Ah, Sunday

Last night’s dinner was a hit. The dear husband and I started out with half a sandwich thin with olive oil and Italian herbs for dipping.

011109-002

This is a new thing my mom and I are trying out. It is supposed to help you eat less overall, the key is to only  have a little, which makes the sandwich thins perfect. I ate the top half and the dear husband had the denser bottom half.  About fifteen minutes later we had dinner. I made veggie topped tilapia with roasted Brussels sprouts

011109-005

and home fries.

011109-003

I made the home fries in my new cast iron skillet that I fall more in love with each time I use it. I still have to get used to how hot it gets because even on setting “3” the potatoes were getting to brown before they were done in the middle. They were still delicious. And I do have to say, I served myself small portions and still only ate half!

After dinner, we watched a little TV and read before bed. I woke up bright and early this morning to find my leggies very sore from yoga yesterday. Even after practicing yoga for more than a year, it still surprises me how sore it can make me. As you all know, I don’t do yoga for exercise, I do it to help with my anxiety and depression but getting in a good workout is a plus!

Anyway, I spent the first part of the morning sipping a cafe au lait and catching up on blog reading. When the dear husband finally rose, I made microwave poached eggs on toasted whole wheat english muffins. I got the idea of poaching them in the microwave from Kath and they turned out great. Mine were a little over cooked but since I was making 4, I had to guesstimate on the proper amount of time.

011109-015

Now, we are finishing up the housework and food prep so that we can meet a friend at the gym later. See you after lunch!

10 Responses

  1. I love roasted Brussels, what a beautiful meal! Enjoy your Sunday!
    -Caroline

  2. Christie, your pictures are beautiful!!!

  3. Lovin’ the brussels sprouts!!

  4. Those home fries look amazing! I have a potato sitting on my counter and now I’m inspired!

  5. I have missed your beautiful pictures so! Your dinner looks wonderful.

  6. What a great dinner and breakfast!

  7. I’ve missed your gorgeous food pictures. 🙂

  8. You always make such good looking eggs!

Leave a Reply

