Relieved

Instead of getting up easier as the week progresses, it has been just the opposite this week. You guessed it, I got up really late. The morning was super rushed so I had a quick bowl of cereal for breakfast. I had kashi autumn wheat topped with a little trail mix and hazelnut milk. It was a fast breakfast but it was mighty tasty!

Thankfully, work wasn’t the madhouse it had been so I was able to get lots of my piles taken care of. For lunch, I had a chef salad, you know, the one with turkey and ham and cheese. It was topped with a dressing that was way too strong on the garlic and onions.

Following lunch, I had the last of the ritter dark chocolate with whole hazelnuts. And a couple of hours later, I had some fage with honey. I didn’t photograph either because you guys have seen both before and I am trying not to be rigid in my food blogging behaviors.

Shortly after my snack, I got the wonderful news from my doctor that the results of my blood test were normal. I can’t tell you the relief that washed over me, I felt like the burden of 100 had been lifted from my chest. Had the results gone the other way, my life would have been forever changed and I was so scared. Now, I can breath easier and hopefully some of my exhaustion and lack of appetite will subside as well.

After work, we met our friends Sarah and FJ for sushi. It was a new place that none of us had ever tried and we are always in the market for good sushi. When we got there, they had already started with edamame and then we ordered tempura shrimp with creamy shriacha sauce. For dinner, we had a 007 roll, a volcano roll and a malibu roll. It was all really tasty and we will be back there for sushi again sun. Sorry for the lack of pictures, it was really dark in there!

dark edamame

dark edamame

For dessert, we all headed over to Cold Stone Creamery for some ice cream. I got cake batter ice cream with cake chucnks and fudge swirl. O.M.G. was is ever delicious. It took me back to childhood birthday parties!AfterΒ our little ice cream party, we headed home and hit the hay.

QOTD: What food takes you back to good childhood memories?

10 Responses

  1. Glad to read that work wasn’t too crazy; and I’m SOOOO relieved that your test results were normal!!! Hooray!!! Thank goodness.

    A 007 roll?? That is perhaps the coolest sushi variety name I’ve ever heard, haha πŸ˜€

    The foods that take me back to good childhood memories = My mom’s stuffed cabbages and pineapple-upside-down-cake (which are now BOTH enjoyed in my household in the vegan versions – yay! πŸ™‚ ).

  2. Glad your test results came back normal!

    The salad looks so flavorful!

    That ice cream has me drooling.

    My mom’s spaghetti and cannolis that she makes every Christmas bring back childhood memories.

  3. That ice cream look awesome! YUM!
    Funny enough, the food that brings back childhood memories for me is soft boiled eggs with toast “soldiers”! I requested this for breakfast many a morning and my mom obliged! I was a picky eater so I think she was just happy to see me eat something! She use to cut the toast into strips for easier dipping…hence the toast soldiers!

  4. It’s funny, I was going to say my mom’s cooking, too! She’s from Hungary, so there were a lot of stews and goulashes around.

    Of course, I tend to revert back to my typical eating style when I’m at my mom’s–that is, FAST. SO strange, I can eat slowly and chew thoroughly at home, but when at my mom’s, I tend to inhale my food.

  5. YAY about the blood test! That’s great news.

    Milkduds take me back…and twizzlers…and oddly enough eating CornFlakes right out of the box. My family loves the carbs and sugar. πŸ™‚

  6. darn…sorry the dressing wasn’t very good! at least the salad looks awesome!!

    haha oh coldstone. oh cake better. oh heaven!

    HAPPY THURSDAY Christie!!!!

  7. I am so relieved that your test results came back the way you had hoped!! Here’s to returning appetites!

    I haven’t tried that autumn wheat cereal but I love shredded wheat so I might have to pick up a box!

    Wow, that Coldstone ice cream looks like heaven in a cup. I love the cake batter – it’s my favorite!

    Good childhood memories? Hm…probably candy and Oreo cookies, which I used to down by the sleeve with a glass of milk πŸ™‚

  8. What a relief! That’s great news Christie. πŸ™‚
    You photograph food BEAUTIFULLY. Your pictures are always so stunning!
    Love Coldstone. Did you know there’s one within 2 minutes (driving) of my house? DANGER!
    What a great question. Probably s’mores. I used to make them over my mom’s electric coil stove, that’s how much I love them.

  9. Congrats on the great news re: the med. test, Christie. My family is kinda into food, so there are lots of memories. Every Sunday we had dinner at grandma and grandpa’s house and they had this vent thing in the kitchen so when you walked in the house you smelled all that was cooking inside. It smelled like fresh bread and garlic and I love it.

  10. Coldstone is amazing! My favorite is the Nutter Butter mixed with Chocolate Cake Batter.
    Your breakfast looks really good; it definitely makes me want to buy some Kashi cereal!
    I’m glad your blood test came back normal. To be honest I don’t really know what you’re talking about because I don’t read your blog much, but I’m still glad!

Leave a Reply

