Friday at last!

Yesterday, I woke up really late again but with a few shortcuts, I was able to get out of the door on time. I am lucky to have the kind of hair cut that I can spend time on or I can wash and go and still look cute! For breakfast, I had a bowl of Post Shredded Wheat N Bran topped with walnuts, banana and plain hemp milk. I used to eat this cereal all of the time when I was on weight watchers, I had forgotten how good it was, I did not miss all of the sugar at all. And of course, I kept the portion very small in order to be hungry in just a couple of hours.

Work was good, I had lots of loose ends to tie up before the weekend so I did my best to stay off of the internet be productive. By 9:30 my tummy was rumbling and ready for a snack. I had some grapes

and a cheese stick with a handful of NUTrition nuts.

I guess my ratio of fats/carbs/protein wasn’t right because I still felt a bit hungry after finishing eat. I’m sure I will find my way soon enough. I was ready to eat again in only two andΒ a half hours but I didn’t want to get too hungry so I ate a california sushi roll topped with a little rooster sauce and the rest of the grapes.

Once again, I still felt a little hungry even after waiting about 20 minutes so I had about a third of this lovely little treat.

An honest foods choco peanut butter bar! Oh my, how I loved it. It was like a cross between a cookie and a granola bar and just a couple of bites was surprisingly filling. After eating it, I stalked Amazon.com to see how much it is in bulk πŸ™‚

One thing that I noticed today is that eating such small meals really makes me feel light. I don’t feel heavy at all after eating and my blood sugar is staying stable all day long. I think once I get the hang of the proper food combining, I will really enjoy this way of eating.

My next mini meal was a fage with the rest of the honest foods bar. I was a little worried that I wouldn’t like the texture combo since the bars are soft but I really did. And this was really filling, now I see why so many bloggers top their yogurt with bars.

After work, I headed home and hit the treadmill for 30 minutes, today, for the first time, it felt boring. Hopefully this weekend I can get outside an break it up a bit. After the treadmill and a shower, I made dinner. I cooked a couple of chicken, apple and gouda sausages that we bought from whole foods along with some sauteed kale.

AND for the first time since it began, I had the blogger secret ingredient, posted by Eating Bender,Β on hand so I made a delightful side dish. Savory roasted sweet potatoes and butternut squash! Everyone knows that both of these hearty veggies lend themselves to sweet flavors but I think they shine with savory ones as well.

Savory Roasted Sweet Potatoes and Butternut Squash

1 sweet potato, peeled and chopped into small cubes

1 small butternut squash, peeled and chopped into small cubes

3 tbsp olive oil

salt and pepper to taste

1 tsp garlic powder

1 tsp onion powder

1 tsp chili powder

dash cumin

Preheat oven to 400*. Combine all of the ingredients onto a large sheet pan and stir to combine, for best results, use your clean hands. Spread the potatoes and squash out so that they are in a single layer on the pan. Roast in the over for about 40 minutes, stirring at least 3 times. Remove from the oven and serve with ketchup. They are delicious hot or cold.

After dinner, we just wanted to relax so we watched some tv. For dessert we had some famous popcorn and went to be shortly after. Yay! The weekend is here!

QOTD: What sort of snack do you find fill you up but don’t leave you stuffed?

16 Responses

  1. Those Honest Foods bars look great! Where do you buy them? I want to try to hunt some down next time I’m in the States.
    Your kale looks so vibrant as well as the sweet potato/butternut squash combo!
    I find yogurt always does a good job of filling me up without sitting heavy…. πŸ™‚

  2. Ohh that recipe looks great!

    I love eating cottage cheese with fruit an carob chips it fills me but not stuffs me i think becuase it is hard to overeat cottage cheese!

  3. So glad that work went well!!

    Oh my, the Roasted Sweet Potatoes & Butternut Squash dish sounds DIVINE!!!! Holy yum.

    The snacks that fill me up but don’t leave me feeling stuffed = Larabars; fruit & almonds; protein shakes.

    ENJOY YOUR WEEKEND!!!!! πŸ™‚

  4. HI christy! im lexi! the one who sent you the email! i wated to thank you so so much for it! and i also mentioned you on my blog for being such an amazing person!

    and fruit usually makes me feel light (i actually have A LONG list of them, but when you binge on them, i cant POSSIBLY feel light)

    havea great day

  5. it’s great to hear that eating smaller more frequent meals is working for you and you’re enjoying it!

    i’m happy you liked that honest foods bar! i liked that one the most; the other good one out of the four kinds to me is the apple ginger…strong flavor!

    and my new fill me up don’t leave me feeling heavy snack is pb and banana…yummy!

  6. Happy weekend Christie! πŸ™‚
    I’d say yogurt, or apple and PB. Or pear and turkey slices. πŸ™‚

  7. ooooh that recipe looks amazing!!
    banana and peanut butter, all the way πŸ˜€

  8. yogurt + 1/2 a piece of fruit, a mini bar w/ HOT h20… I always drink hot water w/ sweet things (read: Apples!!)…Ever since I was little. No one in my family does it hha. Idk where it came from! But it always fills me. Ummm… Idk, I don’t really snack much, I practically NEVER have time to haha, but def drinking hot water keeps my tummy warm and happy (WITH MY FOOD, obvi.). High protein banana bread (my recipe) with hot water (hehe OR TEA! I drink hot tea LITERALLY all day long. Like 6-10 teabags w0rth!) and greek y0. Mmmm! πŸ™‚

    Greek yogurt + 1/2 an apple is always great bc I always need a sweet hint to my f00d. Like if I eat a spinach and feta chicken sausage from WF… I have to have some apple (Gingergold!!) chopped up on the side. Haha, it just satisfies me! Oh and def some TJ’s Greek t00 πŸ˜‰

  9. Oooh, that recipe sounds good!

    Snacks that keep me full, but not stuffed:

    Cheerios with fruit

    Plain Greek yogurt mixed with a tiny bit of jam and some fruit

    Fruit and cheese

  10. Wow, that looks wonderful, Christie!! Thank you so much for joining in on this week’s secret ingredient πŸ™‚ I will add you to the list!!

    Mm, that California sushi roll looks delicious – what exactly is rooster sauce?!

    I have one of those Honest Food bars ready and waiting to be eaten! I’m glad to hear that you liked it!

    Snacks that fill me up, but don’t make me stuffed include fruit (especially frozen!), small smoothies, Greek yogurt, energy bars and nuts!

  11. I enjoy mini meals myself.

    For snacks, what about fruit and peanut butter? Like half a banana with a T of PB??

    I also like z-bars. Do you like them? They’re small enough to be a good snack, but tasty, too.

  12. Oh man….those veggies look good!

    I have been wanting to try those honest bars!

  13. everything looks fatastic, as always! as for snacks, i love greek yogurt with something sweet like fruit or honey/agave/maple, and i love soy nuts!

  14. Your blogger secret ingredient recipe looks delightful. I totally wanted to get involved this time, but I haven’t yet. I guess I still have one more day… we shall see.

    For snacks I like trail mix, yogurt, fruit, anything with PB or a bar.

  15. Krista, I bought them at a local supermarket but you can also buy them on amazon.

    Jen (Eating Bender0 Rooster sauce is also known as shiracha sauce, I probably did not spell that right which is why I call it rooster sauce. It has a big rooster on the bottle, sold in the asian section of the supermarket.

  16. Chicken, apple and gouda sausages sounds AMAZING!

Leave a Reply

