Grocery Day

We had a big day planned yesterday so I started us off with a bowl of oats. I cooked them in half soymilk, half water, mashed banana and a dash of salt. Once they were cooked, I topped my portion with homemade trail mix and almond butter. I’m not sure why but they were very filling and I was only able to eat about 2/3 of my small portion.

After breakfast, we met our friends Sarah and Francis at Starbucks. I chose a pumpkin spice latte made with soymilk. I’m not sure what everyone else got but I thought this shot would be fun.

With out Starbucks in hand, we piled into my car and headed to Trader Joe’s. It had just opened Friday and I had been so excited to go! While there, I loaded up on all sorts of goodies. I was amazed at some of the prices, goat cheese in particular stands out because it was $2.00 less per roll than our regular grocery store. I also stocked up on the TJ’s brand of greek yogurt, look for a review on that later in the week.

After TJ’s, we went to Whole Foods and once again loaded up on all sorts of good thing. While shopping, the dear husband and I tried a piece of apple cake. It was very tasty, it tasted like fall.

After our grocery store adventures, we went to Bertucci for lunch. We started off with the bread and olive oil. To. Die. For. I really paid attention to my hunger and stopped at one though because I wanted to enjoy lunch as well.

For lunch, the dear husband and I shared the portifino pizza. It had goat cheese, spinach and tomatoes. The crust was absolutely without a doubt the best thin crust I have ever had. This will be on our list of places to go again!

After lunch, we all browsed around the shops and then headed to Maggie Moo’s for a little ice cream. After my ice cream debacle on Friday night, I made a vow to only eat good quality ice cream and this fit the bill. I got a Better Batter with sprinkles, brownies and fudge. It had a witty little name but I can’t for the life of me remember it now. Maybe Sarah will chime in on the comments and remind me. This was a delightful little cup of ice cream.

After ice cream, we headed back to our side of the world, dropped them off and headed home. Once home, it took up forever to unload all of our loot. Once it was all put away, I started on dinner. I made a roasted vegetable soup with all of the veggie goodness I got from Whole Foods. I started by roasting peppers, onions, zucchini, yellow squash, carrots and butter nut squash in olive oil, garlic, cumin, chili powder, salt and pepper. Once the veggies were roasted, I combined them with veggie broth, oregano, a large can of fire roasted tomatoes and a little more mashed garlic.

Once it was dinner time, I made a small bowl of soup topped with paremsan cheese.

And the dear husband and I shared this little bowl of toasted mini whole wheat pitas (my new favorite food).

For some reason, while eating, I felt really turned off by food and didn’t finish my bowl. I’m not real sure what was going on with me but eating just didn’t feel right. I ate maybe half of my soup and two of the mini pitas.

To relax a little, I downloaded the Sex and the City movie onto my iPod and watched it on the tv in the living room. I am sure the dear husband was a little reluctant but I think he was more interested in playing with Caddie anyway, who by the way is doing very well and becoming a best friend to my Georgy kitty. Anyway, I love this movie, Sarah and I had gone to see it the day it was released in the theater with T and her best friend. It was just as good this time, I cried at all the crying parts and laughed at all the laughing parts.

By the time the movie was over, my stomach was feeling ready to eat and it really wanted PB. I had a few unphotographed mini pitas with white chocolate dreams PB along with some red grapes. I only ate a couple because once again, I felt turned off by food. It was like this weird feeling in my stomach that I have just never felt before. So, I went to bed.

QOTD: What is your favortie movie? Will your significant other watch chick flicks with you?

20 Responses

  1. OOOOH, love the little mountain of oats in your breakfast bowl – yum!!

    I went to Whole Foods yesterday too!! Such a splendid place (as is Trader Joe’s)!! Gotta love their free samples!!

    **My all-time favorite movie is “Imitation of Life” (CLICK BELOW FOR DESCRIPTION):

    http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0052918/

    While he isn’t my significant other (yet!! haha 😉 ), my dance partner and I love watching movies – he isn’t picky about them, so he’ll watch the chick flicks for sure! Yay 🙂

    By the way, I will be at my dance showcase ALL DAY today, so I will probably not be able to comment on your next post – I apologize in advance!!

  2. Your lunch looks delish.. I wonder what’s going on with your stomach? I think my favorite movie is probably What About Bob. 🙂 Rob will watch anything! But I don’t like chick flicks much so it’s kind of a nonissue at our house. 🙂

  3. I really wish we would get a Trader Joes.

    As for fav movies, I love Cabaret and Swing Kids. I’ve seen both about a trillion times.

    BTW, what’s in your trail mix?

  4. K, it had go lean crunch, dried cranberries, dried raspberries, dried cherries, chocolate chips, walnuts, cashews, macadamia nuts. I am sure I am forgetting someting, I made it over a month ago :\

  5. I wonder if you’re coming down with a little bug? That’s usually the case with me when my appetite is “off”.
    My favorite movie is The Notebook and no, my hubby won’t watch chick flicks with me….

