Takin’ it Easy

I woke up early yesterday in order to get in some breakfast before my yoga class, they say it is best to not have eaten for 2 hours before hand and I do my best to stick to that. I had a bowl of shredded wheat n bran with milk, walnuts and half a banana. I also ate a little more than I have been lately because I had some errand running to do after yoga and being hungry in three hours just wouldn’t work.

I signed up for a hatha flow yoga class on Saturday mornings since the dear husband agreed to do his marathon training on Saturdays from now on. The class starts at 8:30 and I was pretty excited to get back into the yoga studio. Practice at home and in a studio are such different experiences. Honestly, the biggest difference to me is my ego. When I practice at home, I, of course, don’t compare myself to others but at the studio, my mind often wonders to how I stack up. I do, however, enjoy practicing in a studio because I get to learn new things and I am reminded of proper alignment with a hands on approach rather than just words.

The class I took yesterday was with Laura, she is the owner of the studio and probably the most gentle of the teachers there. Her approach is soft and kind and her passion for yoga really shines. This class we focused on strengthening our core with a focus on the lower abdominal. I have a very weak core so it was just the class I needed. We went through many poses that you would never get somewhere else. In fact, plank and side plank never entered the 75 minute class. But today, I am sore from my shoulders all the way down to the top of my legs all the way around. Needless to say, it was a good class.

After a quick catch up session with Laura, I headed next door to Ukrop’s to do a little grocery shopping. I should have had a snack before I went in because I was really hungry by this time. But I guess the truth is, I came out of there with a good stock of foods that my body must have been craving without me realizing it. Thankfully, it wasn’t a bunch of “junk” food.

Once I arrived home, I made myself some lunch with my new loot. I made a sandwich on local 9 grain bread topped with sabra spicy (!!) hummus, havarty cheese, thin sliced pesto parmesan ham, romaine and local tomatoes. This sandwich was just what I wanted and before my trip to the store, I didn’t even know it!

After lunch, the dear husband and I hung out in our office until he fell asleep. I decided to take advantage of the quiet time by giving my bathroom a quick scrub. My cleaning habits have once again gone to the toilet, no pun intended, so it really needed it. By then, the dear husband was awake and we headed downstairs for some R & R. We watched LA Ink on the DVR and a little Food Network.

Around 2, I was hungry again so I had the sushi I picked up at Ukrop’s. It was called a crunchy roll and while eating it, I could not figure out why because there was nothing crunchy about it. Despite that, it was still delicious.

It was very spicy that left me with a killer sweet tooth so I turned to my vitamuffins. I ate one and it really hit the spot.

After this, I read for a while and ended up taking a really long nap. When I woke up, I made a quick dinner with the Blogger Secret Ingredient, Polenta! I made:

 Creamy Blue Corn Polenta with Meat Sauce

For the Polenta

2 cups milk

1/2 cup blue corn meal

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 cup parmesan cheese

1 cup frozen chopped spinach

1 tsp dried basil

For the Sauce

1/2 lb ground meat ( I use bison)

1 1/4 cup marinara sauce

Parmesan Cheese for topping

Instructions

Brown meat on medium high heat to ensure it browns rather than steams. If the meat is very lean, add a little olive oil. Once the meat is brown, add the marinara sauce and let simmer.  In a separate pot, combine salt and milk over medium heat. While the milk heats up slowly whisk in the corn meal a tbsp at a time being sure to whisk well after each addition. Once all of the corn meal is incorporated, switch to a wooden spoon and stir often. Once it is thickened, add in the cheese and spinach and lower the heat to a simmer. If the polenta becomes too thick add a little water until it is the desired texture. At the very end, add in the basil. Serve the meat sauce on top of the polenta and top with paremsan cheese.  Yellow corn meal can be used in place of blue but the blue is very fun!

Polenta and sauce is one of my all time favorite comfort foods but for some reason, it wasn’t doing it for me. I had really been thinking about the cold stone ice cream I plan to get on my birthday (today) and I just wanted something sweet. I only took a few bites and gave the rest to the dear husband. I ended up eating another vita muffin and then called it a night. I had to rest up for my birthday festivities!

Caddie...Takin' It Easy

Caddie...Takin

QOTD: Do you like to grocery shop on a hungry stomach or a full stomach? I am actually finding that I buy more “real” food when I shop when I am hungry.

