Thank You

Before I get into the food, I would just like to say that I have awesome readers. In the midst of my emotional meltdown, I felt that I had landed myself into a community of perfect eaters. I thought that no one understood the pain that is so tightly tied to food in my life. But alas, I was wrong and I am thankful. You are a wonderful group of people and I appreciate your support more than I could ever express in words. So, as my title says, Thank You.  And thank you,  Jordan, for reminding me that I am not a Robot 😉

Yesterday started out pretty rough. I was exhausted, hungry and my eyes were puffy. I thought of calling in sick and then it dawned on me that if I did, I would probably just wallow in my own self pity all day. So, I got out of bed and started my day. For breakfast, I had a bowl of live active harvest nut cereal topped with oat milk and a very rip banana. And I know I have said this two or three times by now, but wow, I really like oat milk. How will I ever decide which non dairy milk I like best?

When I got to work, everyone was looking at me funny and asking me what was wrong. I’m sure my puffy eyes were giving away my secret of a bad night. I stood as tall as my  five foot two body could and pasted a smile on my face and kept going. By the time lunch arrived at my desk, I was knee deep in work and have a billion things to do. I am not really sure what to call today’s “chef” salad. It had all sorts of veggies and chopped ahi tuna and a dressing that I couldn’t peg. It was good but with my constant interruptions, I didn’t really have time to enjoy it.

A couple of hours later, my stomach started to growl and I knew I wanted to eat them because I wanted to be hungry for my shopping trip to whole foods. I know that sounds strange but today I read a post on one of my favorite blogs about really being hungry and what it really means. He had a guest writer and she said that you should shop hungry because you will buy real food, not a bunch of crap. So, I wanted to put the theory to the test. But more about that in a moment, for now, I had a cashew cookie larabar which was fantastic.

As planned, I went to Whole Foods after work to pick up the things needed for next weeks menu. Sadly, my larabar kept me feeling satisfied so I wasn’t actually hungry when I went into the store. To be honest, I am really not sure why I wasn’t hungry, but I wasn’t. In the store, I was picking up some fage and two ladies stopped me to inquire about it. We had a nice long chat about how to eat and eating healthy in general. I felt proud at how knowledgeable I really am about food.

After my shopping, I headed home. I talked to the dear husband and discovered that I had accidently frozen dinner. So, we came up with a differnt plan but it ended up working out just as well. I made the fresh whole wheat roasted vegetable ravioli’s from Whole Food and topped them with marinara sauce made with this weeks secret ingredient. Now, my way of using the secret ingredient was by opening a jar of whole foods brand marinara sauce but there really was a recipe I made with tomatoes, I just froze it by accident. But I digress. The raviolis were really good and will make it back into my shopping basket many times in the future.

On the side, we shared a slice of toasted local  whole grain bread. We halved the loaf to freeze it and the piece in the middle tore, so I knew it wanted to be eaten right away. I spread a little smart balance on it and it was heavan on earth. I now officially know the value of local bread. I have been really getting into buying local when I can but have always passed up the bread because of the price. But now, I don’t know if I will ever buy another kind. It was truly amazing.

After dinner, we kind of just lounged around and had a quiet evening.

13 Responses

  1. Perfect eaters? Certainly not me. Honestly, this was exactly why I wanted to start a blog. To show that you do not have to be a perfect eater all the time to still be healthy and happy.

    I am glad you wen to work instead of wallowing.

    I really love ravioli. I would love to see your recipe for homemade sauce if you have a chance.

    Heather

  2. Blogging has helped me to not be so hard on myself and realize NOONE is perfect! Your food today looks great and I pray you have a good day! Love the raviolis!

  3. I’m so proud of you for fighting the negativity and getting up and going to work. What a beautiful experience you had a WF. It sounds very validating.
    That bread looks seriously doughy and good!

  4. So proud of you for going to work!!!

    All your food looks wonderful, especially the ravioli!!!

    Have a great day!

  5. Perfection doesn’t exist. Reality rocks! Whole Food rocks!!!

  6. We’re here for you, Christie!! Stay strong!!

    I vote for HEMPMILK as the best nondairy “milk”!! 🙂

    LARABAR!!! WHOO HOO!!!

    Great meal for the blogger secret ingredient challenge!

  7. A perfect eater? Haha, what’s that?! Do not fret my dear, you are among friends and equals, we have our unique triumphs and struggles and we share the common ground of the blogosphere, a strong support group of women (and men) who care and understand and strive to live as healthfully as possible despite the setbacks. So glad to hear you’re feeling better today, the raviolis sounds delicious 🙂

  8. =]

    I was wondering when the hell you were going to update. I was beginning to get worried!

    I missed my fresh bananas this morning & this post definitely just rubbed it in my face. THANKS A LOT, okay?!

  9. Sounds like you had a much better day! Fantastic!
    The ravioli looks delish as does that bread!
    Krista

  10. Yay, for getting up and going to work. Sometimes keeping a bit busy is the best thing to do…as hard as it is to first actually GET going.

    The only non-dairy milk I’ve tried is soy milk (which I grew up drinking)… oat, almond, hemp, and rice are still on the list!

    That bread looks awesome too!

    Have a great day, and once again….you inspire me. 🙂

  11. I’m proud of you for getting up and going to work, and I’m so glad you’re feeling better!

  12. I gave you a blog award. You can go to my blog to retrieve it!

  13. Christie, I know that I’m a little late on this (forgive me), but I just wanted to say thank you for being so open and honest in your post yesterday. The response you received goes to show how much people care about you and just how wonderful this community is. I’m glad that you are feeling better and please know that your story touched me — many of us (myself included) have had those moments where we just can’t take it anymore and feel food is the only place where we can seek comfort. But the most important thing that you acknowledged was that you were aware of what you were doing — that’s a HUGE step in the right direction and I’m very proud of you! Even if you are aware of it and “can’t stop” right now — being aware of it will help you get past it eventually. It may take time, but I know you will get there — and we are ALWAYS here when you need to vent!

    And can’t go without commenting on TODAY’S food – that ravioli looks positively delicious! If I would’ve had time to use the secret ingredient this week, you can bet it would’ve been out of a jar, too 😉

Leave a Reply

