Finding a Light

Yesterday, I had the same ole same ole for breakfast. A bowl of shredded wheat n bran topped with banana, walnuts, milk and cinnamon. But this time, I didn’t forget the picture 🙂

I was in such a hurry at home that I didn’t really have time to pack much for work so I depended on the staff lunch to get me through the morning and early afternoon. It was not the healthiest of choices, it rarely is, but I went for it anyway. I had a small fried chicken thigh and a serving of mac n cheese with peas. It was pretty good, I really tried figuring out what they coated the chicken in to give it such a crispy texture but couldn’t figure it out. I also forgot to ask chef 😦

While I ate my lunch, I took some advice from a book that Sally recommended and decided to look into online writing workshops. I found one that I like and I plan to sign up for it. It is a 28 week course that explains a number of aspects of getting started as a writer. I am looking forward to the course and feel like this is my light at the end of the tunnel. If I can at least get started with working towards a writing career then maybe the day to day will not be so bad.

In the late afternoon, I had a greek yogurt with agave and NUTrition nuts. It was realy tasty but for some reason, it did not hold me over very long.

Once I got home from work, I got started on dinner right away. I made roasted brussel sprouts and a kicked up version of Bobby’s Goulash. You may remember that the first time I made it that I thought it was a bit bland and that the bay leaf was a bit over powering. This time, i took a couple of portions out of the freezer and added a little chili powder and garlic powder. I put it into a casserole dish and topped it with a mexican cheese blend and goat cheese. I baked it in the oven for about a half hour and then broiled it for a moment to brown the cheese. I liked this version a little better but the bay leaf was still strong.

After dinner, I decided to do a little baking. I had been wanting cookies all day so I decided to make oatmeal bars. I used Tina’s recipe as a base and came up with this lovely treat:

Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Bars

Ingredients:

2 cups rolled oats

3/4 cup white wheat flour

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/4 cup agave nectar

1/2 cup canola oil

2 eggs, beaten

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 cup chocolate chips

1/2 cup peanut butter chips

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350*. In a large bowl, mix all ingredients until combined very well. Spread the batter into a greased 8 x 8 baking pan and bake for 25 to 30 minutes until light golden brown. 

I’ve decided to make one small change to the blog. Instead of a question of the day, I am going to have the “Thought Provoker of the Day”. The reason for this is that sometimes my QOTD is taken as a request for advice when in most cases it is not. I started the QOTD as a way to get the conversation rolling and to help me learn about others relationship with food and exercise. My goal is to one day write a book to help people with intuitive eating so this has been a form of research for me. I appreciate everyones input but long rants of unsolicited advice isn’t what I’m going for. I hope you all will understand.

15 Responses

  1. Your treats look delicious!

    I love the idea of a Thought Provoker of The Day!!

  2. I’m stopping by from the Foodie Blog Roll to say hello! Very nice blog you have here. 🙂

  3. Mmmm, LOOOOVE all that cinnamon in your breakfast bowl!! Holy yum.

    Bobby’s Goulash (gotta love Paula Deen, haha) + Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Bars (WOWZA!!!) = great eats!

    The “Thought Provoker of the Day” will be fabulous!!

    TGIF!!

  4. I really need to go grocery shopping. You just reminded me of this, thanks =P

  5. The bars looks incredible. Two of my favorite things in the entire world. Yay!
    I love the thought provoker of the day idea and I completely understand your reason for the change!

  6. Your pictures are beautiful…especially the oat bars…YUM!

  7. Sometimes I need thought provoked in my day because my brain is fried. Bring it on! 🙂

  8. love the cinnamon on the breakfast! and those bars look amazing! i just bought pb chips so i’ll have to try them!

    and i’m excited for the change; i love the questions you ask everyday!

  9. I think the thought provoker of the day is a great idea. And your questions are always very thought provoking!

  10. Oh my gosh, those came out amazingly!!!!!!!!!!!!

  11. the online course sounds like a really great idea – i’m glad you’re excited about that. it’s already such an accomplishment to keep your eye on your dream and not give up.

  12. Your treat looks fantastic… I think i’ll need to try making those!

    I love the idea of a thought provoker of the day. I think it’ll get things rolling much more than a QOTD!

  13. Wow! The peanut butter bars look fantastic! Just like a a granola bar. I am going to try them soon!

  14. Those bars look fab. I’m saving them for my baking to-do list!

Leave a Reply

