The Funk has Ended

I woke up not feeling much better from my “funk” on Sunday. Thankfully, through the course of the day I was able to figure out what was wrong and how to solve the problem. But let’s start with breakfast. I had my new favorite breakfast, shredded wheat n bran with plain hemp milk, banana and walnuts. I promise to change it up soon!

I got to work feeling like I should have called in sick, my emotions were wacky and I felt like I needed to stew on my thoughts rather than work. But the bills have to be paid, so work it was. Around 10, I had half a whole wheat pita stuffed with chicken salad that I made on Sunday. It has roasted chicken, diced local apples, walnuts, dried cranberries, greek yogurt, grainy mustard, olive oil mayo, garlic, salt and pepper. Very tasty but I think I went overboard on the garlic, not taste wise but small offices carry odors wise.

I chatted with my friend Sarah about my woes. I first realized that part of my funk was related to her party. I am not great in social situations where I don’t know everyone well and I always leave feeling like my self esteem has been trampled on. Until I know someone, I feel like an outsider and that is exactly what started my negative feelings.

Next on the list was how I feel about my dear husbands long runs. I feel lonely, since we have been together, the weekends have been “our” time and I am not coping well with “our” time being taken up with “his” time. I know how selfish that is but it is the truth. I knew I needed to find something of my own to do in that time and Sarah suggested we could spend some of that time doing girl things, like going to Trader Joe’s and Whole Foods πŸ™‚ A spectacular solution in my opinion.

As the day progressed, I was feeling better and like there was light at the end of my dark tunnel. It was also lunch time πŸ™‚ I picked up Panera for T, The Pro and I since I had a few errands to run anyway. I had the new creamy tomato soup with asiago croutons and a nice hunk of whole grain baguette. The croutons were not to my liking so I threw them away. I had expected them to be dreamy but they were mediocre at best.

After lunch, I had this lovely triple chocolate chip cookie.

The cookie completely threw off my mini meal schedule so I didn’t get hungry until I had already left work. I ate a kind bar as I was driving to my after work errands. OnceΒ I got home, I made a Archers Farms ultra thin crust pepperoni pizza and steamed broccoli with Parmesan cheese. I have said it once and I will say it again, that pizza is THE BEST frozen pizza on earth.

While dinner was in the oven, the dear husband and I talked about the marathon training. We decided that he would go back to Saturday runs so that I can run our weekend errands or take a yoga class. He also said that he would try getting up at the same time as I do so that he can get going much earlier. I think this will be a great compromise and will work out for both of us.

After dinner, we watched Brothers and Sisters and Army Wives on the DVR. Sunday TV drama at it’s best!

QOTD: How do you and your significant other spend your time apart?

12 Responses

  1. That’s so great that you were able to look at what’s bothering you w/ the help of a friend!
    We spend our time apart working! We get a couple hours together at night, but we both work six days a week so Sunday is our only day together.

  2. Hooray for no “funk,” and for going to BOTH Trader Joe’s and Whole Foods – score!! πŸ˜€

    Well, my dance partner (**I guess he could be my significant other, since I see/dance with him practically 24/7, haha) and I spend our time apart when we don’t have dance practices (which is a short amount of time, since dance practices are multiple times per day). So I guess the only day we don’t see each other is on Sunday, which is our one day-off.

  3. I am so glad you figured out what was causing the funk and the best part is you found solutions!!

    Most of our time spent apart is for work because our hours are opposite of each other. Otherwise, when he is playing golf, I go to the book store or hang out with my mom.

  4. i think it is really great that you can your husband can talk about these issues and come to a compromise. sometimes my FH gets upset too when i go on super long runs… πŸ™‚

    we like to go do something fun and active, like play catch at the park or take our dogs on a walk.

  5. I’m so glad you were able to isolate what was causing you mood shift! Girl time sounds like the perfect solution to me!
    I am SO jealous of your Panera! That soup looked gorgeous!
    I think it’s encouraging that you and your husband can sit down and compromise on how time is spent on your weekends. Awesome!
    My husband loves hockey and I love to go hunt out new items at the grocery store (yes, I’m a nerd!) so I’ll usually do that while he’s on the ice.

  6. So glad you figured out the cause of the funk!

    When my husband is working overnight, I usually end up calling around to my friends and chatting with them as I tidy up. Other than that, I’m hooked to the computer. When I’m out and he’s home alone (rare, but this weekend I’m going out to dinner with friends sans baby!) he’s usually on the internet or playing Mario Kart with his brother on the wii.

  7. He works out at a gym at work, plays golf, and plays basketball. I go for bike rides alone, but usually plan my “me” time for when he’s working anyway. I exercise while he’s at work, breakfast with friends on my morning off when he’s at work, etc. I do scrapbook sometimes, but that’s about it. We aren’t a couple who spend all of our time together and never have been. I wouldn’t be able to pay him to shop with me!

  8. I’ve always need a lot of alone time, so while we spend a lot of time together, we definitely do our own thing, too. He likes to golf, so when he’s off doing that I spend time running, reading, or just relaxing on my own. And I think everyone needs time with just his/her friends (you know, those people from WAY back!) so I definitely have girl evenings and he has boy outings with his buddies.

    I get a little aggravated when he works super late, but that’s usually because I’m starving and ready for dinner!

    To echo what’s already been said, I think it’s great that you were able to identify what was bothering you and have an honest conversation with your husband about it!

  9. Yay! So glad you’re feeling better. Mark and I have been apart for over a year and it stinks. We try to email and talk on the phone every day! Now we blog together and that’s fun, too.

  10. I’m glad that you figured out what was bothering you. It’s always nice to have a friend help figure things out πŸ™‚

    I feel I have a similar feeling with my boyfriend. He’s an extrovert and loves being with others, where as I like to hang out with others but not ALL the time. So he invites people over a lot or wants to be doing something with someone else at all times. And sometimes I just want to come home to him at my home- not him and a friend. Our time not spent together is 1.) working 2.) I go to the gym or go running, he plays Ultimate Frisbee (and sometimes goes away on the weekends for tournaments) 3.) When he has friends over and I usually get online and they watch football or play video games.

  11. It’s great to hear that you’re out of your funk… and that you have someone to talk things through with.

  12. That triple chocolate cookie looks scrumptious!

Leave a Reply

