Wiped Out

Yesterday, the dear husband ran the Richmond half marathon so we were up pretty early, he had to be at the starting line by 7:30. I sipped a chocolate cafe au lait while he prepared and once he was off, I had breakfast. In preparation for a hotel room with no fridge or microwave, I had packed a small cooler and a bag of food to help keep me on track. I had shredded wheat with cinnamon, almonds and milk.

111608-033

After breakfast, I packed up the hotel room and walked down to the finish line. I was so excited to see him cross because last year when he did the 8k, no matter where I stood, I could not see the finish line because it seemed that Richmond had been invaded by tall people. This year, I could see him as clear as a bell and yelled as loud as I could. Moments later, we met at our meeting spot. We made out way back to the hotel so that he could shower off 13.1 miles of sweat. Once we were on the road, it took almost 1.5 hours to get out of downtown. I think I blew my horn more times yesterday than I ever have. It was very frustrating because we were trying to turn left onto a main road but the people on the main road kept running the red light and blocking the path. I sat through one stop light for 6 rounds, good times.

We had planned to stop by home before heading out for our errands but it was so late, we decided to just get them over with. First we stopped for lunch at Spinnaker’s, a local place on our side of town. I ordered the crab cake and steamed shrimp with a salsa baked potato. I also had a house salad with balsamic vinegairette.

111608-034

After lunch, we did the rest of out errands and by the time we got home, we were both wiped out. My legs were very sore from all the walking, I can only imagine how the dear husband’s legs must have been feeling! For dinner, we opted for easy. I heated up a couple bowls of 16 bean soup I had made on Friday morning. I topped them both with a little olive oil and called it dinner.

111608-035

For dessert, I had an oatmeal chocolate chip muffin and then headed to bed shortly after. I was so tired, I couldn’t even keep my eyes open to watch a little tv or read!

111608-036

Thought Provoker: Do you make a food plan for out of town trips? What do you normally bring along with you? Planning for out of town trips is not my strong point but I am working on it. This time I did well, my next trip is Thanksgiving which will be a little better than this time because there will be a fridge and microwave in the room.

13 Responses

  1. Congratulations to your husband with the half-marathon!!

    Mmm, I want that oatmeal-chocolate chip muffin 😀

    My family and I bring A LOT of food with us on trips (mostly for the long road trips, so we don’t have to eat at the horrid rest stops), and put it in the refrigerator and freezer at the hotel. It’s better to be safe than sorry.

  2. I usually pack cereals and healthy snacks for me just in case that I don’t find them. And if the trip is short, I pack some fruits and sandwiches, specially if the trip involves driving.
    have a nice sunday~

  3. Sometimes when I go to visit Mark I’ll bring oatmeal and fruit. He doesn’t ever have any food in his apartment!

    Congrats to the husband and enjoy your Sunday!

    Heather

  4. YAY FOR THE HUB!

  5. If we’re staying at a hotel I always make sure to at least pack healthy snacks for the family. That way we stay away (and save money) from the vending machines

  6. Congrats to your husband on completing the half marathon!

    Love the new header!

    P.S. When you get a chance, please make sure to pass on the blog award to five other bloggers. Here’s a link to the rules:

    http://fabanddeliciousfood.wordpress.com/2008/11/14/first-blog-award/

    Thanks!

  7. Yeah for your husband and his half marathon!

    I always pack a lot of oatmeal, cereals, and bars for trips.

  8. That’s so awesome about the half marathon! I’m sure seeing you at the end was inspiring and touching. 🙂

    I’m big on making sure I have larabars with me and some almonds and apples! Water, too! 🙂

  9. Congrats to DH! Thats awesome! Your lunch looked fantastic, I’m quite jealous…
    When I travel (which is rarely) I usually check out restaurants online that are in the area since we won’t eat in very often. We’ll usually stop at a grocery store too so I can get cereal and milk.

  10. Great job running the race to hubby!!!

    I always make sure to bring lots of cereal baggies, crackers (like TLC Kashi), some pb sandwiches, fruit and bars of all sorts! I always take so much; but I like variety!

    I hope you have a great sunday!

  11. horray for the husband’s half 🙂 traveling is tough, but you def did a good job on this trip! i am out of town this weekend, and just went to the store intstead of a restaurant yesterday to pick up lunch and dinner (things i would normally have) to make if feel like any other day

  12. Tell your hub congrats! I think it is super week that you went to cheer him on. I always think it is so boring for spectators I feel bad for my family if they come to watch me run a half.

  13. ooooh let me know if I can send you links from MizFit to help on the trip planning.

Leave a Reply

