Only The Lonely

I woke up too late to face the treadmill yesterday morning, the meds my doc has me on is causing some sleeping issues 😦 Instead, I headed to work with my chocolate cafe au lait in tow only to find that I would be there alone. It was kind of creepy actually. I work in the clubhouse which is 24,000 square feet of dark wood paneled space. Though I do get to work early, I am never the only one there and I must say, it is pretty freaky with no lights on. I’m glad it isn’t a daily occurrence! Once all the lights were on and I was settled in, I had my breakfast. A bowl of shredded wheat with cinnamon and almonds topped with milk. I really wanted oatmeal but failed to make any on Sunday.

102608-067

I was on my own for lunch so I decided to take advantage of it and head to the Whole Foods salad bar. I made a salad with mixed greens, a couple different bean and grain salads,Β two vegan dumplings and a hard boiled egg. This was my first time at the WF salad bar and honestly, I was disappointed. I had it geared up in my mind to be the mecca of salad bars when really, it was all very bland tasting. I wonder if they skip the salt?

102608-068

I ended up not eating most of my lunch and munched on a bag of popcorn to get my flavor fix.

102608-069

Just before it was time to go, I had some homemade greek yogurt with thawed frozen raspberries and a honey drizzle. O.M.G. It was so good! I can’t wait to eat it again!!

102608-070

Dinner was a simple meal. I grilled a cajun spiced pork chop and served it with whole wheat couscous and green beans. It was really good and only took a few minutes to prepare, I love fast meals like that!

102608-071

Thought Provoker: Is there a food that you have so worked up in your mind that you were disappointed when you actually ate it?

19 Responses

  1. Sorry to hear you were disappointed with your salad. I find WF here extremely expensive! I almost choked the first (and only) time I bought a salad there! So I would have to say that was a meal I was excited to try, but ending up leaaving a sour taste in my mouth! πŸ™‚

  2. sorry about the WF salad. I had it on sunday and liked it a lot. Maybe because I just needed to load on veggies so I was happy to have it.
    Can’t think of any meal that disappointed me lately ^_^
    have a nice day!

  3. Last year, I was so excited about “real” green bean casserole.

    It was terrible and I was so sad.

  4. I’m sorry you didn’t like your WF salad. I think their quality isn’t as necessarily equal to the hefty price tag that’s attached. But then again I’m picky and kind of cheap πŸ™‚

    I think my most disappointing meal recently was some enchiladas verdes at a local Mexican joint. Usually their food isn’t bad, and I love enchiladas.. but these were awful. I make better enchiladas.. so it really wasn’t worth the $$ or calories.

  5. I have the same issue when I am the first and only one at work…creepy!

    I usually get that disappointment when I go out to eat and expect a meal to taste a certain way.

  6. oh my gosh! I wish I could sleep late… I have been having major issues sleeping nowadays. But I can’t believe you weren’t impressed with the WF Salad bar. I have never been but I hear the best about it. I have to admit, I hear everyone (on the blog) rave about soymilk, and I just can’t really get into it.

  7. Oh I feel ya on the creepy work space. I hate it when I’m the only one in the building!

    And, yes, I feel that way about movie theater popcorn! It smells better than it tastes — I swear!

  8. Too bad about the WF salad!! Usually their stuff is excellent.

  9. hmmm GREAT QUESTION. and of course at any other time Id have 80 answers and now? the mind is a blank.

    Im gonna steal FBG’s and say movie popcorn.

    it smells so freakin good….and the taste? inevitably “fine” and half stale.

  10. Cinnabon. It always smells amazing and I avoided it for about 4 years, even determining that I would get an entire cinnabon after I ran my marathon (But never got a chance to). So one car trip my husband decides to get one at a rest stop and I had a bite…really? What was I imagining?

  11. Your yogurt combo looks so pretty with the different colors!

  12. Scary workplace scenario! That yogurt looks beautiful. Oh mercy.

  13. One time WF gave me the worst food poisoning ever! I am almost embarrassed to say that I still go back there. I think their salad bar is the best (just not when it makes you sick).

  14. the whole food salad bar looks really good but some of the stuff tastes nasty. i had curried tofu and i had to spit my first piece out. i couldn’t stomach the stuff!!!!

    i remember i made mango ginger tofu and i can’t remember what food blog i saw it on. anyway, i gagged when i tried it. i was so mad because i bought all the ingredients for it and spent a while making it.

  15. Wow! I am sorry about your whole foods experience. I really like most of their salad bar food. I don’t care for salt, so maybe that’s why.

  16. Sorry to hear about the Whole Foods salad but WOW did you make up for it with that Greek yogurt and honey drizzle. It looks so bright and spunky! Plus, dinner looks so savory and filling — fast meals are the best! πŸ™‚

  17. Many, many times. I’ll long for a piece of cheesecake from a certain restaurant only to find that it doesn’t taste nearly as fabulous as I remember. I always thought it was because I placed too much value on food and expected it to bring me pleasure instead of relying on nonfood things in my life to make me happy.

  18. Wow, that yogurt! So pretty with the razzies πŸ™‚ I gotta think about that food thing, you’ve got me!

Leave a Reply

