Blog Awards and Side Effects

First off, I want to thank Foodie and Olga for giving me a blog award, that was so kind of both you! It always makes me feel good when people appreciate my blog. I often struggle to write what I really feel in fear of what my readers will think but you guys always honor me with your support. So, instead of picking 5 more blogs, I would just like to give a shout out to all my commenters and lurkers and let you all know that I think each and everyone of you deserve and award for being so supportive of me and my sporadic craziness.

Now, onto yesterday. I have to be upfront and honest when I say that the last few days have been a real struggle for me. The medication I am on for my most recent sinus infection along with being back on weight watchers is throwing me for a loop. I’m suffering a number of side effects from the medication including insomnia, fatigue, mild depression, extreme thirst and weird skin stuff. My doc says it is all normal and that I need to just keep chugging along with it. I have one more week of it to go and I’m not excited about my state of mind when it is over. On top of that, I am struggling every day to stay on track with weight watchers, it seems by the end of the day, I just want to give up. I’m not sure if this is part of the medicine side effects or if this is just how I roll.

I haven’t been straying from my plan or “blowing it” but the thoughts are there. This really scares me because I feel so certain that this time will be different. I want to change so much about the way that I think about food and my relationship with my body. I know that I will stumble and sometimes I might even fall but knowing to just keep going anyway is the hard part. I hope that all of these feeling of distress are just symptoms of this medication but I fear so much that I just don’t have what it takes. 😦

And, with all of that, this is how yesterday went. The alarm went off at 4:30, I said nope and went back to sleep. I finally got up and made it to work with a few minutes to spare. On my way, I had a chocolate cafe au lait to tide me over. Once there and settled, I had shredded wheat with cinnamon and milk along with a hard boiled egg. This was a very satisfying breakfast.

102608-072

In fact, it kept me going until 12:30! My normal lunch time is 11 so this was something. I wonder if it has to do with the egg versus the almonds?? Anyway, for lunch I heated up a bowl of 16 bean soup which tastes better every time I eat it.

102608-073

The soup was rather spicy so I had a package of figamagigs for dessert. Mmmm…boy, I really love these things. It is a REALLY good thing they come in tiny packages.

102608-074

Because lunch was so late, I wasn’t hungry enough for a snack so I just had dinner. I made a chicken pot pie with a polenta crust. This was my first time making it with a polenta crust and I have to say I really liked it. I want to play around with the filling part of the recipe that I used but I can tell that this will be a winter and fall favorite at my house.

102608-075

I had a bowl of cocoa pebbles for dessert. I didn’t photograph it because you guys have seen it for so many days now, I figured you get the picture 🙂 I headed to bed early in hopes of getting a better night sleep which did not happen, by the way. Boo on meds.

Thought Provoker: What is your motto for staying on track with healthy eating and exercise?

14 Responses

  1. definitely the egg made the trick to hold you longer.
    my motto to staying on track? can’t remember right now because fortunately it’s part of my lifestyle already. But I know how hard is to incorporate it at the beginning. I think the most important thing to have in mind is that you’re doing something good for you!
    have a nice day~

  2. Be strong, girl! Just remember, even if you have a crappy day, it will end and you will wake up to a bright new start! I guess that would be my motto in all things…the day will end….hang in there!

  3. CONGRATS ON THE AWARDS!!! 🙂

    Eeek, hang in there with the medicinal side effects!!

    **Motto for staying on track = do it or die (literally for me, since I need to make sure I nourish myself properly to deal with my Crohn’s Disease; not overtrain my body with dance; and continue working on gaining muscle mass with strength-training).

  4. I think i’ve found the perfect way to lose weight:

    get a divorce.

    I’ve lost 6.5 lbs in 6 days.

    That’s why I closed down my blog.. . . Are you on facebook, Christie?

  5. Side effects on medicines are always so extreme =[ I hope you make it through and you deserve the award!!!

    What keeps me motivated? The idea that I only have one body and one mind to get me through this life, and I need to take care of them to make the best out of it.

    Have a good day!

  6. Congrats on the award. I am also sorry about the side effects. Meds always have such negative side effects on the body, but we need them sometimes.

    I wish I had a motto…but now I am inspired to come up with one!

  7. HHMMMMM!! CHICKEN POT PIE!!!!!! That is a favorite of mine. Today I actually picked out an affirmation because I saw a rough movie last night. It is, “Me and my body are at a happy and healthy place today. I will celebrate the simple beauties surrounding me with a well-nourished whole me. I will treat my body well today!” That way, I can be connected to my body, soul, and mind and give it what it needs 🙂

  8. My mantra is “Have faith.” I’ve always struggled with fear of failure, and my motto helped me to take a chance and make small, healthy choices every day. I chose to have faith in myself that I could keep this up even if there were setbacks. I chose to have faith that if I didn’t give up, I would eventually end up in a place where I felt balanced, healthy and happy. Whenever doubts and anxiety crept into my mind, I would just whisper to myself, “have faith” and do my best to make the best choice I could in the situation.

  9. I’m sorry about the yucky side effects! You’re doing so amazingly well, though — keep at it!

    PS: Just wanted to say THANK YOU for your discussions of yogic types. I figured out what type I was (pitta) and was able to discuss it with a fab new friend I made the other day.

    And your award-ing to the comment-makers and lurkers? Just a reminder that I need to speak up! Thanks for your blog. 🙂

  10. I really need to make that soup! It looks sooo delicious!

    As for your question – I try to remember that if I have an off day, to just try and do better the next day. And I try to tell myself that a little bit of healthy eating and exercise is better than nothing – so eating one fruit is better than having none, exercising for 30 minutes is better than not exercising at all.

  11. I just keep telling myself that I can have _____ (food) any time I want it, so I don’t have to eat it all today.

    I don’t get hungry as quickly when I eat a small banana and a tsp of peanut butter before exercising (5am), and then eat my breakfast after showering and dressing (7:30am).

    I have also found that eating the same breakfast for several days and then changing it to something else helps keep me satisfied longer. I’ll eat oatmeal made with milk and peanut butter for several days and be fine, but suddenly get hungry two hours after eating. If I switch to toast and peanut butter or eggs or something else, suddenly I’m satisfied again.

  12. I tell myself “you’ll be feel better if you stay on track than if you eat that crap”

    polenta pot pie recipe, por favor!

  13. Hi, I’ve been reading for a while now but this is my first time commenting. I read about your struggles on here, but today I finally read your story and I can relate so much. I restricted a lot, and binged, throughout 5 years of my life, and only now have I come to terms with my eating disorder. It’s been really hard, and I’ve just started blogging about my journey to a healthy mind, body and soul. Your blog gives me inspiration. I hope that you know you are very strong.

    P.S. I’m 5’2″ (woo for us shorties :-D)!

  14. I think you’re doing great Christie, and I’m so proud of you. I does sound hard. I think you’ll be okay, though. 🙂
    My motto: I like to eat so I work out a lot 🙂

Leave a Reply

