Saturday, NC Style

I woke up at the crack of dawn, yesterday. I never really sleep very well when I am not at home in my own bed. I drank hotel coffee and spent some time in the blogosphere until the dear husband woke up. For breakfast, we went to Starbucks. We had the oatmeal topped with brown sugar, dried fruit and nuts and we split a fruit stella for crumbling on top. On the side was a soy latte. I was really surprised at the oatmeal, it was really creamy and delicious. Next time, I will skip the brown sugar because it was a little sweet for my breakfast taste.

We met up with my mom and my sister to go the the NC State Farmer’s Market. We walked around and tried lots of samples. I had a sample of a peach, a purple scuppernong grape, watermelon, pecan pie, homemade granola and apple cider.  I just love the Farmer’s Market, we ended up with some fresh made local honey wheat bread, brownies, pecan pie and raspberry tart. And on the healthier side, we bought a watermelon and a bag of green and purple scuppernongs. It was a fantastic trip!

After the Farmer’s Market, we headed out for some shopping. With fall coming, I am in desperate need of some work clothes. For lunch, we at the Le Petite Bistro. I had a pesto chicken sandwich on whole grain ciabatta bread. It had pesto, roasted red peppers, tomato, lettuce, provolone and sliced chicken. On the side, I had Greek salad. This was a great lunch and exactly what I was in the mood for.

After a little more shopping, we had another Starbucks. This time, I got a tall iced americano which I topped with half and half and a packet of sugar in the raw.

Once our shopping adventures were complete, we headed back to my parents house to pick up my Dad for dinner. We went to The Peddler which is a local steakhouse. It is a tablecloth and candle kind of place so I didn’t take any pictures. We started with the Peddler Sampler which had onion rings, fried mushrooms and fried cheese; I had one of each. For dinner, I had salad loaded with veggies, a sprinkle of cheese and a smidge of bacon. I also had prime rib and a baked sweet potato. It was a fabulous dinner, it is one of my families favorite places.

After dinner, we made our way back to the hotel to settle in for the night. For dessert, we had one of the brownies from the Farmers Market. Without a doubt, it was the richest fudgiest brownie I have ever eaten in my entire life. It is a very good thing that I don’t know how to make brownies that good.

Brownies were followed by a little Food Network and then we hit the hay. We had a lovely day with my family and I can’t wait until our next visit.

QOTD: How do you enjoy spending the day with your family?

11 Responses

  1. I always wanted to know how the Sbucks oatmeal was!! Glad to know it’s creamy!! It’s nice to know that stores are offering lighter & healthier fare…especially being that as a skater, I am often traveling all over (and fortunately I can hopefully always find a Starbucks)!

    I love farmers markets too! That picture is awesome. We don’t have a good one around here. At least everything was really expensive and it seemed like it attracted a more affluent crowd. Not a place a poor student like me can get very good deals!! Grrr.

    That sounds like such a pleasant and fun day! And that brownie truly does look sooo decadent. Ending the day with brownies and Food Network sounds pretty fabulous and perfect to me!!

    As for when I’m with my family…..we usually just all hang out and keep it low key. Sometimes going for a walk together…or just hanging out around the house. We don’t get to see each other often, so it’s really special when we do. Ugh.. now I miss them! 😦

    Anywho, have a fab Sunday Christie!!! 🙂

  2. Oh goodness, same here – I simply cannot get a proper night’s sleep when I’m away from the comforts of my own bed at home.

    Starbucks serves oatmeal?? Interesting!!

    WOW that farmers market looks amazing – I too love visiting them. And score on that brownie!! Yum!! 🙂

    Food Network = one of my top-favorite channels, hands down.

    How I enjoy spending the day with my family = Watching movies, going for walks, having Family Dinner Nights at home, shopping, traveling, etc. As I’m sure you can tell from my blog posts, I’m very close with my family, so we always spend as much time together as we can (since we all have on-the-go crazy schedules, we make the best of the time we have to spend together).

  3. I was curious about the Starbucks Oatmeal. I may have try it as a treat sometime. There is my favorite traveler mug again!

    The Farmer’s Market looks awesome and you got so many yummy food items.

    I love when my family is sitting around after a meal talking about life and memories and drinking coffee.

  4. Ohh isnt it nice that starbucks now has that option althought it is much better for my wallet to pck food in advanced but it is great they heave healtheri options. Farmers Markets are the best but i often end up consming too much granola and stuff that adds up.. I would def be eating that dessert you got too that looks great!

  5. wow, that farmers market looks amazing! wish i had big ones like that around here!

    and your brownie looks AMAZING! so jealous!

    when i’m with my family i love to make sure we have a family dinner…because our dinner convo is always absolutely HILARIOUS. the way my dad puts it, “the motto here is that anything flys. you can talk about anything you want, no matter how weird. oh, and you’re not allowed to leave my table hungry.”

    happy sunday!

  6. What a lovely day! I always liking playing tennis with my family or just sitting around drinking coffee and cutting it up. 🙂

    And what are green and purple scuppernongs?! That Farmers’ Market looked fabulous!

  7. Scuppernongs are grapes that I am assuming are in NC only. I have never seen them anywhere accept there. The skins are very thick and the insides are very sweet. You squeeze the inside into you mouth and toss the skin into the compost. They are awesome!

  8. I was going to get that oatmeal this morning, but I got the apple bran muffin instead. I saw the oatmeal they use, and it was just little instant packets… WTF?! I thought they at least would make it from scratch or something. Pshhhhhh. I can make instant at home!

  9. i am SO jealous of the market!! i so wish there was one in london i could go to. the brownie looks absolutely divine. mouth watering!!!! spending time with my family eating a big, share-from-the-centre meal and chatting never gets old!

  10. You’re the first person I’ve seen try oat the oats. Very exciting! Haha – that brownie does look rich.

  11. That Farmer’s Market looks awesome! That brownie looks amazing – good choice!

Leave a Reply

