Hello, Strangers!

They say you don’t miss something until it is gone for a reason. Four days without the internet really sucks! I don’t think I realized how much I actually rely on it for my day to day life. I needed to balance my checkbook, no go. I needed a recipe, no go. I needed to get escape sheer boredom, no go. Needless to say, I am thankful that my internet is working again. Despite the fact that the new modem is not compatible with our internet phone so now we are without a telephone. But I have a cell phone and I CAN surf the web.

The last few days were odd for me. I’m not sure what I was going through but I had some major cravings for cheese, ice cream and yogurt. Parts of me wonder if I need the calcium or if I am suffering a bit of deprivation from not eating dairy. I also came to realize how dependent I have become on blogging as it relates to my relationship with food. I kept having the devil on my shoulder reminding me that no one was watching and that I could eat whatever I wanted. It made me wonder if this blog has become my new diet. I don’t want it to be, I want it to be a place where I can be open and honest about food and all of the struggles I have with it. So, in honor of that, I must tell you that I ate a burger and fries followed by ice cream for dinner only after indulging at PF Changs for lunch. Phew. Glad that is out.

OK, no onto yesterday. I woke up and got ready for work and made a quick breakfast as I have been trying to get to work earlier to compensate for how busy we are. I had a bowl of Live Active cereal topped with a sliced banana, some almonds and vanilla almond milk. Once again, I enjoyed the pleasures of having a non dairy milk. I am so glad my eyes have been opened to the many options available!

I got to work and things were nuts, of course. The beginning of the month is always the worst because we are under multiple deadlines. We have to get the statements out, close sales for the previous month, reconcile accounts and get the inventory settled. Generally, it is about 5 days worked crammed into a day and a half. Fun stuff. I was so focused on work that I almost missed staff lunch. Luckily, I realized it just in time and made my way downstairs. We have a new chef and he is really trying to get things sorted out so the staff lunch was a hodge podge of things. I finally settled on a grilled chicken sandwich and fruit salad. My only bread option was a kaiser roll so I asked for a couple of slices of wheat bread to make mine. I topped it with lettuce, tomato and mustard. It was kind of bland but since it was free, I’m not complaining.

A few hours later, my stomach started to churn and I decided it was the perfect time to eat my ever anticipated PEANUT BUTTER COOKIE LARABAR!!! The lovely Caitlin at See Bride Run was so sweet to mail me one after I mentioned on her blog that I couldn’t find them. So, I must thank her as I thought this was a really sweet gesture, so Thank You, Caitlin! Now, onto what I thought of the bar. It was really good, it had a awesome flavor and was very reminiscent of a peanut butter cookie. It moved its way into my second favorite LARABAR spot, the first being the pecan pie one which I discovered while I was on hiatus.

After my snack, I stayed very busy throughout the afternoon and even had to work late. By the time I made it home, I was really hungry. I had taken some tofu parm out of the freezer to reheat. I baked it in the toaster over for about 45 minutes and then topped it with marinara sauce and soy cheese over whole wheat couscous. On the side we had a small salad with oil and vinegar.

For dessert, I had a slice of almond poppy seed bread that I made from this recipe. I used white whole wheat flour and it turned out great. I toasted my slice and topped it with a little light smart balance. I will be making this bread again and again, just like mom used to.

After dinner and dessert, I did my 15 minute cleanup and then settled in to watch some tv. It had been a really long day and the only thing on my mind was relaxing.

QOTD: How do you view your food blog with respect to your relationship with food?

16 Responses

  1. So glad you are back! Your tofu parm. looks amazing. I am glad you had a little angel that sent you a pb lara bar. I haven’t been able to find them either. Hopefully, they will magically appear on my grocery store shelves soon. I haven’t ever tried pecan pie, so maybe I will try that one for now.

    Personally, my blog has pushed me to increase the variety in my diet and to use more fresh foods. On top of that, I have met so many wonderful people and learned so much about food from all the blogs I have been reading!

  2. Hey sometimes, you just have to have a burger and fries. No judgement — it’s life!

  3. Pecan pie is my top fav. too!! With PB second 🙂

  4. glad to have you back! that poppy seed bread looks so delicious – poppy seeds make everything so pretty. i know what you mean about the blog being a watchful eye – for me, i like that i’ve now got in the habit of photographing everything i eat, because it makes me take time to “gear up” for eating, and it makes me think more about what i’m putting in my mouth. it’s also made me try and keep things as interesting and varied as possible, to make for more entertaining reading!

    no worries about the indulgence day – noone can live without those!

