Thai Day Friday

As per usual (this week), I got up at 5 AM and did a 30 minute session on the treadmill before heading to work. Once at work, I had a bagel with all natural PB and a banana that I snagged from the clubroom. I’m kind of over bananas right now but I forgot to grab and apple or pear from home.

110708-040

I had work errands to run and while I was out, I picked up a little lunch for T and I. I had a small salad with spinach, edamame, peppers, a sprinkle of cheese, a hard boiled egg and tomato, basil and fresh mozzarella and then I topped it all off with oil and vinegar. Along side, I had a couple of whole wheat white house rolls which I only had two bites of, it was a bit dry.ย  Salad hasn’t really been my thing lately but the warm weather was making meย crave one!

110708-041

After lunch, I had a devil’s food jello pudding cup! Yum!

110708-042

Just before leaving for the day, I had a little greek yogurt with thawed frozen cherries and a little agave stirred in. My office was full of people at the time so no photo ๐Ÿ˜ฆ After work, I went to the grocery store and then headed home to meet the dear husband. We went out for Thai food for dinner! By the time we got there, we were both really hungry so we started with soup. I ordered Ton Yum soup with shrimp, it was super spicy, just the way I like it!

110708-043

Next up was fried squid with sweet and sour sauce. I had a couple of these, I had to mentally stop myself from eating them because I knew I wouldn’t eat any of my dinner if I didn’t.

110708-044

For dinner, I ordered my favorite, Spicy Drunken noodles with chicken. I normally order with tofu and now I remember why. The chicken was very dry so I only the noodles and veggies.

110708-045

During this meal, I decided it was time to really start getting in touch with my hunger cues again. Something I have really let slip these days. I have been reading a lot about “the sigh” and have only experienced it once or twice and thought maybe I should try again. If you don’t know what I am talking about, “the sigh” is the signal that your body has had enough to eat. Supposedly, we sigh when we have had just enough. So, last night, I really tuned in and caught my sigh. I had one more bite and stopped. At first I wasn’t sure but a few minutes later, I realized that I was perfectly content with the amount of food I had eaten. Hopefully, one day, I can cut out the one more bite but for now, I think I am moving in the right direction.

Once we got home, I had a raging sweet tooth, my dinner was really spicy! I dug into the leftover Halloween candy and came up with a take 5 and a nutrageous. I hadn’t had either of these in a really long time; the take 5 was a little salty but the nutrageous was pretty tasty!

110708-046

Thought Provoker: What signal do you listen for to stop eating? Hpw does your stomach and mind feel when you are satisfied?

15 Responses

  1. Looove PB-Bagels, bananas, spicy food… yum!!!

    I stop eating when I feel full; but more importantly, I stop eating when I’ve eaten sufficiently (since I need to make sure that I eat adequately/enough).

  2. The “sigh”…how neat! I’ll have to try to be aware of that because I’ve was always been taught to clean my plate and that is what i usually do…full or not. Thanks for the tip!!

  3. I’ve never heard of the sigh! That’s cool – I’m going to watch out for it now. I don’t really listen to my body or anything. My cues are totally screwed up. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. I really began to admire your persistence. Getting up every day at 5 and begin the day with a good workout! it’s so great!
    And needless to say that your eats are fabulous!

    I stop eating when I feel satisfied, fulled stomach and satisfied mind….that I’ve had a good meal. But sometimes these signals can get too late, so portion size matters a lot. When I finish my portion, i’ll wait 5-10 min to see if I really need more… if I feel like having more, i’ll go it, because not impulsively.

  5. THE SIGH… Def the best indicator! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. i’m def going to have to look into that “sigh” because i def know i do that when I eat!

    as far as when to stop, i try to either stop when i’m full/content or when i believe i’ve had enough!

  7. dang it, now i want thai food.
    My sigh is broken… i sigh after 2 bites, and then can continue to eat tons and tons.

  8. “the sigh” – very interesting! never heard of that before. honestly, it’s kind of hard to tell when to stop!! haha, apart from if i’m feeling really stuffed. it’s strange because sometimes i feel contented after a few bites, even though physically i can’t be, and vice versa. it’s very hard.

    i love thai food ๐Ÿ™‚ so much!

  9. zomg beadie. thanks so much for your comments to my blog–i’m a bit late in getting to them and getting bnb up to the snuff i need it to be to .. be what i need it to be. hee!

    i am still learning and failing at the ‘oh i’m full’ moment. but i do know when i eat good food i hear it, and when i eat bad food i don’t.

    i love a good curry. i find that spicy foods have so much bang for the buck that i’m less likely to keep going too far!

  10. I am definitely going to have to look out for the sigh at dinner tonight! Usually, my mind wants more than my stomach. I am done when I feel kinda full and my mind isn’t looking for more. Sometimes it just takes a little something else to get me there. I usually don’t need whatever it is, so maybe I am missing the sigh.

    Hope you’re having an AMAZING Saturday.

    Heather

  11. Fried squid…so weird but so good! ๐Ÿ™‚

    I usually just stop feeling the gnarling in my tummy…is gnarling even a word? Lol.

  12. I am going to watch out for my sigh tonight. I forgot about that tip!

  13. The sigh? How strange. That IS something new that I have not heard before. I might have to try that.

  14. Your dinner looks delicious. I love Thai food, and those flat rice noodles are the best ever!!!

  15. When the food no longer tastes as good, I know it’s time to stop.

Leave a Reply

