On The Road Again

I woke up really late yesterday because I tossed and turned most of the night. By the time I woke up I was really hungry. I knew that it would take some time to get our things together and out for breakfast so I had a bora bora bar to hold me over. It is a fruit and nut bar very similar to a KIND bar only smaller. Along with the bar, I had some coffee with whole milk. I normally drink coffee black but the hotel coffee was vile.

Once packed and ready to go, we made our way to another place that I can’t get at home. Bojangles. The height of crap food but oh so good, on occasion anyway. I had a chicken biscuit, fries and a sweet tea. Because of the bar and coffee earlier, I wasn’t actually very hungry and ended up giving most of my breakfast to the dear husband. The biscuit was also a bit overdone so the taste wasn’t quite what I was looking for.

Once our bellies were full, we headed back to VA. Once home, I did some housework and then made a pot of lentil soup for lunch. I used Jenna’s recipe as a starting point, made a few adjustments according to what I had on hand and it turned out great. My changes were very minor, the major one being that I used broth instead of water to cook the lentils and then I finished cooking the lentils in the stew. The dear husband and I both really liked it!

We had it with a slice of this lovely bread from our trip to the Farmer’s Market on Saturday.

After lunch, we kind of laid around a and watched tv for a bit. Once his food was settled, the dear husband went out for his long run. I took advantage of the alone time by doing a 55 minute yoga dvd and then spending some time in blogland. I also had some of this chocolate bar.

Just before he returned, I starting making dinner. I made chicken cacciatore with some local peppers, an onion, mushrooms and marinara sauce. I served it over brown rice and topped it with parmesan cheese. It was very tasty and so easy to make.

After dinner, we shared the raspberry tart we bought from the Farmer’s Market. It was so good but would have been better topped with a little vanilla ice cream. After dessert, we just hung out with the television and then turned in. It was a lovely weekend.

QOTD: How do you spend your alone time?

15 Responses

  1. all these farmer market buys look so good… when i spend time alone i usually am reading nutrition related stuff/ on blogs or praying…. all are great ways for me to de stress!

  2. aww im glad you had such a nice weekend!! I’ve never tried those Bora Bora bars! They look yummy.

    I spend my alone time stretching, cooking, blogging, reading mags +books +blogs, cleaning, and walking. 🙂

    happy Monday !!!! 🙂 Have a good one!

  3. readingreadingreading.

    devouring all the books I have stacked up in my office/room/hallway….

  4. Looks as though we were both making lentil soup yesterday!! Yours looks delish.

    I like to spend my alone time cooking, working out, cleaning, reading, and blogging

  5. oh yea, what did you think of the Bora Bora bar, I’ve only tried the Cinnamon Raisin flavor – I wasn’t that impressed.

  6. Reading, baking!

    The lentil soup looks good!

  7. Oooh, I love that you added lentils to the stew – yum!!

    That raspberry tart looks INSANELY good.

    How I spend my “me time” – reading magazines and “for fun” novels, walking, stretching, yoga, listening to my i-Pod, blogging….

  8. Ha! My question today is kinda similar to yours! You know what they say about great minds…
    I love that tart. And your take on the lentil soup is making me think I should try it.
    I spend alone time beautifying, cleaning, working out, reading, cooking, petting my animals, and pulling weeds. 🙂
    Have a beautiful day!

  9. If I’m alone I’ll usually read or do some yoga, like you. OR I watch The Hills or anything else really girly that my husband would roll his eyes at. hehe.

  10. I have always wondered about the Bora Bora bars. I will have to try them. The stew looks so yummy!

    I like to do lots of things when I have alone time: blog/read blogs, read magazines and drink coffee, pilates, baking/cooking, and watch Lifetime movies!

  11. We have Bojangles all over the place here. I always thought it was some ghetto place, because most of them are set up inside gas stations… Weird.

  12. You just posted my perfect post! It had three of my favorite things: Bora Bora bars (you’re the only other person besides me that I’ve seen blog about these), Dark chocolate Ritter bars w/hazelnuts, and chicken cacciatore! Then to top it off you ask about alone time?! As a married only child, I seriously relish my alone time, so when the hubby is gone, I fill the house with music and do whatever the hell I want to do – usually cooking and catching up on books or DVRed TV shows.

  13. Hi Christie!

    It sounds like you had a lovely weekend and all the food pictures look to die for!

    Because I have 2 kids (9 & 6) I don’t ever really get alone time! That’s why I go home on my lunch to spend the hour ALONE on the treadmill! It’s so peaceful…I can watch what I want and I don’t have to worry about bickering kids and who they might open the front door to!

    Krista

  14. I’ve never tried the Bora Bora bars before — it looks yummy!

    That lentil soup looks amazing, as does that fresh bread! I just love fresh bread from the bakery — so much better than bagged bread at the grocery store!

    AND I Ritter dark chocolate and chicken cacciatore!! What a great day of food!

    I spend my alone time blogging and reading blogs, for the most part these days! But I also like to do some cooking/baking, reading (books and magazines) and working out! Oh, and sometimes a little TV sneaks in there 😉

Leave a Reply

