My Favorite Things

Yesterday, I woke up at the ripe old age of 32, a birthday that I had not been looking forward to. I started out the day with french toast with agave and goat cheese scrambled eggs. For the toast, I used a couple slices of 9 grain local bread, half and half, eggs, vanilla bean paste and, of course, a pinch of salt. It was a delightful birthday breakfast.

Just before heading out for the day, my blood sugar feltย low so I had a couple slices of roast beef and a piece of havarty cheese.

That really stabilized my blood sugar and kept me tied over for a couple of hours. We walked around Carytown for a bit and once we were hungry, we ate lunch at Ginger Thai, one of my favorite Thai places. Since I knew that I was going to be eating all day, we skipped appetizers and soup and went right for the main dish. I got what I always gets, spicy noodles of the drunk with tofu. Yum!

After lunch, we walked around a little more and then stopped into The Baker’s Crust for a chocolate filled croissant. It ended up being very dry an not what my heart desired so after a couple of bites, I threw it out. When we were on our honeymoon in Hawaii, I had the best chocolate filled croissant in the world and have been in search of that perfection ever since.

By mid afternoon, we were pretty wiped out and still had evening plans so we stopped by starbucks for a pic me up, I got a grande vanilla latte. It was just what I needed to get me through the day. Shortly after, we met up with our friends, Sarah and FJ, and the in laws. We met at a local sushi and hibachi place that I can not remember the name of! The dear husband and I shared four rolls, I probably ate one roll worth as they were huge! Here is an action shot from the hibachi that the dear husbands family ordered.

A birthday would not be complete without cake and ice cream so we headed over to Cold Stone. I got birthday cake batter ice cream with vanilla cake chunks and fudge. It was the perfect way to end my Birthday.

QOTD: Do you have any birhday traditions? What do you like to do on your Birthday?

19 Responses

  1. HAPPY BELATED BIRTHDAY!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    On my birthday, I spend OODLES of time with my family, dine at my all-time favorite restaurant in whatever location I’m in (whether I’m in my hometown or traveling), and just celebrate!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Happy birthday! It sounded like you had a wonderful day ๐Ÿ™‚

    My least favorite question on my birthday (or rather, leading up to it) is “what do you want to do for your birthday?

    I don’t care what it is, it can be a picnic lunch on my living room floor, but PLEASE don’t make me decide or even offer suggestions.

    ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. My birthday tradition isn’t just mine – it’s my whole family’s. We have a birthday cake and the tradition is taking a bite out of the corner of the cake with your mouth – no forks allowed. Usually, this ends in you getting your face smashed into the side of the cake, but that’s the best part =P

  4. YAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAY! HAPPY BIRTHDAY SWEETIE!
    I don’t think I have a tradition, except pigging out and feeling happy! And shopping. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Happy Happy Happy birthday! Glad you enjoyed some cake batter ice cream to celebrate!

    I like to make my birthday a week long experience and celebrate with all my friends and family! My tradition is to go out for Thai food!

  6. yay for a great birthday!!! i’m glad you had such a great day!!!

    i dont’ have any traditions, but my parents do make an effort to call me every year at the time i was born: 10.15am. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!!!!!!!

  8. Happy Birthday! It sounds like you had a very nice day. I hear you on the chocolate croissants – when they’re bad, they are so disappointing! I don’t have any bday traditions anymore ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I should probably work on that!

  9. Of course I…. wish YOU a VERY HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!! Although you were not looking forward to it…. it’s time to CELEBRATE like VeggieGirl said !!!!! :-DDD Just enjoy!!!!! :-DDD
    I like to travel somewhere on my birthday…!! And make something ..UNUSUAL and CRAZZZY …!! Hah that makes fun..!!

    Welll….I like to read your blog..:)) that’s a nice daily inspiratioon…:)) keep going!!

    I’ve just started my own BLOG…would be SO HAPPY to see a comment from YOU!! Pls visit me on

    http://www.agnesworldofveganpleasures.blogspot.com

    Waiting =))
    Have a great (Birth) Day !!!!! ๐Ÿ˜€

  10. happy birthday christie!! sounds like a great day you had. i LOVE chocolate croissants – but like you, i have quite high expectations and hate ones that have any hint of dryness!
    i don’t really have any birthday traditions… just having a really good time with close friends is more than enough for me ๐Ÿ˜€

  11. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

    Omg you’re so *not* old! Not even a smidgen!

    Delicious breakfast idea. My favorite (and new) b-day activity is to go on a long run the day before so I get all the benefits of one with none of the work haha. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Hope the rest of your week is awesome!

  12. HAPPY BIRTHDAY! Ginger Thai… what a great pick for a b-day lunch!!

    I like to celebrate my birthday with icecream cake.

  13. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!
    i love hibachi!!!
    when i was younger, i would wake up to streamers hanging from my door and my nana would bring a confetti bundt cake for all of us to have for breakfast before school
    now that i’ve moved away, our tradition is kinda sad– my hubby is never here for my bday :/
    so i usually wake up to flowers on the doorstep, which is lovely, but totally not the same!
    the ice cream sounds AMAZING!!! so glad you had a great night!!! CELEBRATE all week ๐Ÿ˜€

  14. Happy birthday!

  15. Sounds like you had a wonderful day! The only b-day tradition I have now is to try and forget about it! ๐Ÿ™‚
    I love that plate you put your breakfast on!

  16. Happy Birthday!

    My birthday tradition: white chocolate and raspberry muffins with a glass of champagne for breakfast! And I always get a massage. ๐Ÿ™‚

  17. I know I am late, but I wanted to say Happy Birthday! I hope you had a wonderful day.

    My birthday is in the summer so I always have a party with grandpa, whose birthday is a week earlier and an ice cream cake.

    I hope your coldstone ice cream was free! If you sign up online you can get a free cone on your birthday. Sign up for next year. ๐Ÿ™‚

  18. Happy Birthday fellow Libra. I’m glad you had a wonderful day. My tradition for my birthday is not having cake but instead an apple pie, freshly baked. You have a lovely site.

  19. I always go out to lunch at a local restaurant (that I love but dh doesn’t like) with my MIL, SIL, aunt-in-law, and any other women in the family who are available to join us. I take 90 min of vacation time so I can have a 2-hour lunch.

Leave a Reply

