In Balance

I had breakfast at work again yesterday, I think I am driving my co workers crazy with the smell of apples and cinnamon in the morning. I had barley with apples and almonds topped with cinnamon, nutmeg and a bit of ground ginger. This time, I didn’t top it with any sort of dairy and actually enjoyed it much more.

A couple of hours later, I had a wonderful snack! I had a few kashi crackers with basil hummus and a pear. The pear looked terribly beat up on the outside but was just perfect on the inside.

My snack really held me over for a long time, so much so that I forgot to eat lunch! When I realized I hadn’t eaten in a few hours, I had a pretty hefty snack. I topped greek yogurt with frozen cherries, pumpkin seed granola and agave. This was very filling and satisfying and held me over for another 5 hours!

After work, I had an appointment with my therapist. It had been a couple of weeks because she had a death in her family. I was excited to see her because I wanted to tell her of all of the changes I have been making. Light therapy, yoga and working to balance my dosha have really made some drastic changes for me. I guess I am not the only one that feels that way because my therapist told me that she thinks that as long as I can keep up with these things, I won’t need medication! She feels strongly that I have what it takes to pull myself out of this and hopefully what it takes to stay out of it.

The one change I haven’t made is consistent exercise which is recommended for me for a bazillion reasons including my therapist and my dosha. So, I’m going to really try and make some hard effort to really get in my 30 minutes a day. Being a kapha, I have a tendency to be a couch potato (who me?) so this will take some real effort on my part but I feel determined to find it somewhere.

After therapy, I came home and made dinner for the dear husband and I. I made creamy polenta topped with black beans and salsa. I simmered the black beans in the salsa for about a half hour so that they really soaked up the flavors. Once it was all together, I topped it off with a little crumbled cheese. This was such a simple meal to throw together and it was fantastic!

After dinner, I had a little treat that the chef sent me home with. Brownies with peanut butter frosting! I only ate one of my little take home package but the dear husband polished off the rest without any problems 🙂

Thought Provoker: What elements of your lifestyle are key to your happiness?

15 Responses

  1. GORGEOUS breakfast, dinner, and dessert!! 🙂

    Elements of my lifestyle that are key to my happiness = all of my activities and family & friends. I may ALWAYS be on-the-go with no time to spare, but I love it; and I love spending time with those whom I care about the most.

  2. Everything looks so yummy~~~~ I’ve never tried barley for breakfast! Great idea though since it has a chewy texture.

    element for happiness? Positive mind!

  3. What a fabulous polenta dinner! Yeah for not needing medication!

    I have lots of elements for happiness, but one important one is always being true to myself!

  4. i drive my coworkers insane with the cinnamon in the oats when i have it at work…they think the office is a bakery. 🙂 that dinner is so great and simple too!!

    elements of my lifestyle? trying to stay positive, most def.

    have a great day!

  5. whoa-i am really happy to hear that you are doing well in therapy. I love going as well, just to talk and dig and explore-and it’s especially special when you have a special connection with the therapist. I have gone through 3, and the one here at school is awesome and I really like her so far. Have a great day!

  6. Your food today looks stupendous!! WOW! I’m drooling over here!

    I don’t know if they’e “elements”, but my kid’s happiness is definitely a key to my own. As well as a balance between work and home “duties”.

  7. I am so happy you seem more positive lately. Maybe you could thing about the 30 minutes of exercise a day differently. Walking counts, right? Could you take a 15 minute walk before work, 15 minutes at lunch?

  8. you reminded me that i have some barley in the cupboard – i have to try your breakfast!! apple and cinnamon makes the world go round. the cupcakes look so adorable and yum. sounds like you had a really good therapy session!

    my family, piano, boyfriend, friends, books, music…. sun!!

  9. I am so glad you’re doing better, congrats on your progress! Your snacks and dinner also look fantastic.

    I love your thought provoking questions =] I think for me, the elements of happiness come from a combination of the loved ones around me and my personal attitude towards myself. If i am feeling negative, I am more likely to treat my body (through bad eating habits and lack of exercise, sleep) poorly, which just snowballs into one big problem.

    Having a positive outlook and believing in myself are key to me.

    Have a great day!

  10. I feel happy when I share good food and good conversation with people I love, when I take time to move my body and enjoy the outdoors, when I use my mind to do something interesting and useful, and when I have time to quietly reflect.

  11. I’m so happy to hear that you’re doing so well! No medication soon because of all the improvements you made is such a wonderful thing. I wish you all the best 🙂

    I’ve been loving reading about your quest to balance your dasha. I find those philosophies so interesting and more often than not, very true. Would you be able to post some more information? I’d love to learn more! And maybe figure out how I can balance my own.

    Surrounding myself with people who love me and whom I love is definitely key to my happiness. I also have a deep appreciation for nature, having an active life, and EATING… so that helps too 😉

  12. To be a man and eat three cupcakes w/ no problem! Oy.
    Great news from the couch! Sorry, a little psychoanalytic humor.

  13. Wow, dinner and dessert are both INCREDIBLE!! That peanut butter frosting is calling my name 🙂

    I’m glad the therapist appointment went well and that you have some new goals to work toward!

  14. mmmm chocolate… and vitamuffins…

  15. Exercise, good books, & family traditions.

Leave a Reply

