Fast Oats!

I started the day yesterday with a bowl of oats, depsite running late. I’m not sure why I hadn’t thought of it in a while but instead of the long process of using the stovetop, I used the microwave. No babysitting, to constant checking, I just popped in it, stirred it once and five minutes later I had a bowl of creamy oats. I used 1/4 cup oats, 1/2 cup milk, a mashed banana and a pinch of salt. I topped it with a heaping spoon of almond butter. Pretty good for a fast breakfast but I do have to say thatย a whole banana is such a small portion was too banana-y.

Work started out crazy but ended up being a quiet pleasant day. For my mid morning meal, I had chicken salad in half of a whole wheat pita. I made a whole lot of the chicken salad so plan to see it a few more times this week. For lunch I had a warm bowl of 17 been soup topped with parmesan cheese and a side of grapes. I just love how soup gets better after sitting in the fridge for a couple of days.

I left work early for an appointment and when I got home, I had a delicious mini meal. I mixed greek yogurt with lemon curd and topped it with granola. It was like lemon pie!

After my “lemon pie”, I read a little and then headed out for a walk. I did one loop around the neighborhood in 30 minutes! It normally takes the dear husband and I about 45, clearly, we walk at a much slower pace when we are together. Once home, I started on dinner. I didn’t really have a plan except that I wanted to use the chicken, spinach and feta sausages from TJ’s that I had taken out of the freezer. From there, a great meal ensued. I sliced the sausages in olive oil, once they were browned, I tossed in a jar of drained artichoke hearts and a can of diced tomatoes. To thicken it up a bit, I sprinkled in some parmesan cheese then added in a little dried basil. I served this impromtu sauce on top of whole wheat pasta and topped the whole thing off with goat cheese. Delightful!

After dinner, we watched some television and read for a bit. I went to bed early as I was feeling super tired.

QOTD: How many hours of sleep do you get per night? How many hours do you feel best?

11 Responses

  1. I love soup as a leftover. I definitely feel all the flavors are blended more!

    What a great idea to add artichokes in with the spinach and feta sausages! Nice combination of flavors.

    I usually feel good on 7-8 hours of sleep. Unfortunately, last night I only got 5. We will see how the day goes!

  2. That dinner looks beautiful! And sounds tangy. I love feta and artichokes.
    I shoot for 7. Like Megan, I ended up with 5 last night. I’ll be relying on caffeine today! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. The sausage/artichoke combo sounds really good!
    I typically get 7 hours a night. Anything less than that on a regular basis and I get sick!

  4. Despite the busyness at work, I’m glad that the day ended pleasantly.

    GORGEOUS DINNER!!

    I try to get no less than 7 hours of sleep per night – I feel quite energized in the morning with that amount of sleep.

  5. Heatherbakes.com just asked this question as well!

    I get about 6-7 hours of sleep per night. I function best on 8 +.

  6. i feel my best when i get around 8 hrs but unfortunately during the school year i can only get 6-7 most nights. Good thing I love coffee!

  7. ohh your food looks great… my fav topping for soup is parm cheese!

    I sleep 6-7 hours a night which is good for me!

  8. AHHHH!! You said “curd” again! LOL.

    As for sleep, I do best at 8-9 hours of sleep, which seems way to0 decadent. I also like to “naturally awaken” instead of using an alarm clock.

  9. I need to get this lemon curd! I love lemon squares, lemon pie, lemon anything!

    I sleep about 6 hours, but I prefer 7-8, which I get on the weekends.

  10. When my husband and I walk together we slow down, too. I think it’s the talking that gets in the way. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I get about 7 to 7 1/2, but I feel best on 8 or 8 1/2!

  11. dinner looks incredible! i looove goat cheese ๐Ÿ˜€
    i usually get about 7.5… any more than that and i’m tired all day!
    have a wonderful night!

Leave a Reply

