I’m Going Back

Yesterday was a hard day for me, mentally. After much thought, I have decided to join weight watchers again doing the flex plan. I hope this doesn’t let you all down but I strongly feel that this is what I need right now. I feel like I keep taking 1 step forward and 2 steps back which is leading me to gain weight at an insane rate. I was doing fine with intuitive eating until my therapy intensified and as I suspected, I started packing on the pounds as soon as therapy got hard again. I feel like right now the work of intuitive eating and the work in therapy is just too much and that growing too big for my clothes on top of that is just unbearable.

Who knows, maybe tomorrow, after counting points for the day, I will change my mind. But as of this moment, I need to try this and see how it feels. I do promise that if this leads me to feel hungry or to start binging, I will stop the diet…er…lifestyle change. I still plan to write my blog and work on the things that I need to work on in order to find my own happiness. I hope you all will understand and keep reading and being the wonderful system of support that you have been thus far.

{{{HUGS}}}

24 Responses

  1. Best of luck with the WW program!!! I know you can do it, and will succeed – you have the drive to do so!! 🙂

  2. I hope it all goes well. I am glad you are doing what feels right for you! HUGS!

  3. Being “intuitive” means trying out different things to see what works best for you. So, tehcnically–going back to WW *IS* intuitive. Blogging will help you have a birds-eye view of how you do on it and it will be easy to see if it’s worth sticking to it or not.

    Good luck!!

  4. Good luck with flex! It worked wonders for me! 🙂

  5. I don’t think you should feel bad at all for joining WW. We have to do what makes us feel good, and if you are having a hard time eating “intuitively,” I would do what makes you feel good about yourself.

    If you get hungry, just eat a few extra points. No harm in that.

    Hugs!

  6. we’re are with you with your new plan! whatever makes you happy, it’s good, otherwise is bad!
    keep us updated!
    good luck!

  7. Good for you for making that decision, whatever it might of been (WW or otherwise). If this is what you need to help give you peace of mind for a while, so be it! Nothing has to be forever.

    You’ll never know what you need until you try different things.

    (((Beadie)))

  8. You are absolutely right to do what you need to do. Of course I will still read! Sometimes, some outside structure can be so helpful, especially when you have other things on your mind. For me, following a “diet” for awhile actually helped give me figure out how to listen to my body better. I wish you the best of luck!

  9. you have all of our support, you know it!! you are your best judge, and all we can do is have your back and make sure you are smiling 😀

  10. You and I are on a similar journey, it seems. I am doing the very same thing. I am going to continue to read my IE book and continue to try to be as mindful as possible, but I just need some form of “control.” Best of luck to you!

  11. Girl, we all hear you. Remember, you dictate your own life. You can do this! Just remember, as uncomfortable as it may be to think about, you are more than a number. Turning to food when things get stressful (or lack of food in any case) can be overwhelming and detrimental as well as destructive and self-defeating. We’re all here for you-Go get it girl!

  12. Do what’s best for you 🙂 Good luck, you know what your body needs more than anyone.

  13. You have to do whatever works best for you!! I have been trying different things lately and i still haven’t decided which things work best for me or that i will stay with!! One of these days 🙂

  14. Good for you joining WW. You never know, this could be the best yet!

  15. I can’t imagine anyone not reading your blog because you’re joining WW. You are fabulous no matter what and I look forward to hearing how this works for you. GOOD FOR YOU for staying in touch with your needs.
    Intuitive eating is a great concept, and I DO believe it works, but I personally need more structure and it sounds like that is what you might be looking for.
    Go girl!

  16. ((hugs)) I heart you 🙂

    And you’re tagged!!

  17. I think that you’re doing what you have to do. I think the fact that you’re recognizing that you have an emotional connection to food and that you’re taking the steps to control that is great. Maybe you do Flex for a bit until you’re in a better place emotionally. That’s better than gaining 10 pounds because you don’t want to admit that you can’t handle intuitive eating during this time of intense therapy.

    Good for you.

  18. I’ve recently started counting points again myself. WW is a good, solid program, and if it works for you, don’t feel bad about going back! 🙂

  19. best of luck w/ WW! i hope everything works out and it makes you feel better, inside and out!!! you rock babe!

  20. Please do not worry about letting us down. I for one, support your decision as the best thing for you. Also, wouldn’t it be worse to let yourself down by doing something that is not what you want to do.

    Good luck! You’ll still be blogging, right?

  21. Holy S**T, I am right there with you…..as you know. I just kept gaining weight doing intuitive eating. I wish you the best and will definitely be following along. It takes a lot of guts to get over the associated guilt of telling people your dieting after you have been anti it for so long. Its like coming out. Anyway, as you said to me, it doesn’t matter what other people think you gotta do what is best for you, and this is best for you right now. Oh and good idea about not doing it if you start to binge or get hungry.

  22. […] 12, 2008 by Dan A post over at what I ate yesterday has inspired me to be honest with myself. Clearly she is doing the same. I am finding this blog is […]

Leave a Reply

