Here Comes Hanna

Yesterday, I decided that I was going to find out the results of eating a fun cereal for breakfast rather than one loaded with fiber and protein. An intuitive eating experiment, if you will. I knew that the cereal would be mentally satisfying but what about physically. So, I had some clifford crunch mixed along with my favorite dessert cereal, hazelnut biscotti. I had it along with a few almonds and almond milk.

I found the results to be interesting, I got hungry around the same time as I normally do. Luckily, it was around the same time the new chef brought up salads. I am not exactly sure what the salad was but it was delicious. I wanted to ask the chef about it but he was busy in a meeting most of the afternoon. It had grilled romaine, grilled green onion, grilled green something I could not identify, slices of beef tenderloin, tomatoes and a lovely robust dressing. It was topped with fresh made potato chips for crunch. And to top it all off, it was beautiful. It is like he secretly knows I have a food blog πŸ™‚

I got hungry again just before it was time to go so I had a cashew cookie larabar. OK, I have to say, this one is so so good. I kept thinking in my brain, do I like this one better than pecan pie? I am so glad I was introduced to the world of larabars! Not only do they taste awesome, they are really satisfying!

By the time I left, the rain was starting to come down; Hurricane Hanna was making her way to us. I safely made it home and made a quick dinner that also involved using up what we had. I made whole wheat pita pizza with tomato sauce, turkey pepperoni and soy mozzarella. On the side, we had salad with cukes, tomatoes and oil and vinegar. I love this method of making pizza, so easy and the pita is the perfect amount for me.

After dinner, I must admit to doing absolutely nothing. I think I was on my way to dreamland by 7:30! It had been a long short week and I was wiped out!

In the meantime, thanks for all of the great advice yesterday! I thought alot about what I am going through at work and decided that I have to make a change. I need to start leaving on time no matter how busy I am, T tells me all the time that it is just golf.Β I’m going to take her word for it and do my best to leave when I am supposed to. The only person that can change my life is me and there is a great need for it right now. So, thanks for getting my thinking wheels spinning yesterday!

QOTD: Do you find it is just as important for your food to be mentally satisfying asΒ  it is physically satisfying?

16 Responses

  1. That cereal mixture looks mighty tasty. I think I am going to have to try the cashew Larabar. I love the cinnamon roll and banana bread ones.

    I find that I need food to be both, but if I had to pick one, I would say mentally satisfying. I feel that if I am not mentally satisfied by the food, I end up not being physically satisfied. My husband can eat anything just because it is time to eat and his body needs the food. I can’t do that. If I don’t fully enjoy or want what I am eating, then I am not fully satisfied!

  2. Thanks for the cereal experiment. Sometimes I do those too πŸ™‚

    Cashew cookie is now one of my top favs too.

  3. Oh my gosh, definitely. Unfortunately sometimes just how physically satisfying something is may not make all the difference. When something is not mentally satisfying I tend to think myself into hunger again and overeat. The two satisfying”ness” meeting each other half way… well, that’s a wonderful thing πŸ™‚

  4. this sounds weird, but id rather food be physically satisfying. if i eat something that isnt physically satisfying, i end up hungry like an HOUR later. no matter what, i have to eat ever 3 – 4 hours, so i’d rather just be physical satisified.

  5. I’d have to say physically satisfying first then mentally satisfying second!

  6. Yes, I totally think food needs to be mentally satisfying as far as treats, but physically satisfying as far as breakfast, lunch, dinner.

    I took the dosha quiz again and got the same result. It’s interesting because in reading about the different doshas, I don’t agree with my results. I think I am going to post the link you posted because I think it’s so cool. Is that ok with you?

  7. Of course! When I first started learning about the doshas, i didn’t agree either and as time goes by I am learning how my body does actually make the adjustments. You also may just be a nice balance between all of them.

  8. CASHEW COOKIE LARABAR!!!!!!!!! Love that flavor, for sure.

    Ah yes, Hurricane Hanna is beginning to show her presence where I am as well 😦

    I think that food should be both physically and mentally satisfying; but physically is a bit more important, in my opinion, since your “physical self” requires proper nourishment.

  9. I love the new chefs creations that you have been eating for lunch.. so pretty. Was that a hint that he knows that you have a food blog?

  10. No, I wasn’t hinting. No one at my work knows about the blog, that I am aware of. Which is probably a good thing because I tend to vent about work on it πŸ™‚

  11. I don’t think the two are mutually exclusive but most of the time I want something that is physically satisfying (I’m known to eat bland, uninspired food just for the sake of eating) but sometimes I get into a mood where I want to eat what I want right now regardless of calories, healthiness, etc.. What a great question! I’ve never thought of that before…

  12. Absolutely! If I am not mentally satisfied with a meal, it doesn’t matter that I’m physically full. I will continue to nibble until I find something that “mentally” hits the spot! I think this is why I like to end each meal with something on the sweet side. Once sweet hits my mouth, my brain knows the meal is over.
    Krista

  13. your chef is seriously talented!!

    i LOVED the cashew cookie larabar. amazing.

    i think it’s really important to be mentally satisfied as well as physically – if i have something that didn’t taste good or that made me feel bad, i would be prone to eat more to “correct” it!

  14. Sounds like you have a good goal for work. It’s hard to do, for sure, but I find that when I make myself go home, it recharges me so that I’m more productive. And yes, it’s just golf. That cracked me up. πŸ™‚

    Yep, food, for me, has to be the whole kit and kaboodle!

  15. I find that a lot of times i need to be filled more mentally than physically, but of course i need the physical fullness too. I think it helps me see what i’m eating and how i should be eating later in the day with the meals and activities coming up!

    and creative breakfast! i love mixing all sorts of cereals together!

  16. The salad the chef made is so pretty!

Leave a Reply

