The Weekend Is Here!

As per usual, I started the day with a cafe au lait on my way into work. For breakfast, I had a repeat of thursday. A bowl of multi-grain Cheerios topped with flax seed, dried blueberries and milk.

011709-045

We had a late lunch planned so I snacked on some red pepper chunks with natural PB. MMMM….goood!

011709-046

We had a v. special lunch because it was K’s last day. At my job, I am one of three women that work there and with K leaving, it is down to just two. We are really going to miss her. K is the kind of girl that if you didn’t love her so much, you would totally hate her. For our lunch, I picked up sushi for T, K and myself. I had the vegetable maki combo with had three small rolls. One was a sweet potato roll, one was a vegan roll and one was a futomaki. All of them were delicious but I thoroughly enjoyed the sweet potato roll!

011709-047

After our lunch, we had a twizzler party. We gave K about 6lbs of them because she loves them so. We tried all the flavors, lemon was my favorite. I didn’t take any pictures because it just didn’t feel like the right thing at the time. I was on a major sugar high the rest of the afternoon and finally came cashing down when it was time to go home.

Once I got home, I made a quick dinner to warm us up from the cold. I heated up some TJ’s butternut squash and apple soup with a dollop of greek yogurt

011709-052

and grilled cheese on sandwich thins.

011709-0541

I didn’t really like the soup at all, I guess sweet soup isn’t my thing. I ended up eating only the grilled cheese and half of one of the sandwiches I made for the dear husband.  I really fought off the munchies that I am sure was a result of all of that afternoon sugar. We watched a little DVR and then went to bed. The house was so cold because our heat pump is having a hard time keeping up but I always sleep best when it is cold!

What is your favorite meal when it is cold outside?

13 Responses

  1. Grilled cheese on sandwich thins sounds SO GOOD!! I’ll have to try it!

    Favorite cold-weather meal: roast chicken, garlic roasted potatoes, and apple pie for dessert!

  2. Sushi! It looks fantastic. I love sweet potato rolls.

  3. Mmm…that sushi looks great 🙂

    I have never heard of a sweet potato roll!

  4. You have a wonderful blog. I am going to add you to my favorite HEALTH Blogs. Please stop by and take a look sometime.

  5. Enjoy your weekend!!!

    **My favorite cold-weather meal (scroll down in post):

    http://veggiegirlvegan.blogspot.com/2008/09/edible-and-inedible-goodies.html

  6. I never woulda thought to try red peppers with PB. I will have to try that combo!!

  7. ooooooooooooooh that sushi looks so good! which place is it from? Never thought to put red pepper w/ straight PB. I enjoy it with PB sauces & dressings, so I will have to try it!

  8. I love sushi. I think I could eat it every day! I’ve never had a sweet potato roll but that sure sounds good!

  9. Soup and grilled cheese is a sure winner when it’s cold!

  10. Please work on a recipe for the sweet potato sushi for the home cook. 🙂

    I find BLT salad very comforting, which is strange.

    Chili is my more typical answer. With pudding.

  11. Def. soup! i had bnut squash soup today, too! yummmy!

  12. […] in the week that we would do a sushi run for lunch. I had been craving a sweet potato roll since the last time I had one. I ordered the veg maki combo which included a vegan roll (cukes and avocado), sweet potato roll […]

Leave a Reply

