A Great Day

Yesterday, the alarm went off at 5:00 a.m. and I promptly rolled over and hit the snooze button. Eight minutes later it buzzed again and I said, out loud, “I don’t wanna” and then I had a little banter in my head about maybe just doing some yoga and then, this post from Mizfit popped into my head and I remembered the words “Just do it”. So, I did. I got up and just did a 30 minute vinyasa yoga dvd.

After my great accomplishment, I made a bowl of oats with a mashed banana and almond milk. For some reason, it would not thicken at all and it curdled. I took it off the stove, topped it with some homemade granola and ate it anyway. Though the texture wasn’t right, it still tasted good. (sorry for the bad lighting, no natural light in the mornings has me stumped)

For some reason, once I got to work, I got hungrier faster than normal. Luckily, The Pro had brought us lattes so I popped it into the microwave to reheat it and had that. I thought it would be gross reheated but it actually tasted just the same.

Since the club is closed on Monday’s and The Pro was off property, T offered to go pick up Panera. A welcomed offer as I was really busy and didn’t really have time to do it myself. I ordered the Orchard Harvest Salad with a whole grain baguette. This is one of my favorite salads, I really wish they would serve it year round. It has lettuce, chopped pears, dried cherries, gorgonzola cheese and pecans. So tasty!

After lunch, I popped in a small square of dark chocolate to cure the sweet tooth.

With tons to do, the afternoon wizzed by and despite the fact that I could have stuck around to finish more work, I bolted right on time! When I got home, there was a crockpot full of dinner waiting. I made chicken taco soup from Heather’s site which turned out great. I had done all of the prep on Saturday and assembled it last night and put it in the fridge. This morning, all I had to do was turn it on and set the timer. It really couldn’t have been easier and even though I am not really a crock pot girl, this experience just might change my mind.

I served the soup, which really ended up being more like a stew, on top of brown rice I had reheated from the freezer. Once ready, I topped it all off with some fiesta blend cheese, a dollop of tofu sour cream and a sprinkle of dried cilantro. Wala. This was the ultimate make ahead meal and the dear husband really liked it too.

And for dessert, I had two candy corn kisses. Need I say more?

After dinner, I got some things ready for my early morning wake up and then hit the treadmill. I did 1 hour while watching the food network and reading a cookbook. After a quick shower and some time in blogland, I was ready for a late night snack. I had a fage with a couple chopped walnut halves and a honey drizzle. This is my favorite way to eat greek yogurt!

I must say, yesterday was a really good day. I felt energetic and happy all day long, which I attribute to the early a.m. yoga. A habit I hope to rekindle.

QOTD: What morning time routine or  exercise sets your day off right?

13 Responses

  1. Sounds like you had a great day. I love taco soup! It is a favorite in my family!

    My internal clock always wakes me up early. I am definitely an early bird. I like to ease into my day with some e-mail checks and blog reading before I get ready for work. When I get to work, I am the only one there so it is nice and quiet. So, then I enjoy my oatmeal mixture of the day and my coffee. For some reason, my body does not like exercise in the morning, and I don’t feel I put in as much effort as I do later in the day.

  2. GOOD JOB! YAY! Two workouts in one day – I’m impressed!
    I don’t work out in the morning, but I always feel good when I’m not rushed, have a leisurely breakfast, and take my time with hair and makeup. Its fun for me!

  3. candy corn KISESS!? are you serious? i must find these! what do they taste like?

  4. Hooray for great workouts – glad that you’re motivated!!

    Gorgeous oats!!

    Since my dance practices occur during the afternoons AND evenings, every single day, I like to start out each morning with yoga, belly-dancing, and full-body stretches.

  5. Yoga really starts my day off right! I wish I had time to do it every morning.

  6. I’ve been drooling over that salad, but I tried their other fruit salad [the strawberry poppy seed one] and I hated it. Obviously, this made me a bit skeptical about spending money on the new one. I guess I’ll have to give it a go now =] Thanks.

  7. Your food looks delish. I can never figure out a consistent pattern as to when workout. Sometimes I need the extra sleep and work it in later in the afternoon and other times I feel energized and workout first thing. I do workout regularly though, so I can’t complain too much. It’s my stress relief. 🙂

  8. Great for you, for getting out of bed!!!

    I have been looking for those candy corn kisses…maybe target has them!

  9. nice job on getting out of bed & working out! that’s exactly what you have to do – just get up – no excuses! yay!

    my morning exercise routine – wake up @ 5:05 – get dressed and hit the gym. i either swim 1 mile (takes me 30 minutes) or i get on the elliptical machine and complete 3 miles (takes 32 minutes). makes me feel gooooooooooood all day long!

    superw00t!

  10. Got to start the day off with bible study and prayer.. than its gym time… Ilove the orchard salad but last time i went it was not on the menu =(

  11. good job on the yoga! the taco soup looks delicious – never made one before, i should try this one!

  12. Caitlin, they are really creamy and really sweet. Kind of like buttercream frosting!

  13. Great job with the yoga and treadmill today. Sounds like it really put you in a great mood.

Leave a Reply