21 Responses

  1. sounds like a really great yoga session 😀 and it’s very interesting to hear about your purchases while hungry – i think that in a wierd way, i tend to buy less when i’m hungry because i kind of just want to get it over and done with and EAT! having said that, i’m sure i pick up some random stuff that i find good at the time because of the emptiness of my stomach.

    never heard of or seen blue corn polenta – exciting!

  2. Caddie is ADORABLE!!!

    Your polenta meal looks DELICIOUS!

    I tend to buy too much at the grocery store all the time! It doesn’t matter if I am hungry or not!

  3. So glad that you had a good morning yoga class!!

    Hooray for spicy hummus for your lunch!! 😀

    Looove the polenta dish; and the GORGEOUS photograph of Caddie!! 🙂

    Since I have to plan my food-shopping outings around my insanely-packed schedule, I end up shopping when I feel both ways (hungry or not). Doesn’t affect what I purchase.

  4. aww your kitty is too cute – looks so comfy 🙂

    what a very unique and yummy-sounding polenta recipe!

  5. happy birthday! 🙂

  6. i cant shop when im hungry or distracted or sad. i even up spending WAY TOO MUCHMONEY!!!

    and happy bday!

  7. I like grocery shopping when I’m hungry! Gets mr rxcited! It never affects my purchases tho…

  8. i think i’m able to shop whether i’m hungry or full…i don’t think it makes a difference because i’m crazy and like to stick to my lists…:P

    and HAPPY HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!! I hope you have a great day celebrating!!!

  9. That sandwich should be in a restaurant or something! Really creative flavor combos!

    For the most part like to I stick to the list I’ve made for grocery shopping; I never ever ever ever (haha) shop without a list!

  10. I grocery shop at random times, but I prefer when I’m not hungry. Not because I think I’ll buy too much or buy things I don’t need, but because if I’m hungry I’ll want to hurry through the shopping to get it done fast so I can eat instead of wandering up and down the aisles and taking my time, which I love.
    Caddie is so cute! He looks bigger already!

  11. HAPPY BIRTHDAY! HAPPY BIRTHDAY!
    I want to cuddle with Caddie. 🙂
    Sounds like you had a really restful Saturday!
    I prefer not to be starving at the store because when I’m hungry I can’t think straight and forget stuff. 🙂

  12. Happy birthday!!! ❤

    That sandwich looks uh-mazing!
    I need a Caddie in my life.

  13. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!! Hope you have a terrific day!

    Your sandwich looks delish and I just LOVE Caddie! What a doll face!

    Awesome use of the BSI!

  14. Yum! Your BSI dish looks amazing – I’ve never seen blue corn polenta before!!

    Your yoga session sounds fantastic. I think I agree with you that I tend to buy healthier foods on an empty stomach, because I get cravings for fresh fruits and veggies!!

    I love Caddie 🙂 You really found the best name ever!

  15. OH my goodness, I pushed submit before I could say HAPPY BIRTHDAY CHRISTIE!!!

  16. Happy Birthday!

    Also, I close my eyes as much as possible at yoga class. Try it!

  17. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!
    caddie is precious!!
    i like to shop on a satisfied tummy…. otherwise i buy anything that looks semi-good and our food budget goes out the window 😀
    hope you have a great night!

  18. your kitty is TOO cute! when i went to the pet store to play with the KITTIES guess who i thought of?

    i dont know what i like to shop on. i depends, if its after dinner, all i would want to buy is desserts and binge foods, or i might restrain myself, and only buy real food, so i can start over.

    have an AMAZING monday!

  19. oh and when i re-read your post, you know what i really wanted to tell you?

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!
    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!
    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

    one for each day! :o)

  20. Thanks for introducing me to the world of blogging, Christie.

    Your food photos are beautiful, and inspire us all to one to explore the texture, color and beauty inherent in food we eat. I will take more time to look at my shredded wheat, bananas and walnuts, because I am not sure I realized how very beautiful they all are together until seeing your photo.

    Yoga is designed to increase our awareness, so that we may appreciate the beauty inherent in all that is part of the universe. Thanks for increasing our awareness with your words and photos, and helping us find the beauty in breakfast!!!!

    You have truly found the “yoga” in blogging!

Leave a Reply

