Grey’s Sunday

I started out the day yesterday with a chocolate cafe au lait followed by breakfast once the dear husband woke up. I made wafflewiches with whole wheat waffles topped scrambled eggs and egg whites. I also had a tangerine on the side. I must say, this breakfast was v. disappointing. It wasn’t filling and the waffles were not that great. I have never been a fan of frozen waffles but I see them so much in blog land that I thought I would give them a try again. Now I remember why I don’t like them.

102608-064

After all of our housework was done, we had lunch. I had falafel on whole wheat pita with a yogurt sauce that I made with cilantro, garlic and greek yogurt. I also had half of a small apple while I prepared it all. The falafel came from costco and for falafel that I didn’t have to make myself, it is really good!

102608-065

After lunch, the glutton fest began. We watched about of the second season of Grey’s Anatomy and didn’t really do much else. I didn’t even stalk blogs (which I am VERY behind on reading/commenting) or my email all day! Needless to say, this show is a bit addicting. About mid afternoon, I did make us a batch of popcorn to tide us over until dinner. I made it in the air popper with canola oil and salt. There is no picture because…well…I was too lazy, I know, bad blogger!

For dinner, I made chicken and potatoes in the crockpot. It didn’t turn out that well and it all fell apart. It was actually pretty unappetizing so I didn’t photograph it and I barely ate any of it. I guess some things are good in theory but a whole chicken in the crockpot is not one of them. For dessert, I had a bowl of cocoa pebbles with milk. Even after all of this, I felt very unsatisfied with my food choices for the day. I sat there in stewed in it and made the decision that eating something else probably wouldn’t cure it so I just went to bed.

102608-066

Thought Provoker: Do you have days that feel very unsatisfying food wise? What do you do to solve this problem?

16 Responses

  1. Too bad about the waffles 😦 But hell yes for falafel!! 😀

  2. sorry about the waffles…i’m not a big fan either…i feel like they tide me over for like, what, 15 minutes? yeah…

  3. Sorry to hear you had an “off” food day! I hate those because I usually end up eating way too much in my quest to satisfy myself. Kudos to you for just going to bed instead of getting into the mindless eating mode!

  4. sorry to hear about the unsatisfactory breakfast and dinner. It happened to me many times, mainly because I’m not in a good mood to cook so I just grab whatever is quick and available, as result…obviously not satisfactory. But in my cases, most of time it’s because of my fault of not thinking/planning well enough.
    When that happens, I’ll do something that I’m sure will be satisfactory (we all have some safe recipes), satisfy what is unsatisfied and then remind me next time when I want to try something new that I should plan well.
    Have a nice day~

  5. those falafels look fabulous! hmm, i have had that kind of day, after one meal i probably try to make the next something i know i love 🙂 have a good monday!

  6. Oh no! I hate when that happens!
    I guess I try to sleep it off.

  7. Yup, I have those days! I usually just munch on a lot of different foods until I find something that is satisfying!

    Too bad your wafflewich wasn’t good. It looks delicious!

  8. I have never had falafel, but it sure looks good. My husband was craving cocoa pebbles yesterday!

    Unfortunatley, I keep eating until I get satisfied on days like that!

  9. I heart falafel.

    I do have those types of days every now and again. I usually do exactly what you do though–go to bed early. I’m usually not exactly hungry so it’s better for me to just do something else away from the kitchen.

  10. I love falafel! I have never made it at home. I’ll have to get pita pit this week to fix my falafel craving that this picture created!

  11. COCOA PEBBLES ❤ Hehehe when I was little, my daddy loved these and I loved the fruity pebbles!!

    I hate feeling unsatisfied, so usually I try to figure out exactly what I want before I eat it. I have this rule, only eat what you really want/crave. :] I’d rather not just eat unsatisfying food/calories .

  12. Sometimes after dinner I feel unsatisfied even though I am not hungry. I usually try to have some tea or find something small to eat. I guess every food day can’t be a winner!

  13. Gosh, I miss Cocoa Pebbles and their resulting chocolatey milk. Haven’t had them for years, but that was one of my faves as a kid.

    If I have an off food day I usually eat too much bad crap on a quest to satisfy myself. But, that was the old me. I think new me would go for a trusty favorite and call it good. Hence the cocoa pebbles, right?

  14. Oh my goodness that happens to me sooo often! Sometimes I go an entire day or two not feeling satisfied with any of my meals! I just pick myself up again, remind myself that food is not the only joy of life, and resolve to cook something I love the next day.

    It sounded like your meals were yummy today, despite the crock pot mishap. Falafel looks great though I’ve never tried it. And that’s quite the creative yogurt sauce, good idea!

  15. Yes I do have days that get boring. Thats when I realise that I have not been cooking creatively and am just cooking to eat. So I get my thinking cap back on and I am back into enjoying food again. Otherwise I have a day off (paleo diet) and then I usually am back to normal. I

  16. I would never eat frozen waffles again after making homemade. This is my family’s favorite recipe:
    http://www.recipezaar.com/Waffles-With-Two-Berry-Syrup-283390

Leave a Reply

