Another Day In Paradise

UGH. Work is a nuthouse. We are in the process of closing last year and it is very stressful. I am hoping to have it all wrapped up by the end of the week so that I can take advantage of the slow play and have some down time.  It always amazes me that working in an industry of leisure can be so stressful.

OK, mini rant over, let’s get onto the food and stuff.

Before leaving work yesterday, I had some greek yogurt topped with thawed mixed berries. I guess my camera likes greek yogurt, too, because my picture is missing. 😦 With a satisfied belly, I made my way to therapy, which has been pretty intense lately. But, I have to say that I have started to develop some healthy coping skills and finally feel that there is a light at the end of the tunnel. Along with therapy, yoga, regular exercise and meditation have really changed my life.  I’m so thankful to be on this path to wellness.

And for those of you that are curious, no, I’m not dieting anymore. I learned with  my last stint that I’m just not cut out that way. This revelation came to me about six weeks in, I had a net loss of 1 lb and it sucked. I’d rather focus on being healthy and strong. I *know* in my heart that I will find my happy weight without deprivation. So there ya go, thanks for sticking with me through the tough times.

After therapy, I picked up the dear husband and we made our way to the gym. It was PACKED. This was our first time going to this particular location at this particular time of day. Normally, we only go there on the weekends and we learned last night that we will not go there again for free weights and cardio machines at 5:30 PM ever again. We are signed up for a class there on Thursday night but since we are already signed up, it shouldn’t be an issue.

Anywho, we did the STRIVE strength training circuit followed by 15 minutes on the bikes. There were no treadmills, no ellipticals or no incline treadmills available. Not even one. The bike isn’t really my thing so I was bored to tears after 15 minutes, no offense to you spinners out there. Oh well, live and learn, I guess.

Once we were home from our sucktastic gym experience, we were both hungry and tired. I made a easy peasy dinner to fit our mood.  I baked Boca Chik’n in the toaster oven and topped it with jack cheese. Once it was done, I put it on a sandwich thin with BBQ sauce and pickles. Kinda reminded me of Chick Fil A except for that actual chicken thing.

jan-012

On the side, we had  a steam bag of yellow and green beans with carrots. I topped them with an olive oil drizzle and garlic with sea salt. The dear husband was really diggin’ the little round carrots that he lovingly referred to as “carrot balls”.

jan-013

For dessert, I had a little “junk food” to satisfy my sweet tooth. A small bowl of cocoa pebbles with milk, I love those things, they make me think of my grandma. As a kid, we only got junk cereal at Grandma’s house and cocoa pebbles was always my favorite. As an adult, I have learned that they really satisfy my sweet tooth.

jan-014

By the time dinner was over, it was almost bed time! I did some reading and a little tv watchin’ and then turned in for the night.

Be back later!

10 Responses

  1. January is SUCH a busy month!

    Your sandwich looks a-mazing!

  2. Sorry for the sucktastic gym experience – that stinks!

    That’s awesome that you’re following your revelation about not “dieting”. I’m reading Fit from Within right now and it talks about that a good deal.

    Being healthy, fit, and strong will keep you happy 🙂

  3. Hang in there!!

    **Just as a heads up: I will not be able to comment on blogs as often now, during this semester, due to work overload (I’m stressed already) – PLEASE know that I’m still loyally reading, but just won’t have time to comment. I hope you understand!!

  4. that’s a good idea to have sugary cereal as dessert! I think it would make me crash in the morning…but seriously I am craving Cinnamon toast crunch so badly now 😀 I was only allowed it on my birthday!

    • Caroline, the cereal doesn’t cause any major spike in sugars for me because it only has 9 grams of sugar per serving. For a “junk” cereal, that is pretty good. If you like cinnamon toast crunch, you may like the cinnamon start made by Archer’s Farms at Target.

  5. Good for you for letting go of “dieting.” You seem to have a renewed freshness this time around!

  6. I 2nd Hangry Pants!
    Where can I find carrot balls?
    I’m all about cereal as dessert – some cereals are just not “right” in the morning!

    • Heather, thanks for saying that. As you all will see in posts to come, my life is changing in such positive ways right now. I have a new lease on life.

      Andrea, they come from Target in the freezer section 🙂

  7. I’m so glad to find your blogging here again. Intuitive eating can be a rocky journey and I am so happy you are finding a balance. Tricky isn’t it?
    I also love a bit of sweet cereal for dessert. It makes me crash as well if I have it in the morning and sets up a day of craving and such. I found some puffed brown rice cereal that I add to puddings and yoghurts that makes a perfect dessert.

Leave a Reply

