I Can’t Get No…Satisfaction

I started the day yesterday with another bowl of Tj’s Honey Nut O’s topped with walnuts, banana and this time I chose plain hemp milk. I really do enjoy the plain hemp milk in my cereal, it has a nice creamy flavor without being too sweet and it is super good for you. One thing that I have noticed with this breakfast is that I get hungrier faster, probably the lack of fiber in the cereal.

Speaking of getting hungry, things didn’t go very well for me regarding lunch. I was hungry really early and went down and asked for a grilled cheese and tomato on wheat with a fruit cup. About an hour later, I hadn’t heard from or seen anyone from the kitchen. I decided that they must be busy and went to scope out the staff lunch. There was a delightful looking salad with fennel, grapes, blackberries and iceberg lettuce and though I am over salad, I was really hungry at this point. I topped it off with the house made balsamic vinaigrette and headed back up stairs.

I figured my lunch would come any minute but alas, it did not. I went down to the kitchen to find it deserted. I did find the assistant F & B manager and told him to tell chef that I would just eat some PB from my stash. And that is what I did. I had a few crackers and white chocolate dreams PB. There are no photos because my blood sugar was in the basement and I needed food ASAP.

After lunch, I still didn’t feel right, my head was swimming and I could tell that my blood sugar was not recovered. A couple of hours past before I felt OK again and then I felt ravished with hunger again. I had a fage with honey to get me through until dinner time. By the time I left work, I was in a rotten awful mood and for some reason, I just wanted to get on my treadmill. I can’t say for sure what is going on with me but I have really been finding some major stress relief in my treadmill and yoga.

So, when I got home, I hit treadmill with a sex and the city episode for right at 30 minutes. After the treadmill, I heated up a bowl of roasted veggie soup to start dinner and cooked a frozen pizza for the main dish. The pizza was an off the wall random brand that we found in Ukrop’s one day. It boasted all sorts of great things and come to find out, it tasted awful. I only ate a few bites before giving up on dinner.

After dinner, we went upstairs for some computer time and a little yoga. We did a 25 minute shoulder opening flow. This really helps with my shoulder pain and is great for building strength in the arms and shoulders.

Since I hadn’t really eaten much all day and I felt hungry, I had a bowl of Tj’s whole grain chocolate filled squares topped with hemp milk. Bleh. I did not like it but the dear husband was happy to finish it off! I ended up making an egg sandwich. After that, my stomach and mouth wre both happy!

QOTD: Do you ever have days were it seems that food just is not working out for you?

13 Responses

  1. Some days it is way too much effort to pack and plan all my meals and i just wish it was not such a process! The worst is when you pack all that food and than you dont want any of it but have to eat it!

  2. I hate when my blood sugar crashes like that!!

    I am so sorry you had an unfulfilling food day! I do have those days and I hate when it happens because I just can’t find satisfaction in anything! When this happens, I turn to my good friend oatmeal to make up for the rest of the day because it never fails to fulfill me!

  3. I hate days like that, especially when you’re at the mercy of others. I try to keep a larabar in my purse at all times for those situations. Try being the optimal word there. 😉

  4. Ah! This question totally hits home. Some days I just don’t want to eat what I have, but I don’t want to go to the store, and I want to use up what I have before buying new. It’s an annoying predicament.

    I also hate when I eat something, thinking it will keep me full and it doesn’t. That, of course, happens on the days where I don’t pack anything else snack wise and end up either a) not eating and starving or b) eating something totally not good for me.

  5. Ahh, hope your blood sugar will be steady today – hang in there, Christie!!

  6. Some days it seems like I have a need for a specific food item, but I’m not sure what it is. Those are the days where I end up eating everything in sight in some vain hope that the craving will go away. Blah! Hate days like that! Thank goodness they’re few and far between!

  7. oh yes, most days i feel like food doesn’t’ work for me! boooooo…but i always hope the next day it will. hope today is better!

  8. I have to say–those whole grain chocolate filled squares from TJ’s was like CRACK to me. I didn’t eat it in a bowl with milk, but I ate it out of the box. Besides a bowl my husband had one night after dinner, I finished the rest of the box by myself in TWO DAYS. Not mindful eating at all. Didn’t they taste like nutella to you? I don’t think I’ll be buying them again soon 🙂

  9. I try to take the time in the morning to think about what I want to eat that day and quickly plan lunch and dinner in my head. I hate when I get to work and I have NO desire to eat what I brought. That usually means I end up eating out and spending $$ and wasting calories.
    And when I’m hormonal? Watch out! I’ll try and eat you.

  10. What a bummer about lunch! I love grilled cheese and tomatoes. I definitely have days when I made my lunch the night before and then don’t want it at all the next day.

  11. sounds like things just didn’t click for you today – i’m glad you felt ok in the end though! but it’s good that you didn’t just chew away on things you didn’t want to, taste-wise – i’ve eaten so many things in the past that i regretted straight away just because the quality was poor and yet i didn’t stop. very frustrating. so good job!

  12. I do have those days! They depress me to no end!
    I’m so sorry yesterday was such a funk! But I’m THRILLED that yoga and the treadmill are bringing you stress relief. I feel that way about exercise too and it’s the best.

  13. I have those days too!
    But oh my, that pizza looks delicious! lol

Leave a Reply

