Warmin’ Up

According to my Ayurveda, a kaphas ideal time to eat breakfast is between 8 and 9 am though they should wake up before sunrise. I believe this is to ensure one does not feel weighed down. A Kaphas tendency is to be heavy and feel weighed down (uh…yeah) so lighter foods and less frequent eating helps combat that. I do worry about my blood sugar and will certainly eat whenever my body dictates but thus far, it seems to be working for me. And overall, I must say, I am feeling better. I feel much happier and everything doesn’t feel like a drag to me.

And with all of that, I ate breakfast at work, again, yesterday. I had barley with chopped apple, cinnamon and nutmeg. I warmed it up in the microwave until the apples were soft and then mixed in some cottage cheese. Hmm, this mixture I did not like so much. I guess I am not a fan of warm cottage cheese.

A couple of hours later, I had a few kashi crackers with sliced ham and a few prunes. This light little meal kept me going for a really long time!

T went out around noon and said she would pick up lunch and ended up not coming back until 2! I sipped on warm tea and felt fine. When she did return, she had a shrimp tempura roll for me. It wasn’t from our regular place and it really wasn’t as good either. They put a spicy mayo on top and the mayo actually tasted like miracle whip. And as some of you know, I am a pure bred southern girl and in my opinion mayo comes in a yellow labeled jar, Duke’s. There is no other kind unless you make it yourself so when a mayo isn’t Duke’s, I can usually pick it out. So, the sushi was a bit on the disappointing side. Lesson learned.

Lunch was so late, that I didn’t need an afternoon snack. Once I got home, I was hungry and I was excited about dinner. I made pinto bean burgers and roasted Brussels sprouts. I have been working for years, literally to perfect my bean burger recipe and yesterday’s version was pretty darn close. Here is how I made them:

Bean Burgers

1 can of beans, drained and rinsed until bubbles are gone

1/4 cup stuffing mix, crushed but still chunky

1/4 cup corn meal

1/4 cup salsa

1 tbsp mayo (Duke’s ;))

salt, pepper, chili powder, cumin

olive oil for sauteing

Instructions

In a large bowl, mash the beans until only a quarter of them are still whole. Stir in the rest of the ingredients and season with salt, pepper, chili powder and a pinch of cumin. The mixture should still feel wet but firm enough to form into patties. Shape the mixture into four small patties or two large ones and place on a parchment lined plate. Place in the freezer for at least 15 minutes until they feel more firm. Remove from freezer and put into an oiled skillet over medium heat. Saute on each side until very well browned.

After dinner, I made a batch of vitamuffinsΒ with extra peanut butter and chocolate chips. I ate mine warm and it was SO good!

Thought Provoker: What foods are you a purist about? Is there a food that you only a certain version of?

18 Responses

  1. ooh, i love vitamuffins!!! hmm, first thing that comes to mind is skim milk… but i’m sure there are others πŸ™‚

  2. all eats looks so delicious!!!!!!!!!!! that muffin seems to invite me for a bite ~~ ^_^

  3. I love reading about your ayurvedic experiences, since I too follow the philosophy πŸ™‚

    BEAN BURGERS!!! Mmm…

    To answer your question, I’m a purist when it comes to “foods on the go” – the ONLY bar I’ll eat is a Larabar, since the ingredients are wholesome. No “funny stuff” there!! No need to be a purist about natural foods, such as fruits and vegetables, since they’re already pure πŸ™‚

  4. i found the first paragraph very interesting – it’s hard to know whether keeping your energy up by eating little and often, or eating square meals and having time in between is better for you, but i guess it just depends on the person. i find if i eat too often i usually just eat too much!

    i think i am a bit of a purist snob about japanese food – it doesn’t mean that i don’t like asian infusion cuisine because i do – for e.g. having avocado in a sushi roll is completely not japanese at all – but i really like it! but having grown up with all the “original” stuff, sometimes i’m reluctant to call a dish “japanese” just because the authenticty is a bit off. see, snobbery!! doesn’t matter though because it’s yummy anyway πŸ˜€

  5. The bean burgers sound delicious. I love that there is stuffing in the mix.

    Where did you get all your ayurvedic info?

  6. I had a bean burger yesterday, it was so-so. I am a purist about bars i guess..i hate when they have ingredients i cannot pronounce. i am also a purist about italian food like mozzarella, pesto, etc. i can taste the different between high quality and low quality for sure. As with japanese.

  7. Megan,

    My first source was my yoga teacher and a book she gave me called A life of balance http://www.amazon.com/Ayurveda-Life-Balance-Maya-Tiwari/dp/089281490X

    I will also email you a few sites I have been reading.

  8. sushi….! and those burgers look fab!! i need to make those so i can stop buying all of mine and wasting so much money!!

  9. Those bean burgers look great!

    I am a purist about Mexican food and about corn. I refuse to buy corn on the cob except at the peak of summer, preferrably from my favorite farm back at my mom’s house. Once you’ve tasted that stuff, there’s no going back.

  10. I’m so glad that the yogi philosophies are working for you, I fin d them fascinating!

    I’m definitely a purist about nuts. I don’t know why Im so adamant about it either, lol. No salt, roasting, nothing πŸ™‚ just the pure yummy nuts!

  11. I don’t drink pop anymore, but I used to be a coca cola girl. Never mind the store “versions” of coke. Gimme a real one!

  12. Oooh, those bean burgers sound good!

  13. The fact that you seem so in turn with your dasha really makes me want to read more about it. I think I mentioned this before, but I took that quiz you linked to a couple times and get the same thing, but I am still hesitant to believe it’s accurate. I should really just mead up more on it I guess.

    I am going to have to think about that question. One thing is that I prefer french fries with ketchup and malt vinegar.

  14. I love the information you’ve been posting on your dasha. I think it’s completely fascinating. I just love it!
    A true southern girl – that made me smile. πŸ™‚ You’re so fun.

  15. Great information about yoga! I am completely in the dark, so it’s very interesting!

    I’m pretty sure that you perfected those bean burgers because I want to snag one off of the screen πŸ™‚ And I really want to try Vitamuffins!!! I think I will buy a box once I’ve cleaned out my pantry a little bit more.

    I’m not sure what I’m a food purist about…I guess I would much prefer stove top oats to instant oatmeal…does that count?

  16. How did you roast your brussel sprouts? They look good!

  17. Hey Dan!

    I preheat the oven to 400*, coat them (or any other veg) in olive oil then sprinkle them with salt, pepper, garlic powder and onion powder. I roast them in a deep pan and shake them around often. I use frozen and I find that the more often you shake them around and let the excess moisture out of the oven the better they turn out. The sprouts take about 40 minutes. If you need them faster, turn the oven to 450* and they will be done in about 30 minutes but I get the best results when I cook them slower.

    Happy eating!

Leave a Reply

