Burning Lungs

For the second day in a row, I woke up late. I got ready as fast as I could, grabbed my cafe au lait and ran out the door. Once I got settled into work, I ordered breakfast from the kitchen again. Another egg and cheese sandwich but boy was it ever good. The Chef really knows his way around a salt and pepper shaker πŸ™‚

jan-052

Lunch was pretty simple, I asked The Chef for a salad to go along with my PB on sandwich thin. I only got a picture of the salad because I had company in my office for lunch time.

jan-053

Work went by pretty fast and by the time I got off, I was inspired by the sunny day to try my hand at running outdoors.Β  It had been a really long time since I ran outdoors but since I am planning to run a 10k in March, I figured no time like the present to get started. I laced up my sneakers and headed outside. My lungs began to hurt from the cold air pretty instantly. I ran for about a mile before calling it quits, my lungs just hurt too bad. I guess I haven’t built up enough lung strength to handle the cold. Anyone have advice in this arena?

After my short run, I came inside and starting coughing like mad. Finally, my lungs felt normal again so I heated up dinner. We had a quick meal because we had to be at Body Pump class and were hoping to get there a little earlier than last week. I made a huge pot of chili over the weekendso I heated that up and served it over blue corn chips. I topped it all off with queso cheese and a dollop of sour cream.

jan-054

After dinner, we headed to Body Pump to pump some iron. I love Body Pump because it takes the guess work out of lifting weights and for a newbie like me, that is awesome! Once we were home, I had half of an Honest Foods Choco Peanut Butter bar warmed in the microwave.

jan-055

For those of you that are looking for a new blog to add to your list, check out my friend Brandi’s new blog. Brandi seems to have the balance of food and exercise figured out and I am proud to call her friend.

14 Responses

  1. Hope you’re feeling better!! Be careful with that cough!!

  2. Aw, thanks Beadie! πŸ™‚

    For running in the cold-er weather:

    – I had a gym coach who was also a track coach, and he always told to breathe in our nose and out our mouth as often as we could

    – I sometimes get that “my throat is freezing up” feeling – you may just need to stop and walk for a few minutes to get used to the cold and then start running again.

    – Don’t push too hard if you’re feeling like that!

    – I always, always walk for 2-3 minutes before running (unless it’s a race). Even on the treadmill and outside. DH doesn’t have to, but I can’t just walk outside and start jogging. I try to walk fast and get my heart rate going a bit before starting.

    I want one of those bars πŸ™‚ I can’t find them here!

  3. My lungs burn when I run outside in the cold, too. Really bad! If you get any good advice that works for you, let me know! I’m just dying for the weather to get warmer here so I can hit the pavement again!!

  4. mmm, that breakfast sandwich! i usually don’t even give bfast sammies a second thought, but something about that picture has me craving one!

    For the lungs, on really really cold days, I wrap a scarf around my neck up to right below my nose so that I can breathe into it. It’s not the freshest air, but at least it’s warm!

  5. That close-up of your chili chips looks so tasty. Makes me want to grab a fork and dig in!

    As far as running outside goes, I used to do the same thing. Make sure to warm up a bit first. Maybe some fast paces walking for 10 minutes followed by a few short sprints. You don’t want to get your heart rate up right away – give it some time.

    Love the Honest Foods bars, but never had them warm. Great idea!

  6. Hey love-I wonder where you got those bars? Heather from HEAB sent a sample to me but I can never find them in the stores. How was that flavor? Lucky you.

    Beadie, it seems like you had a great day yesterday. This is really important for both of us to recognize, that life does go on after having slips and other setbacks. Keep going, girl. You got this!

  7. Oh wow, I really want to try those Honest Foods. They look tasty! And thanks for the link to the blog!

  8. You know, I have taken pics of my food, and they never turn out like you make yours look. Gosh i hungrey now.

  9. Egg and cheese sammies are so good! I would love to try the Honest Foods bars! Have a great night!

    http://www.strongandhealthy.wordpress.com

  10. Your chili looks great… I’m excited to freeze some of my vegan chili from this week and bring it out in a few weeks!

    You know how I feel about running… so I got nothin’ about that, other than that I’m so happy it looks like you had such a great day πŸ™‚

  11. it is such a joy to catch up on what you have been up to, because you are such an honest and sincere writer and your emotions thoughts really reach out to me. hope you are having a great weekend!

  12. I don’t run in the cold, or really the warmth for that matter. πŸ˜€ I use a treadmill. I have a goal to run more 5Ks and a 10K this year, so maybe we can help motivate each other!

  13. […] a problem. I had The Chef make me a scrambled egg sandwich on whole wheat bread with cheese. The last timeΒ it was good but this time it was really good. The eggs were super fluffy and it had the perfect […]

Leave a Reply

