Changing It Up

I woke at 5:00 AM yesterday and hit the treadmill for 30 minutes before getting ready for work. I had been planning to really commit to 5:00 AM workouts once the time changed in hopes that it would make it a bit easier for me. I’m hoping to just get my body used to getting up at 5 instead of 6 so that I can get in a treadmill session each morning. I feel so much better when I get in a workout…period…but the AM ones always feel the best.

I changed my hours at work so that I can see a little of the sun with the time change. I was there at 7 and I knew I was in for a busy day because it was the first of the month. I ate breakfast at work again, a habit I seem to be enjoying so far. I ate two corn meal flax muffins with sunflower seed butter. It was a simple yet satisfying breakfast.

102608-030

Around 10, I was feeling hungry and decided to pop a bag of popcorn. I hadn’t had microwave popcorn in at least 2 years so it was a change from my regular “famous” popcorn. I did like it but once again found that popcorn doesn’t really satisfy my hunger.

102608-031

Luckily, lunch was on the way. The Pro picked up Panera for T and I, it was T’s choice since it was her birthday. I decided to give the new tomato and mozzarella sandwich and creamy tomato soup a whirl. Am I ever glad I did! This was by far the best sandwich I have EVER had at panera. The flavors combine perfectly and when dipped into the tomato soup, you will think you have died and gone to lunch heaven!

102608-032

Once home from work, I had a little time before the dear husband got home so I worked on loading some yoga from yogadownload.com onto my iPod. I picked five 20 minute classes, three of which were free, in hopes that with my earlier schedule, I can squeeze in a little yoga before dinner time. A while back, the dear husband and I were practicing together but have come to discover we just aren’t looking for the same things in a practice. I enjoy really vigorous vinyasa with loads of sun salutations and he prefers the slow and long holding hatha style. My yoga teacher tells me that this is a sign of a good marriage 🙂 Anyway, I don’t think we will be practicing together much anymore.

Once the dear husband was home, I heated up dinner. We called it hodge podge night because we just ate up all of the leftovers in the fridge. I had a soy crumble balsamic sloppy joe sandwich and broccoli and cheese. It wasn’t gourmet but it did the trick. We are really trying to be more conscious of the money we spend on food so eating up leftovers will be a key in this for us.

102608-033

After dinner, we both had another fabulous brownie sundae. I realized last night that I think the brownies are a little on the sweet side and a bit grainy from the sugar so I think a few more adjustments are in order for the perfect brownie. Stay tuned because as soon as I have what i think is perfection, I promise to share the recipe!

102608-034

Thought Provoker: How are you adjusting to the time change? Does your schedule allow you to see the sun at all?

17 Responses

  1. I’m so jealous of your Panera sandwich! Last time I was in the States I wanted to try it, but the store was “out”. Grr! Glad to hear it was good!
    The time change hasn’t really affected me much, but my kids are certainly up sooner! 🙂

  2. Looks like a fabulous day full of workouts and yummy foods!

    I am adjusting pretty well to the time change. I am getting to work earlier, just because the sun is up and I feel like it!

    Have a wonderful day!

  3. Mmm, luscious breakfast.

    I’m adjusting to the time change quite well – phew!! 😀

  4. morning workout is great!!! it’s the best way to begin a day!!!
    Those muffins looks so yummy!!!!!!!~~~~~~~
    The rest of eats looks great too!

  5. so jealous of your panera lunch! it looks delicious!

    i do get to see the sun w/ DST, but it’s not the amount of time that i would like! i can’t wait to change jobs so i get OUT of the office and INTO the sun w/ my field work!

  6. A baby and daylight savings time do NOT mix well. Every bit of scheduling and normalcy that I have worked for so long to acquire is all but gone. Ah well….:)

  7. WOW that lunch does look good!!!
    i hate how the days are so short, and it’s just too dark all the time…. but i do love winter for its special moments, so i’ll put up with it 😀

    so sweet what the yoga teacher said about you and your husband 🙂

  8. The lunch does look good. I’ll have to plan a Panera run next week.

    The time change is making me exhausted at night. Mornings are nice, though with a little extra time.

    Thanks for the iTunes idea for workout downloads!

  9. I’ve been curious about that sandwich. I’m not quite an avid lover of fresh basil, though. How prominent was that flavor?!

  10. I actually sort of like the time change. I am definitely a morning person, so I enjoy the earlier light in the morning. And while it’s hard to see the dark at 4:30, I really like cozy fall/winter evenings at home. I can finish up some work and then transition into the evening and make dinner at a reasonable hour. Sometimes in the summer we don’t eat until 9:00pm! It’s so beautiful outside and easy to get distracted.

    Mmmmm, that lunch really does look tasty.

  11. Jordan, the basil flavor is pretty prominant. I love basil!

  12. Yummy eats! i have found that my hunger still has not adjusted-my body wakes me up at 6 now for breakfst and i want lunch at 1030!! rgggg!

  13. I LOVE your breakfast. It looks so pretty. I’m adjusting okay, but it’s totally weird that it’s dark so early!

  14. I love that panera sandwich…it’s my new favorite! I’m not liking this time change at all. I wake up and it’s dark out. I leave work and it’s dark out. Not fun!

  15. First of all would like to thank you for all your support (no one else will know what the hell I am talking about). But thank you.

    Secondly that sandwich and pumpkin soup looks bloody excellent!!!!

    Thirdly, I am absolutely loving the time change. Only because in the southern hemisphere this means more and more sun. Yesterday, it felt like summer…so hot. I had to get into some shorts and t shirt.

  16. We had the exact same lunch! It is so yummy, and I was glad to be an IE so I could enjoy every bite! Your food always looks so good.

    You also inspired me to get up early and get my workout done first. I do feel better when I get it done and have the evening to myself.

    Bonnie

  17. I DO see the sun but Im also craving more sugar!

    whats up with that?!

Leave a Reply