  6. Love the travel mug shot…I definitely know which one was yours!

    I am jealous…I don’t think I will ever get a TJs in my area.

    I have several favorite movies, but my all time favorites are The Notebook, Instinct, and Legends of The Fall. My husband actually loves The Notebook and will watch it with me any time that it is on, but other chick flicks…no way!

  7. I hope your stomach feels “right” soon! 🙂

    My favorite movie of all time is “The Princess Bride” and I try not to watch it too much so that it is as wonderful as I remembered it each and every time. My top 5 favorite movies
    (not necessarily in this order…except for #1):

    1). The Princess Bride
    2). Almost Famous
    3). Clueless
    4). Monsters, Inc.
    5). Life is Beautiful

  8. I’m so jealous that you went to Trader Joes this weekend. I haven’t been able to make it there yet as we are out of town for the weekend. Although my lovely boyfriend went after work on Friday and picked me up a few treats – tofu, pumpkin bread/muffin mix, cereal, and peanut butter filled pretzels. I still want to go myself though.

    The Starbuck’s Pumpkin Spice Latte is the ultimate coffee drink. I love it. And your veggie soup looks awesome. I totally want to make some soup soon- especially since the weather is turning chilly.

    And to answer your question, my favorite movies are How to Lose a Guy in 10 days, The Notebook, and Almost Famous. Isaac is a good sport and has watched all of them with me, But I am a good sport on “his type” of movies soooo… it works out in the end.

  9. awww i looove trader joe’s! we had one in tucson (i shopped there every week) but definitely do NOT have one here in valdosta. the prices were amazing– i could get my groceries for the whole week for like $30. those were the days….
    pumpkin spice lattes are my #1 clue that it’s officially fall! gingerbread lattes mark the winter season 😀
    my favorite movies: love actually, how to lose a guy in 10 days, return to me and my big fat greek wedding.
    my hubby will watch chick movies with me only if i watch a guy movie with him (i’ve had to see alien vs. predator and other horrible movies like that).! he saw ps i love you with me in theatres but had to have 3 tequila shots at chili’s beforehand. he’s a good sport 😀
    happy sunday!

  10. i love all the reusable mugs you guys were using at starbucks! what a way to help the environment!!!

    i hope you feel better eating wise soon…no fun when you’re turned off by food!

    and i have too many favorite movies…i could seriously list probably 100…but the one i watched last night was GREAT (Chasing Liberty…LOVE MATTHEW GOODE!) and the one I’m going to watch today will be even better!!! (Annapolis…LOVE JAMES FRANCO)

    have a good sunday!

  11. Weee, I love grocery day! Heh.

    My favorite movie[s] are: Donnie Darko, The Notebook [of course], Cruel Intentions, & Alice in Wonderland.

    Jim will watch all of them with me except Alice, but that’s mostly because I annoyingly recite the entire script.

  12. I worked at Maggie Moos in college, so I should know the name of your sundae, but I’m totally pulling a blank! That place is so tasty though, and almost all of their stuff is natural! (I know cause I made the ice cream, hehe.)

    My hubby won’t sit down to watch a chick flick, but if I have one on, he’ll stop and usually get sucked in. lol.

  13. oooo shopping at tjs sounds fun!

    future husband loves chick flicks.. he likes them more than i do! we watched sex in the city last night and he cried non stop. 😛

  14. Yum – veggie soup! I’m so glad soup/stew season is back!
    The husband will watch chick flicks with me although he doesn’t enjoy them as much as me. Last night we watched Baby Mama and he claims he didn’t think it was funny, but he’s been quoting the movie all morning!

  15. That is interesting that your friends all had the same reusable mugs!

    I don’t have a movie I am obsessed with, but one I recently saw and liked was Waitress with Kerri Russel.

  16. I just found your blog, and I love it. I look forward to trying your roasted vegetable soup – it sounds so simple and delicious.

    I also love Starbuck’s soy pumpkin spice lattes, they are my must-have in the fall/winter season.

    As for favorite movies, I have quite a few. I love the classic romantics and anything mindlessly-girly. Love Story, Roman Holiday, Belle de jour, La Vie en Rose, Paris je T’aime, Sabrina, Paris when it Sizzles, Out of Africa, etc. Though, my current favorite, Sex and the City! 🙂

  17. I think the flavor is better batter boogie board. MM definitely beats out friendlys!!! The drive to Com20 is worth it for some good ice cream 🙂

    I think FJ has seen way more chick flicks than I have. There are only a handful I have been able to stomach. My Best Friend’s Wedding kills me with the lobster oven mitts during the song number.

  18. Your blog is great! My fav movie is Sense & Sensability (the Emma Thompson version). I also love the recent Pride & Prejudice. And The Shawshank Redemption is a classic.

Leave a Reply

