The Stress Monster

By the time I got home from work last night, I had a migraine. It had been a few hours since I had eaten so I decided to make dinner right away. I made a thai coconut curry with seitan and veggies over brown rice. For the sauce, I used lite coconut milk, green curry paste, garlic, ginger, lemongrass, basil, cilantro and, of course, a little rooster sauce. It turned out really well.

jan-009

After I ate, I laid on the couch and eventually went to bed around 7:30 as I wasn’t feeling any better. I woke up this morning feeling better but thankful for the coffee that was waiting for me. I made a cafe au lait and then headed in to work. Once I arrived and got settled, I had a toasted whole wheat english muffin with a natural peanut butter smear.

jan-010

Work has been uber stressful this morning since we are trying to close out 2008 and continue to run into accounting road blocks 😦 Needless to say, this little break to blog feels nice. I’m having my lunch that I grabbed out of the freezer this morning: spicy black bean soup. I topped it off with a dollop of sour cream and a crumbled cheese stick.  So good and warming on such a cold day.

jan-011

I have a massive insane pile of work and hope to plow through that so that I can leave work with a clear mind. After work, I have  a therapy appointment and a date at the gym with the dear husband. We are planning to lift weights and do a short run on the treadmill. Hopefully, when we get home, I will have time to squeeze in some yoga and a short meditation.

Be back later!

8 Responses

  1. I’m glad you’re feeling better – that curry sounds awesome!

  2. thai coconut curry sounds soooooooooooooo good! can i come steal your leftoverS?!

  3. Your dinner looks insane and has me drooling! Most of what you make does 🙂

  4. Love the curry!! Delish!!

    Hope you’re feel 100% better!!

    **Just as a heads up: I will not be able to comment on blogs as often now, during this semester, due to work overload (I’m stressed already) – PLEASE know that I’m still loyally reading, but just won’t have time to comment. I hope you understand!!

  5. So sorry for all the stress!

    How did you make the seitan?

  6. that looks really delicious–how do you like seitan? I saw it last week at Whole foods but I didn’t jump on it.

    Of course, the black bean soup looks excellent as well. i seriously need to cook a pot of soup.

    • Heather, I bought the seitan from Whole Foods. Making it myself is tempting but I don’t have the nerve yet.

      K Renee, I like it when it has a hearty sauce along with it. I don’t think I would like it just sauteed plain.

Leave a Reply

