The Best Day of the Week

Yesterday, I slept in until almost 7! I spent the first part of the morning in blogland and finally made breakfast around 8. I made whole wheat pancakes from a mix that we bought on our trip to Smith Mountain Lake back in August. I normally make pancakes from scratch but I really wanted to try out that mix since it was local, at least to where we were on vacation. Along with the pancakes, I made scrambled eggs with mostly egg whites. On the side, I had a little dish of real maple syrup. I like the syrup on the side because I don’t like it when the pancakes soak up the syrup. The pancakes were good but an addition of nuts and some vanilla extract would have made them better.

We relaxed for a bit after breakfast; once my breakfast was settled, I did another practice from the Power Yoga for Everybody Dvd. This was a 65 minute flow for balancing energies. I really enjoyed the first 45 minutes of the practice but the last 20 was a little too low key for my taste. I am not into forward bends that last for more than a few breaths and these were right on the verge of being like a yin pratice. I still have one more practice to try on this particular dvd and if I don’t like it, I think I am going to get rid of it.

Once my yoga practice was done, I did a little housework and then settled onto the sofa with my book. I read for a couple of hours before making lunch. I had been really cold most of the morning so I knew that soup would be just the thing. I took some of the soup I made last weekend out of the freezer, heated it up and topped it with parmesan cheese.

On the side, I made a whole wheat yeast roll to round out a delightful lunch.

For my after lunch treat, I took a nap! i guess my body needed the rest because I fell right asleep while watching tv. I slept for about an hour and then did some laundry. I also helped the dear husband through a yoga practice for runners. He is starting to have problems with really tight muscles and yoga is just the thing for that. Once he was all loose and limber, I put the chicken in the oven for dinner and then hopped on the treadmill for about 30 minutes.

Once the chicken was done, I served over barley with sauteed kale on the side. For the kale, I used onion, garlic, salt, lemon pepper, crushed red pepper and a dash of nutmeg. It was a great Sunday dinner.

After dinner, we relaxed a bit and then had dessert; I had a fage with honey and walnuts. I finally made my way to bed when I was falling asleep watching the Emmy’s. My long weekend was great and I think I am energized and ready for another week at work.

QOTD: If you practice yoga, is there a particular style you prefer? Mine is vinyasa and I think I would love ashtanga if I tried it. I like my practice to be active and to get the warm from the inside out feeling.

13 Responses

  1. pancakes! your dinner looks like such a great end to the weekend too. i don’t know eough about yoga to be able to contribute…. i wish i did though!

  2. What a relaxing, fab day. I love that you made a roll just for lunch. 🙂
    I practice ashtanga (first series only and maybe a couple poses from second), yin, and power/vinyasa. I think you’d love ashtanga. It makes me sweat like a man!

  3. What a lovely Sunday you had!!

    I’m swooning over that garlic-kale side dish – YUM!

    Vinyasa is definitely a favorite yoga style of mine.

  4. oh, yummy pancakes! what great sunday morning!

    i do yoga, but i have no idea what kind it is…it’s just a dvd. haha. but i do it every once in while and it kills me every time because my muscles have always been tight…and i did keep it up for a while hoping it would help my running and loosen me up…but it didn’t. booo…

    have a good monday!

  5. Your pictures are awesome! The pancake picture has me wanting some right now.

    Glad you got some much needed rest!

    I am a Pilates girl. I have never been able to get into yoga.

  6. Ashtanga is my favorite type of yoga. I love it because I feel like I’m getting a great workout in and I always feel so strong and powerful. I also like how it’s the same sequence every time so I always know what is coming next and can get lost in my practice rather than having to pay attention to what the instructor is telling me to do.

    Dinner looks good–I’ve never made barley before, I need to give it a try soon!

  7. That sounds like a great end to the weekend!

    I love hatha best…not too hard, not too easy. 🙂

  8. What a great, restful Sunday. Perfect. Beautiful pancake.

    I love vinyasa flow styles yoga the best. I also started doing this other type called Forrest Yoga (named after Anna Forrest), which is like vinyasa, but with more emphasis on strenght and hot, but not as hot as Bikrahm and I really enjoyed that, too. I’ve done Bikrham and hated it the first time, but after a few times, I came to appreciate it for what it had to offer.

  9. Sigh, come make me some whole wheat yeast rolls. I loooooove bread. Now I’m craving yeast rolls. Thanks a lot, Christie.

  10. Barley….mmmm..I LOVE barley!
    What a great idea to put the maple syrup on the side! I hate when it gets all soaked up because I feel like there’s none there. On the side solves that problemo!

  11. I am doing good if I get any form of yoga in hahah I prefer pilates as i think i am going to sign up for some lessons with the reformer to see how that goes

  12. no wonder you were sleepy – those Emmys were a major snoozefest!

  13. Soggy pancakes are the worst. Mmmm…pancakes. I may have to make some this weekend!

Leave a Reply

