Was it really Tuesday?

I think I must be making some sort of record in my personal “what time I woke up”book because I woke up on time again yesterday! I’m getting better at this, I guess being depressed was impacting my life much more than I realized. Now that I am feeling better, all sorts of things are looking up!

For breakfast, I had a bowl of live active cereal topped with a banana, walnuts and hemp milk. For the past couple of days, I have been using the hemp milk and wondering why I didn’t like it much this go round. I think this time I bought vanilla which seems to make a big difference. Next time, I will make sure to buy the plain.

For lunch at work, I ate the staff lunch…er…attempted to eat the staff lunch. It was some sort of veggies, shrimp and rice with a cucumber salad. I ate the cucumber salad but the other stuff was just plain gross.

With only a few bites of the main course, I was hungry within an hour. My work pantry came to the rescue! I had a few kashi crackers and a teaspoon or five two of white chocolate dreams PB. This did the trick, it even got me through dinner without a snack!

For dinner, I was feeling inspired by the leftover chicken in my fridge. I made quesadilas with a “what I have on hand plus a quick trip to the grocery store” twist.  I used whole wheat tortillas and topped them with shredded chicken, crispy bacon, caramalized balsamic onions, mozzarella cheese, goat cheese and fresh spinach.

On the side, I served local apple butter for dipping. Oh so good!

For dessert, I had some of the choclate and hazelnut bar that the dear husband brought home to me. I hadn’t had any milk chocolate in a while so this seemed surprisingly sweet. I enjoyed it, none the less 🙂

QOTD: For some reason, my vegetable desire in really low right now, I normally get plenty but lately, they just don’t appeal to me. I think my main problem is that I have had enough of salads. How do I get my veggie mojo back?

20 Responses

  1. I love, love, love apple butter.

    You know, occassionally I’ll get burnt out on salads. That’s usually when I go to my ol’ dinner standbys that don’t seem veggie-arific but they are: stirfry with rice noodles and/or whole-wheat pasta w/broccoli. When veggies aren’t the main attraction and are mixed in with something else tasty, I barely even notice them. And bam! Mojo back. 🙂

  2. That dinner is beautiful. You’re such the gourmet!
    I’m w/ fit bottom. Mix them in so they’re not really the focal point of the dish. Also try crudites dipped in things. I really like peanut butter and hummus, but I also have had fage with ranch dressing powder and salsa. Those are pretty good, too.

  3. I think you should roast veggies! That’s what I do when I’m sick of salads.

  4. spinach in your smoothies!!!!!!!!!!!!

  5. Gorgeous breakfast!

    Sorry about the gross lunch 😦 Still LOOKS nice though!!

    APPLE BUTTER!!!!!!!!! **swoons**

    I agree with Caitlin’s comment above: green smoothies are the BEST!!

    **May I humbly suggest how I make my green smoothies??:

    – 1 cup hempmilk

    – 1 banana

    – large handful of greens (spinach or kale are the best choices)

    – 1/2 cup blueberries (or other berries of your choice)

    – 4 tablespoons (or 1 serving) of hemp protein powder (Living Harvest brand!!)

    Blend all ingredients until smooth – enjoy!

  6. I would definitely go with Caitlin’s suggestion. Hide it in somewhere so you don’t know you’re eating it just yet… then maybe it will be bring back the craving for veg?

    I realized that I never responded to your “Click Here” question that you posted on my blog. So sorry! I just write out “click here” and then highlight and then put in my hyperlink. Nothing too special 🙂

  7. Holy cow, that quesadilla looks amazing!

    When I get sick of salads, I also try and just add veggies into everything that I’m eating.

    Don’t forget, the seasons are changing, and if you want to eat with the seasons, then you aren’t going to have as much raw foods, and you’re going to want to roast more veggies.

    What brand Hemp Milk do you get? I love Living Harvest (must try their protein powder, thanks Veggie Girl), and I hate hate hate hate Hemp Bliss. Blech.

  8. Glad you are feeling better!

    I like plain hemp milk better in my cold cereals but hte vanilla in my oatmeal!!

    I love apple butter!

  9. Rose, I commented on your blog but I think you have the wrong Christie. It was probably the one over a sports nutrition living.

    Mon, I am not sure which brand it is, it is in a purple box. I will have to make note if your brand recommendations.

    Thanks for the great smoothie recipe, Veggie Girl!

  10. YUM YUM quesadillas!!! they look fabulous!! apple butter is a GENIUS idea for a dipping sauce.
    i haven’t tried hemp milk but i’ve heard good things about it– maybe if i can find it here, i’ll give it a whirl 😀
    when i get stuck in a veggie rut, it’s usually because of salads, too. one thing that helps me get out of it is to take the time to cook veggies– instead of throwing raw ones on a salad. if i sautee zucchini, squash, sundried tomato and onion and put it in an omelet (or on a wrap) i’ll always want to eat it- same thing goes for sweet potatoes. i’ll bake sweet potato fries with steak seasoning and paprika and they’re sooooo good.
    happy wednesday!

  11. I try to put veggies and/or fruit in everything! Sauces, soups, salsa, wraps. My son really disliked veggies so I can get real creative with my vegetable additions! Remember, beans are veggies, too!

    Your dinner looks fabulous!

  12. I would suggest trying new veggies or new ways to make the.. each week buy a new veggie and find a way to use it so your exicited for the recipe!

  13. i tried the white chocolate pb with kashis yesterday too, and i was pleasantly surprised at how well they went together!
    apple butter is one of my favorite things EVER. i almost grabbed some at kroger yesterday- i might need to go back and get some!

  14. I agree 100% with Christie. I get burnt out on salads too, so when that happens, I try to make a point of building an entire meal around a vegetable – squash, eggplant, etc.

  15. That quesadilla looks amazing!

    A big pile of roasted vegetables always makes me crave veggies more, especially during fall and winter. And veggie based soups and curries are great ways to at more veggies without downing a big pile of raw greens.

  16. The very last thing on my huge list of blogger-food items that I have to try is all the PB&Co peanut butters. I reallllly want the Dark Chocolate one & the White Chocolate one… Mmmm.. I guess I’ll have to check The Fresh Market. They’re the only ones that had the PB Larabars & the granola planks… and my chocolate granola. Yum!

  17. that quesadilla looks fantastic!!! Roast your veggies, that’ll get you going again 😉

  18. Those quesadillas look really good! I’ve never tried apple butter before but what a great idea to use it as a dipping sauce for the quesadillas!

  19. Oh and about making veggies more appealing when you are tired of them: definitely put them in omelettes, like Fitnessista said. And also soups and stews are one way for me to eat veggies I don’t like, since they don’t have such a strong taste. Oh, and pizza topped with veggies is always good!

  20. Christie,
    With cooler fall weather, I’d recommend some really great rattatouille over quinoa or couscous or some other grain to boost your veggie intake.

    Also, roast yourself a huge batch of veggies, carrots, broccoli, onion, beets, zucchini, green beans, add mushrooms toward the end, tossed with evoo and rosemary, sea salt, and you’re good to go. Goes great with some grilled chicken/fish. Or include some potatoes in the veggies and top with melted soy cheese.

    Just my 2 cents worth. The quesedillas look fantastic. (I love me some goat cheese.)

Leave a Reply

