Headed Home

Yesterday, I started the day with a nice bowl of kashi autumn wheat topped with a little granola, cranberry trail mix and oat milk. The oat milk seemed really sweet with the autumn wheat so I think it is better suited for oats rather than a sweetened cereal. I was really thinking it would be nice inย coffee. With the exception of lattes,ย  I generally drink coffee black but I might give the oat milk thing a try. But getting back to the topic, I really enjoyed the variety of nuts and fruits in the cereal and it was very filling.

Work was a madhouse and before I knew it, it was lunch time. Today, staff lunch was a baked potato bar! So exciting! The topping choices were endless but I settled on cheese sauce, loads of broccoli, fresh made salsa, a little chopped bacon and a dollop of sour cream. I really enjoyed this lunch very much and told chef that he could do it every other day and I would be very pleased.

Shortly after lunch, it was time for me to go home. I was taking a half day because the dear husband and I were heading to NC for a visit with my family. Once I got home, I did a little laundry, some packing and a quick trip to Target. I had a snack a little before we hit the road of a new yogurt find, Skyris. It is from iceland and could put fage out of business. I topped it with a honey drizzle and more of the cranberry trail mix.

We hit the road and made our way down to NC. We arrived just in time for dinner at the BBQ place that my little sister works at. Being from NC, I am very picky about BBQ and it is a must eat while visiting the family. The people in VA just don’t know good BBQ! ๐Ÿ˜‰ I had the BBQ sandwich combo, health food at it’s finest. A BBQ sandwich with coleslaw, crispy french fries and a sweet iced tea.

My mom shared her hushpuppies.

I don’t get the have NC BBQ very often and this really hit the spot, even my native VA husband prefers it. My sister assured us she would have a pint ready for us when it is time to go home!

After dinner, we stopped by Target because on the way down, I realized that I had left my camera cord at home. How could I possibly food blog without pictures?? After Target we headed to our hotel and settled in for the night. A fun and exciting day is ahead!

QOTD: Is there a regional food that is a must have for you?

19 Responses

  1. Bagels… I’ll eat the amazing ones made in my hometown or in the city… nowhere else! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Glad you got to enjoy your BBQ!

  2. I think I need to try some oat milk, I love all the milk alternatives, but I get tired of them easily. Some work better in coffee than others.

    Have a great time on your trip!

    I love to get Rita’s Italian Ice when I visit my sister in Florida. They definitely don’t have that here in Texas.

  3. i want to try that skyris yogurt so badly! haven’t seen it anywhere though! : (

  4. everytime i go visit my mom in tennessee, she makes this amazing southern food (but non fried) spread… pinto beans, corn bread, green beans, roasted chicken… ohmigod i could die just thinking about it now!

  5. I love how colorful your breakfast was!! Looks like autumn foliage ๐Ÿ™‚

    Happy Saturday!

  6. I want to try skyris soooooo bad. I’ve heard rave reviews about it nonstop. You found it at Target? I guess I’ll have to go there & see for myself. Sigh.

    You’re breaking my grocery budget, lady!

  7. That BBQ looks fabulous… my local “must” is a toss up between a piece of stuffed chicago pizza or, in all honesty, a bagel from a local Jewish bakery. Neither one is particularly good for me, but sometimes they’re a must for my mental sanity!

  8. Before I became vegetarian I used to love pulled BBQ sandwiches – I think I am more of a VA BBQ girl though.

    Question of the day-
    I don’t know if you have ever visited Fredericksburg VA- but the regional food that I can’t live without is there, at this little ice cream shop called Carl’s Icecream. They only have 3 flavors- chocolate, strawberry, and vanilla. But it’s soft-serve with the old fashioned machines and it is sooo good. If you ever find yourself in Fred – you must stop by.

  9. Your breakfast looks amazing – the texture and colour of the trail mix in the bowl is beautiful! I can only imagine how great it tasted!

    And the bbq! SOOO yum!!!!

    When I go back to the town I grew up in, Beausejour, Manitoba (only 40 minutes from me now in Winnipeg), I have to get a soft ice cream at the Beasejour Dairy Bar. I had it all the time growing up. My fave is a medium chocolate dipped in crushed oreos! It’s been a couple years since I’ve been back to have it – perhaps we need to head out there before the snow flies!

  10. I’m from Northern Virginia, so the food around here is to eclectic to have a very distinct genre. SO…I would say that I’m partial to local ice cream shops.

    In Alexandria, VA: The Dairy Godmother. Different featured flavored custard of the day. Fun to check “what’s the flavor today?” ๐Ÿ™‚

    http://thedairygodmother.com/fotd.asp

    In Washington, DC: Max’s Best Ice Cream. Not too far from the National Cathedral. Max’s Spicy Pumpkin is an absolute MUST in the fall.

    In Trenton, NJ (where my in laws live): Halo Pub. Their Chocolate Peanut butter is the best I’ve ever had.

  11. I’ve never heard of that yogurt, but I like Bjork! (Yuk yuk) That BBQ looks so stinkin’ good. How fun to be back w/ your fam!
    My fave regional food is Pacific Northwest salmon. Nothing else compares.

  12. You should come to Kansas City for BBQ. It trumps! I swear. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I’m gonna keep my eye out for that yogurt…is it any cheaper than Fage?

  13. Your breakfast looks so good…and colorful! I’m gonna have to pick me up some of that trail mix!

    Krista

  14. Jordan, I got the yogurt at Whole Foods. I have never seen and greek style at Target.

    Jen, Is is much cheaper than Fage, 1.25 instead of 1.75

  15. I’m from New Jersey and LOVE Pork Roll! I don’t eat it very often at all, but I know if I moved away I’d crave it. ๐Ÿ˜€

  16. that yogurt looks amazing. I’m new to your blog, but it is very enjoyable. The way you’ve organized things is just so pleasant.

  17. I know I’m late (out of town all weekend;) but my local food must-have is a crab melt sandwich in my hometown of Pacifica CA. It’s rich, it’s fattening, and half is enough. BUT: OMG. Grilled crab salad on San Francisco sourdough. It’s wonderful.

  18. My favorite regional food is definitely tex-mex. Mexican food in Oregon is pretty bad (although we do have one place that we like) but it is definitely not like what I remember from Texas. Whenever I’m home it’s always the first thing I eat!

  19. I LOVE that yogurt ๐Ÿ™‚ the vanilla flavor, too! wish it wasn’t so expensive…

Leave a Reply

