More Kisses

Yesterday, I woke up at 5:00 am and did a 15 minute yoga dvd followed by a short meditation. I already had breakfast made in the fridge, overnight oats with a twist. I combined 7 grain oats with a little oat milk, pureed pumpkin, a mashed banana, fage, cinnamon, nutmeg and vanilla paste. I topped it with a couple walnut halves and a honey drizzle.ย It was really filling and I barely finished half of it.

For lunch, the chef made stir fried veggies topped with seared ahi tuna. I was a little disappointed in this one, he topped it with sea salt which threw the salt level way over the edge, all I could really taste was salt. It was still a beautiful dish ๐Ÿ™‚

To balance all that salt, I had a small square of dark chocolate.

A couple of hours later, my stomach was growling and I realized that because my oats were actually mostly yogurt, I hadn’t really had much in the way of whole grains. I didn’t have anything to fit the bill so I ate a cinnamon roll larabar. Oh boy, it wasn’t a whole grain but it was so good! It took me back to being a kid with the first bite. My mom used to buy these pecan wheels and I loved them, the flavor of this bar was exactly the same. It is going on my to buy again list for sure!

By the time work was done, I was starving again and wiped out. The whole way home I argued with my self about my workout plans. I wanted to try to see if doing my workout as soon as I got home instead of late in the evening would help in the sleeping department. I tossed and turned the night before and I think it was because of the late exercise. I had myself almost convinced to just skip it when a brilliant thought popped into my brain. Why not have a pre workout snack that includes the carbs I had been missing for the day. I had an almond butter sandwich of whole wheat bread.ย  It was exactly what I needed!

After the sammie, I hopped on the treadmill and chugged out an hours worth of walking. Once I had my workout done, I made fajitas for dinner. I used a lean skirt steak, green peppers and onions I had already sliced during the weekend, some chili powder, cumin, garlic powder, onion powder, salt and pepper. We wrapped them in whole wheat tortilla and topped them off with fiesta blend cheese, salsa and tofu sour cream. On the side, the dear husband made salads with cukes and local heirloom tomatoes. Because of my heafty pre workout snack, I wasn’t all that hungry so I ate most of my salad and a few bites of the fajitas. I had never made fajitas before without using a prepackaged mix and these turned out awesome. I will never use the mix again!

After dinner, I caught up on blogland and had a couple more candy corn kisses. I think I have become slighly addicted to these. At least I am doing a good job of controling my portions ๐Ÿ™‚

The rest of the evening was spent watching tv and a little menu planning. I have stopped doing my 15 minute routine everyday because my new weekend cleaning schedule is reallyย doing the trick. And one thing is for sure, It is nice to relax in aย clean house!

QOTD: What do you say to yourself to be convinced that a workout is the right thing to do?

20 Responses

  1. Cinnamon roll is one of my favorite lara bar flavors. When I eat it, I feel like I can taste the cream chesse icing even though there are no ingredients that even come close to that taste! I love them!

    The stir-fry looks good, but I can imagine that the extra salt was a little too much!

  2. Your pictures are better every day! I love them! And it sounds like you did a great job of thinking mindfully about your food choices and listening to your body. Very inspiring.

    To answer your question, I repeat this phrase in my head: You’ve never regretted going to the gym, but you always regret missing a workout. It works (almost) every time. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Have a beautiful day!

  3. Thanks, Erin! That is a great phrase, I will have to remember that one!

  4. I’m not exactly the person to ask ๐Ÿ™‚ but I look forward to everyone’s responses… great question, thanks!

  5. Gorgeous, luscious oats!!

    CINNAMON ROLL LARABAR!!!!!!! Oh yes ๐Ÿ™‚

    I know how amazingly energized I feel after a workout, so I believe that it’s never the WRONG thing to do.

  6. That first pic looks so delicious! When i dont want to work out I try to think of other poeple who inspire me and think they are probobly working out right now!

  7. Those fajitas look tasty!!!

    I usually first assess my body to see if I’m sore anywhere and to see if I’m all fatigued (not just mentally tired. lol.). Then if all is good, I tell myself to just do it cause it’ll make me feel better! ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. I have a few questions:
    In your oats you said you added oat milk – i didn’t know that existed. Did you buy it in the shelved milk section?

    Candy Corn Kisses- I love candy corn! Do the kisses involve chocolate and candy corn combined?

    Lastly, your fajitas look awesome. That’s what I always order at Mexican restaurants, but it’s cool that you came up with a recipe without the prepackages mix!!

  9. Eatingbirdfood, I did buy the oat milk in the shelved milk section. I bought it at whole foods but I have also seen it at ET’s. The candy corn kisses do not involve chocolate. I love them. I was thinking I might stockpile them until next halloween.

  10. (first time commenter here! just found your blog and really like it!)
    I need need need to find those candy corn kisses- candy corn and those mellowcreme pumpkins are my favorite part of fall! So these kisses sound like they would be right up my alley ๐Ÿ™‚

    In terms of workouts, I generally tell myself to go for 10 minutes. I make a deal with myself that if I still don’t want to be there after 10 minutes, I can go home and veg. But usually going through the hassle of getting ready and getting there keeps me there- and afterward I’m always glad I went!

  11. That bowl of oats looks awesome! I bet you were missing the other half when your belly started grumbling!
    When I don’t feel like a workout, I always remind myself how good (and proud) I feel when it’s over. That does the trick for me!

  12. Hi, I have a question for you. I know you said the chef doesn’t know about the blog, and neither do your coworkers, so how do you get pictures of everything? Sorry if I’ve missed your discussion of this before.

  13. P.S. I agree with littleengine – sI say I’ll get oon the treadmill for a short period of time and walk instead of run and that usually works.

  14. Heather, I just take the pictures in my office before I eat it. No one has ever noticed me doing it, my camera is very quiet. Of course, if someone were to ask, I would just tell them that I write a food blog. I actually think the chef would think it was food. When I told him that I was a foodie, he told me he loves foodies.

  15. uh, that should say that I think the chef would think it is cool ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. I usually just think about how I would feel if I DIDN’T get my workout done at that time or on that day. It does the trick 90% of the time, unless I really need sleep ๐Ÿ™‚

  17. I still have yet to see the Cinnamon Roll flavor anywhere, but I’m not really dying to try that one like I was with the Peanut Butter Cookie. I finally found them and – yummmm – they were better than I was expecting!

  18. holy moly, that breakfast of yours looks like ice cream, and i want some! ๐Ÿ™‚ need to try out that cinnamon roll, too! and the fajitas… such tantalizing pictures!

  19. I saw those candy corn kisses tonight at Target! I really want to try ’em, especially if you love them so much! I also saw pumpkin spice…mmm now I wish I would’ve grabbed ’em when I had the chance!

    I love what Erin said in response to your question — that’s actually very similar to what I do. Sometimes I go a step further and visualize myself getting off the machine or putting away the weights after a successful workout. Visual/verbal encouragement is key!!

Leave a Reply

