A Monday Off Work

We had to get up super early yesterday because we had to take my car in to the dealership for some work. Once the car was where it needed to be, we went out for breakfast, something we rarely do. We ended up at IHOP for pancakes. I ordered a spinach, mushroom and ham omelet

with harvest nut and grain pancakes. I put a little dab of syrup on the pancakes but discovered that I actually like them better without!

It was awesome breakfast! Of course, it was enough food to feed an army so I barely even finished a quarter of it. After breakfast, we ran some errands and then headed back home. We spent most of the day doing house and yard work. It was early afternoon before I was even remotely hungry, probably due to my well balanced breakfast 😉 For lunch, I made a repeat of Saturdays lunch. A hummus, havarty cheese, ham, lettuce and tomato sandwich of local 9 grain bread. It was just as good as the first time.

Just before it was time to pick up my car, I had a small bowl of greek yogurt with walnuts and agave. It was pretty good and held me over until dinner time.

For dinner, I made baked tofu. First, I drained it all day in the fridge and then cut it into large cubes. I tossed it with olive oil, agave and Penzy’s BBQ 3000 seasoning. Then,  I baked it at 400* for 40 minutes until nice and brown. Along side, we had a baked sweet potato with smart balance and sauteed kale. The kale was sauteed in olive oil and seasoned with salt, pepper, garlic, onion, crushed red pepper and a dash of nutmeg. This was a delicious dinner!

After dinner, we both read a little and watched some tv. For dessert, I had a vitamuffin.

This was a great birthday weekend, too bad it isn’t just a few days longer!

QOTD: What sort of meals seem to hold you over for hours at a time?

15 Responses

  1. I love Harvest Grain and nut pancakes.

    Glad you had a great birthday weekend! You deserve it!

    Oatmeal usually holds me over a pretty long time, especially if there is PB mixed in.

  2. I find oatmeal with pumpkin holds me over. So does PB & J! Sounds like a great day off!

  3. Can’t go to IHOP without ordering some pancakes!! 😀 They look scrumptious.

    Sweet potato + kale = YUM!!

    Hooray for a super-sensational birthday weekend for you 🙂

    Oatmeal hold me over for 4+ hours; my smoothies/protein shakes hold me over for 3-5 hours; my lentil-sweet potato-greens dishes hold me for 5-6 hours (but I try not to wait that long to eat).

  4. A chicken shawarma wrap (Middle Eastern deliciousness!) holds me over all day, sometimes. I can have one for lunch and not be hungry for dinner.

  5. what a great day off!

    and i have yet to really find something that keeps me full for hours…arg!

  6. 1) Oatmeal

    2) Soup + sandwich (or salad)

    3) Any breakfast that includes Greek Yogurt

    Have a good day!!

  7. Sounds like a very good bday weekend! 🙂

    Greek yogurt sticks with me and so do nuts and even protein smoothies (with fruit, ice and tofu).

  8. Great looking food! Love that yogurt!

  9. I looooooooooove those pancakes. Nomnomnom, they’re so good.

  10. I’ve tried to use the Penzey’s BBQ 3000 spice with my tofu several times with no success. I’m going to try it like you made it and see how it turns out – yours looks fab!

  11. I love those pancakes too – But I would eat all of them not just 1/4 of it! I can’t stop when it comes to good pancakes.

  12. i rarely go out for breakfast – the couple of times a year that i do, i LOVE IT. so i am very jealous!!

    those walnuts look beautiful atop the yogurt 🙂

  13. Oatmeal can hold me over forever!

  14. Whole wheat protein pancakes (recipe listed in the favorites section of my blog) hold me for ages. Any meal that includes greek yogurt works great, and oatmeal with pumpkin is pretty good.

    But oddly enough, the meals that really hold me are meals where I just eat moderate amounts of whatever I feel like without thinking too hard about nutrition…Sunday brunch out, etc. I think that when I’m relaxed and eat really mindfully, I feel satisfied much longer.

  15. Pancakes supposedly spike your blood sugar and then leave you hungry. I, however, will eat 1 1/2 restaurant pancakes with syrup and be full for hours. Omelettes, fritattas, and the like also — though not plain old eggs. Most soups and stews are very filling for me.

Leave a Reply

