It’s What I Love About Sunday’s

I slept in a little yesterday, I didn’t wake up until the late hour of 6:30. For breakfast, I was really cravings buttered toast with eggs so I channeled my inner Jordan and makes eggs in a basket. I brushed two slices of TJ’s high fiber whole wheat bread with a little melted smart balance and then cut a hole in each piece with a glass. I put them into the pan and then cracked an egg into each hole and sprinkled on a little salt and pepper.

While they cooked, I munched on a bowl of grapes.

This breakfast really hit the spot, I am thinking you will be seeing this one many times in the future. Thanks, Jordan! After breakfast, the dear husband and I hit the road for a quick dose of sunlight. We walked around our neighborhood bundled up in our hat and gloves, it was chilly! Our walk was followed by laundry and then lunch. For lunch, I made whole wheat couscous topped with a morning star farms fake chicken patty and topped it all off with marinara sauce and mozzarella cheese.

For dessert, we shared this lovely chocolate croissant from Whole Foods.

Lunch was followed by a little more laundry and some food prep for the week ahead. While I was cooking, I took a little break and had two of these little chocolate meringues from TJ”s. I really really liked these, I was surprised by how chocolaty the flavor was! Once my prep was done, I took a nice long nap. This IS what I love about Sundays!

For dinner, I made a little dish I dreamed up in my head while looking at our choice of ingredients.

BBQ Apples and Pork Chops

2 servings

2 bone in pork chops

1 tbsp olive oil

salt, pepper, Penzy’s BBQ 3000 (or any other BBQ seasoning)

1 small apple, core removed and thinly sliced

1/4 of a small red onion, thinly sliced

1/4 cup BBQ Sauce

Preheat the oven to 350*. Coat the chops in the olive oil and sprinkle with salt, pepper and BBQ Seasoning. Place chops in a baking dish and cover each with half of the the onion and apple. Drizzle each chop with 2 tbsp of BBQ sauce. Cover the dish and bake for 45 minutes then remove the cover and bake for an additional 10 minutes. Serve with additional BBQ sauce for dipping.

I made baked sweet potatoes topped with smart balance and cinnamon to go along side our chops. This was a perfect easy fall dinner. For dessert, we had the last of the peanut butter chocolate chip oatmeal bars with a scoop of vanilla ice cream and then drizzled with chocolate sauce. These bars are so tasty, I can not wait to make them again and again.

Thought Provoker: Do you think it is important to have a low key day to regroup and prepare for the upcoming week? I feel lost throughout the weekend if I haven’t done my prepwork.

13 Responses

  1. Your Sunday seems like just my kind of day. Rather productive, but nothing urgent or pressing… I think days like that are really key to decompressing from my week, or to put a nice tone on the week to come.

  2. What a wonderful day! I love the pork chop recipe. It’s such a fall classic right?! Beautiful.
    I have to have at least one or two days devoted to unwinding and getting myself together. It feels SO good.

  3. Chocolate Croissant from Whole Foods + PB-Chocolate Chip-Oatmeal Bars = HOLY YUM.

    “Do you think it is important to have a low key day to regroup and prepare for the upcoming week?”

    If only that were possible for me, haha 😉

  4. wow, that dessert makes me want to run for your house for it!

    and i am totally w/ you on the low key day..i’m lost without it!

  5. I used to eat your breakfast all the time as a kid only we called it “toads in the hole”.
    Awesome looking porchops!

  6. thanks for visiting my blog! I came here several times and never say hi. Your meals look delicious and the pictures are even best!

  7. What a wonderful breakfast! Yeah for naps!

    I totally believe in having a low key day. My weeks are always harder when I have had a busy weekend!

  8. i know I need to relax but then a day like this past saturday comes – when I did NOTHING but veg and watch TV -and I feel guilty. How awful is that? Regrouping is SO important but I usually try to give myself bits and pieces of time through the day (like meditating at night or going for a long walk) – I feel more productive that way.

  9. Sounds like a lovely day.

    I do think I need a day to re-group. I feel better if i get some cooking/ meal planning done on Sundays as well, I then feel like I can face the week in a more balanced, calm manner.

    Toad in the hole looks awesome!

  10. I absolutely think it’s necessary to have a re-grouping day or at least afternoon. I always use Sunday to pick the house up, do some laundry, pay bills, etc. I don’t stress throughout the week to do this stuff, because I know I have a time set aside for it. I make sure to schedule relax time, too!

  11. this was full of exceptionally delicious-looking food – wow! i loooove pain au chocolat 😀

    i’m a student, but not your typical with tons of classes etc. because i’m at a music conservatoire. and therefore i don’t really have a week-weekend-week-weekend cycle relax days just come whenever they come! but it’s definitely important to have days when you can gather your thoughts and prep for the time ahead.

  12. Your meals look particularly fabulous for Sunday!

    Yes, I think it is important, especially on Sunday, to take some relaxation time.

  13. Absolutely! These days I rarely get a day of rest on the weekends and I dread Monday mornings.

Leave a Reply