  5. HOORAY FOR BEING BACK!! I’ve missed your posts!! 🙂

    LARABARS!!! **swoons**

    My food blog has encouraged me to try new/more foods, and to be more adventurous in the kitchen with my baking.

  6. glad you’ve gotten your internet back! and that tofu parm looks divine…along with that bread!

    so lucky you got to try that bar…like megan i’m still waiting for it to magically appear on my store shelves…

    as far as my blog goes, it helps me see what and why i’m eating and lets me know when i need to get some variety in my diet. it is also a way of letting myself know that my eating disorder doesn’t rule my life and eating should be a wonderful experience!

  7. I am so glad you liked you little present! 🙂

    My blog has made me more aware of eating a variety of foods. Without the blog, I slip into the habit of eating the same thing for breakfast and lunch. Blogging forces me to be creative! 😀

  8. I can’t find the PB ones or the Coconut Cream ones!!! I do, however, have the Key Lime Pie ones… and they’re amazing. Have you tried those? I’ll mail you one if you haven’t!

    When that hurricane was flooding the area here, if you remember from my blog, my power was GONE for hours at a time… aka no tv and no internet. I was DYING. There was one day that I actually went into work 2 hours early, just to hang out… because I was THAT bored at my house.

  9. Everyone deserves a break every once in while 🙂 no need to dwell on your indulgences, just hoping you enjoyed them!

    My blog has definitely brought more awareness to the food I eat, although sometimes I find that I get too focused on trying to make everything perfectly balanced and be an ideal healthy eating example. However, this lonely downfall is definitely negated by the wonderfully supportive community that I have been lucky enough to be a part of. I can always count on someone to snap me back into the foodie reality and remind me to take pleasure in the good whole foods I fuel myself with.

  10. Hi Christie!

    Great to have you back!

    I find that my blog really keeps me accountable for what I put in my mouth. I don’t want to post a bunch of junk, so I don’t eat it. For me, it’s that simple! Even when I sometimes think to myself that no one may even be reading my blog, I work on the assumption that 100’s of people are and that keeps me going. Food aside, I always kept a journal as a teenager and didn’t realize how much I missed it until I started my blog. What a great release!

    And don’t worry about the burger, fries and ice cream….we all need dinner’s like that sometimes!! 🙂

    Krista

  11. I think the blogs in general have helped me better develop a healthy relationship with food because i feel motivated by others who eat like I eat and i love getting new ideas and sharing information!

  12. Glad you’re back!

    This is an interesting question (as always). I think when I was doing meatless, the blog was really helping me appreciate my food and search for new things to eat instead of just eating snacks or veggie burgers. HFCS free has been a little different because I am focused more on ingredients and finding products that do and do not have HFCS. I am not as focused on the big picture. It’s interesting to think about. I think if I posted EVERYTHING I ate it might be a little different, but not sure.

    Heather

  13. mmmmmmm tofu parm? great idea!!!!

    i think my food blog has helped me to try new foods i normally wouldn’t have tried and also helped me focus on adding variety into my meals and snacks… before the blog i’d wake up eat oatmeal, have oatmeal as a mid-am snack, eat pb&j, and then have a granola bar as a snack and dinner would be random 🙂

  14. I’m so glad you’re back! I really missed your posts. 🙂 That poppy seed bread sounds yummy. Is it sweet?
    My food blog helps me affirm myself for good food choices. I actually feel calmer when I’ve blogged my food. Is that weird?

  15. I’m glad to see you’re back! I missed your lovely food! Case in point: your poppy seed bread and tofu parm are making my mouth water!!

    Mmm…glad you got to try that Larabar!! How very nice of Caitlin 🙂

    My food blog has definitely helped me think outside the box in terms of my food choices, and has also helped me realize that I am, in many ways, a creature of habit. I like what I like, and I stick with it!

  16. I wanna join in even though I dont have a food blog per se—-I always wonder how it doesnt make one OBSESSED?

    I dont tend toward foodobsession at all but food journaling? can make me crazed….

Leave a Reply

