Life Goes On

I woke up ravenous yesterday. Probably because proper nutrition hasn’t been my strong suit these past few days. It’s funny how in the midst of feeling blue my eating turns to listening to my mind rather than listening to my body. My breakfast is a perfect example, days started with sugar never go well. I had a bowl of greek yogurt topped with pecan praline granola from TJ’s and a smidge of cherry jam.

The sugar and the jam caught up with me pretty quickly as I was really hungry again around 9. I had an apple with basil hummus. I liked this combo but I think it is much better with spicy hummus.

A couple of hours later, hunger struck again so I had a mango chicken sausage and roasted root veggies that I prepared over the weekend. I really loved the sausage, it was sweet and savory at the same time. I’d love to have it with a little mustard.

Shortly after, my stomach was growling again so I ate a few unphotographed prunes. Then walked in The Pro with a soy latte, just what I needed! I ended up only drinking about a third of it because the caffeine was getting to me.

By the time I got home from work, I was starving again. I made pesto and goat cheese chicken with whole wheat cous cous and broccoli and cheese. It was some kind of good, I think it will make it into the rotation for sure.

Easy Pesto and Goat Cheese Chicken

2 pieces of boneless, skinless chicken, pounded to 1/2 inch (I prefer thighs)

salt, pepper, garlic powder, onion powder, poultry seasoning

2 tbsp good quality pesto

2 oz goat cheese

olive oil

Preheat oven to 350* and coat a baking dish with olive oil. Sprinkle each chicken piece with salt, pepper, garlic powder, onion powder and poultry seasoning. Spread the pesto evenly over the tops of chicken and place into oiled baking dish and bake for 25 minutes. Crumble one ounce of goat cheese over chicken and place back into the oven for 5 minutes. Turn oven to broil and broil until cheese is lightly browned then remove from the oven. Let the chicken rest for about 5 minute. Drizzle the chicken with the olive oil “drippings’ from the baking dish, it should be a gorgeous vibrant green color and infused with a lovely basil flavor. Serve over grain of choice.

After dinner. I made a quick dessert out of TJ’s inside out carrot cake cookies and ice cream. I ended up not really liking the combo and ate mostly the ice cream. I think I really wanted chocolate 😉

Thought Provoker: Do you have a hard time listening to your body instead of your mind when it comes to food?

15 Responses

  1. TJ’s cherry jam + TJ’s inside out carrot cake cookies = two fabulous food products!!

    Okay, I’m REALLY intrigued by that apple & hummus combination – I need to try that!!

    When it comes to food, I DEFINITELY have to listen to my body (since I need to eat what fuels me the best, and what “agrees with my system”).

  2. I have the most trouble at night. It seems like the second I sit down for the evening, ususally around 8-9pm, my brain tells me it’s time to eat. Even when I’m not hungry. I try to challenge myself to stay out of the kitchen but it doesn’t always work!

  3. foods looks great today hun! so much variety!

    i try really hard to listen to my body but a lot of times my brain gets the best of me. 😦

  4. My body is always telling me things about food and I have to make sure my mind complies.

    Your dinner looks delicious!

  5. I love ANYTHING with pesto in and and I adore goat cheese. So basically, I think I just went to heaven with that recipe. 🙂

  6. Oooh, can’t wait to try out the pesto/goat cheese chicken dish.

    Those Mango Chicken sausages from TJ’s are a HUGE favorite in the house. SO good.

    Yes, sometimes I definitely listen to my mind more than my body–I don’t realize after I’ve reached for a chocolate Tim Tam cookie (that my mom brought us from Australia–they’re heaven) that it’s because I’m tired, not because I actually “need” chocolate.

  7. do i ever. sugar is typically my go-to food, and I’ve found myself reaching for candy after dinner just because it’s habit. The other day, for the first time EVER, I grabbed a yogurt at 9pm b/c I figured if I was hungry, I might as well get some nutrition in rather than eat a Tootsie Roll. I was eating it, thinkg, “oh no, have I turned into one of those girls from the yoplait commerial?!” but it’s been easier lately to eat an apple versus Sugar Babies…not sure why.

  8. Oh.my.GOD! All of your eats look amazing, and delicious, and drool worthy. I wish I ate chicken!
    Now that I’ve been eating “cleaner” for almost a year now, I know how my body responds to junk I shouldn’t be eating. I can just think about how I will feel afterwards, and that prevents me from eating junk most of the time. But, sometimes cravings are too hard for me to ignore and so I eat the junk, but am prepared for the consequences.

  9. I’m pretty much in tune with my body… I know what it needs, I know what it wants, and I know what it craves… but sometimes the finicky mind wins :). I like to think it all balances out in the end!

  10. See the one thing I really do miss is Ice Cream. Sigh.

  11. the chicken sounds a.mazing!!! a must try. i definitely do have phases where mind wins over body – but i think it’s necessary to sometimes give into that… for me, anyway! i would have finished your dessert for you 😉

  12. really easy recipe for chicken. I was reluctant to buy chicken breast because I never found good recipes for it. Now, I have one! thanks so much!

  13. Ok, that recipe sounds fabulous. I will be making that!!
    90% of the time, my head will win. If i think I should be hungry, I’ll eat, even if my stomach isn’t. I gotta work on that.

  14. I agree with Krista, I think at night after dinner is the toughest time to listen to my body over my mind.

    I know you weren’t thrilled with the days eats, but you really had some great things in there!

  15. That chicken looks fantastic. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

