorite but last night I was starting to think that maybe my favorite is the chocolate. I guess I will just have to keep eating them until I am sure 🙂

jan-081

Question: Do you tend to eat the same things over and over again? I’d say that I do but I am also pretty adventurous when trying new foods to make for dinner. I do tend to eat the same breakfasts and lunches over and over again.

15 Responses

  1. GORRRRGEOUS breakfast!!!!

  2. When it comes to my breakfast, I definitely eat the same the over and over. I’m more adventurous with my other meals, though and I love to try new things!

  3. SUSHI!!! I’m so excited for sushi Friday, I can’t even stand it!

    I do tend to eat similar things for breakfast. Lunches are usually leftovers from the night before, then dinners are usually new stuff because of the blog 🙂

  4. I need to try that coconut milk ice cream. It’s just so expensive here!

    I eat a lot of the same stuff, especially breakfasts and lunches (with leftovers). I LIKE having new things….it’s just not always economical for us 🙂

  5. Yes, I eat the same foods over and over again because I love leftovers!

  6. Hey Beadie-licious! (hehe, just thought of that!)
    Your meals look excellent-at first i thought the shrimp stir-fry photo was that of a restaurants-but no, it’s your own creation! That looks seriously professional!

    coconut milk icecream!!!! me wannnntttttt!

    i eat the same things a lot here in college. staples: oats, cottage cheese, greek yogurt, wraps, peanut butter, apples & sliced carrots!!

  7. that sushi looks so good! I loves me some SP roll! & that ice cream! wow! I’ve got to try it!

  8. I had sushi last night. I tend to stick mostly to the nigiri types. I had:
    2 sake (salmon)
    1 hamachi (yellow tail)
    1 Maguro (tuna)
    1 veggie roll
    1 cucumber rool

    Actually a really low point dinner. Sushi rocks.

  9. Sushi love! Maguro nagiri is probably why I describe myself as a flexible vegan that sometimes eats fish.
    Is the coconut milk ice cream creamy or icy? That’s my biggest complaint about most soy ice creams.

    • Andrea, Coconut milk ice cream is creamy, not icy at all. Besides the slight coconut flavor, you wouldn’t know it isn’t regular milk.

  10. Mmmmmm…your post is making me CRAVE sushi!

    Green Smoothies and instant brown rice are pretty much staples in my kitchen- we eat them ALL the time!

    Love your photography!

  11. Sushi! My favourite 😀

    I don’t think I’m too much of a repetative eater. Sure, I have staples and foods I eat more often than others, bu I’m always trying to mix it up. I might eat the same thing a few days in a row, only because I have leftovers and I live by myself & refuse to waste perfectly good food. But chances are you won’t see me eat that same meal again for awhile, and I’ll try and change it up a bit even when I’m eating it.

  12. i sooo want sushi now!!

    i definitely eat the same things evvvvvery day. i try to switch up the appearance a bit for blog purposes, but it’s just so much more economical to make a big bunch of one thing that a lot of bits of different things. and when you find something that works, why mess with it?

  13. I go through phases when I eat the same thing over and over and over again. For a while it was oatmeal for breakfast, then peanut butter toast — then eggs. Usually my jags last for months and month and then suddenly one day I get totally sick of the thought of eating it.

  14. I had to try the coconut milk ice cream after seeing it here. I got the chocolate and it’s sooo good!

    I got my husband to try it after telling him there was no dairy and I think he liked it as well. This might be a repeat visitor in our freezer.

    Thanks for the recommendation!

Leave a Reply

