5 Months of Wedded Bliss

I woke up pretty early yesterday and spent some time in the blog-o-sphere before making breakfast. Once I was ready to eat, I made a wheat bagel toasted with smart balance and topped with almond butter and frog jam. On the side, I had a nice bowl of watermelon. It was a nice breakfast and fueled me up for the day ahead.

After breakfast, I spent a couple of hours deep cleaning the bathrooms and the kitchen. By the time I finished, the dear husband was back from his long run so the morning timing worked out perfectly. We were heading out to run some errands and my stomach was starting to growl so Iย ate a banana.

We did a couple of our errands and then stopped for lunch. We ate at Spinnaker’s which is a local family owned place with a nice variety of food. They are famous for their flower pot bread so we started with that.

For lunch, I ordered the grilled chicken panini and fries. The panini had grilled chicken, spinach, mozzarella (!!), red onions and honey dijon mustard. It was so good! I ate most of the panini and a couple of the fries. For some reason, the fries were not appealing to me at all which is probably a good thing.

After lunch, we went to Barnes and Noble to look around and to get a starbucks. I got a soy caramel latte to see how it would compete with my favorite vanilla latte. It was good, but I think I like the vanilla better.

Once we were all buzzed up, we headed home to relax for the rest of the afternoon. Around 5:30, I decided to do my 15 minute clean up before dinner instead of after. I vacuumed the downstairs and decluttered a little bit. This 15 minute thing really is doing so much for our house. I have been thinking of all of the things that I can accomplish in 15 minutes and plan to make a list soon. One of the things that has really been helping me is that I am keeping in mind that I am not trying to achieve perfection just clean and tidy.

We were both feeling uninspired for dinner. I wanted to do something nice since it was our 5 month wedding anniversary and our 25 months since we met anniversary. We had pretty much decided on just going to the italian place just a mile or two away when I read this postย on Jenna’s blog. They were headed to the Bonefish Grill and that sounded perfect. We hopped in the car and made it there around 6:45.

For appitizer, we started with the bang bang shrimp. Iย  had heard awesome things about it and it had been on my mind to try it for a really long time. It greatly exceeded my expectations! I had a light breading and then it was tossed in a creamy spicy sauce that reminded us both of the spicy mayo they use on sushi. We gobbled it down!

Then came the wonderful bread with the lovely olive oil and pesto which I could probably make a meal out of.

And then there was soup, a nice corn crab chowder that I will be trying to duplicate at home come fall.

For dinner, I ordered the pistachio crusted rainbow trout with garlic whipped potatoes and veggies. As you can imagine, by this time, I wasn’t really hungry anymore so I only had a few bites and we boxed up the rest.

When we made it home, we were both really tired so we climbed into bed with our books and called it a night.

QOTD: I have decided that I am going to start the Couch To 5K running program which requires one to run three times per week which I think I can manage. When I ran before, I ran 5 days a week and would love to be back there again. How many days per week do you run?

18 Responses

  1. I loveeeee the C25K program. It really does work. It makes running SO easy. If you’re going to do it, I’d recommend downloading some podcasts that are made for C25K, like Robert Ullrey’s. They tell you when to start/stop running, etc. =]

  2. Ugh I’m such a bad runner…. I need to get more into it…I have to do it for skating, but I do the bare minimum. I’m always inspired by all of you running bloggers!!! Someday I hope I can move my bum to enjoy it more…and well, obviously, run further/faster/more.

    The bang bang shrimp and pesto dip for the bread sound incredible…and that flower pot bread is too cute!!!

    Happy Sunday!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I run ZERO days per week. ๐Ÿ™‚ Ha!
    How amazing is the flower pot bread?! I love it so much!
    Happy anniversary! You guys are too sweet!

  4. Happy Anniversary. All your food looks so good today. The bread in the pot is so cool. Never seen anything like that.

    I run about 6 days a week and have nervous energy if I do not! Good luck with the program. I’ve been trying to get my sister to do it, so I am curious to see how you do it.

    Heather

  5. The flower pot bread looks delicous! I love bread!!!

    I also love your Hawaii travel mug. Where did you get it?

  6. flower pot bread is so cute! i love it!

    i run 5 days a week and do another form of cardio 1 day a week. it is very exhausting. i dont talk about this a lot of my blog (well, i kind of hinted at it this AM), but my running schedule SERIOUSLY EXHAUSTS me. i do it because i have a goal (half marathon) and i don’t think i can reach it without putting in the time and effort (judging from my past training experiences and other races). it’s rough, but hopefully it will be worth it.

    after my half-marathon is over (mid oct), i am going to cut back to 3 – 4 days of running but continue to work out 6 out of 7 days.

    good luck!! did you get my package yet?

  7. Looove your breakfast – yum!! But wait… what is frog jam?? PLEASE tell me that it doesn’t have anything to do with toads, haha ๐Ÿ˜‰

    HAPPY ANNIVERSARY!!! What a lovely meal you two had, to celebrate. I wish you a lifetime together.

  8. Happy Anniversary!

    Sounds like the dairy trial didn’t do much for your allergies, but it was worth a shot, right? How does it feel to be eating cheese again?

    The 15 minute a day thing is SO smart. I need to start that. I am not a tidy person inherently but want to learn how to keep things neater. I tried a house cleaning schedule but I’ve failed to keep up with it. 15 minutes before bed, I can do.

    I just ran this morning with Addie in the jogging stroller. Once we got the super expensive jogging stroller that practically rolls itself and moved to a place that is a 5 minute jog from trails on August 1st, I have started jogging much much more. I can’t give a per-week estimate because it varies from 0-4 depending on the week ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Thanks Megan, that is really awesome, I will add you to mine as well. I love finding new blogs to read ๐Ÿ™‚ I got the hawaii mug at Starbucks in Hawaii. That is where dear husban and I went on our honeymoon.

    Caitlin, I haven’t gotten it yet. I am thinking it will be here on Tuesday. MMMM….snack on Tuesday!

    VeggieGirl., hahaha no it does not involve toads ๐Ÿ™‚ It is a local jam we bought on our recent trip and it has figs (F), raspeberry (R), orange (O) and ginger (G). If i can find some around here, I will send you some!

    Mon, Yay for getting out on the running stroller with Addie. I bet she loves it! The 15 minutes thing is really working for me. Our house is so much more tidy now. I got the idea on the CPTE.

  10. Oh, Mon, I forgot to say about the cheese thing. Yesterday, I ate alot of dairy, in comparison to the last couple of weeks and had a pretty bad headache by the end of the day so I think the key for me is going to be just having a little dairy everynow and then. More as a treat rather than the norm. Unfortunately, nothing is really doing the trick of gettting rid of my symptoms completely. I am taking zyrtec d and many ibuprohens daily just to keep the headaches under control. The syrtec takes a little while to build up in your system so I am trying to hang in there. I have a feeling, though, that I will be back in the docs office soon.

  11. OMG bang bang shrimp are truly dangerous!! I could eat waay too many of them.

    As for the QOTD: I don’t run. I’ve tried, numerous times, and I just can’t get into it. I can walk for an hour, I can bike… running just makes me hurt and its not fun.

  12. What fabulous pictures.

    The 15 min cleaning comment caught my eye. This is exactly what I’m working on… I make all these plans to clean house for hours and just end up sitting on my butt putting it off – because lets face it I do not want to clean for hours! I’m trying to only clean for 15-20 min at a time. Nothing is perfect, but it’s definitely better than it was.

  13. happy anniversary!! the pot bread looks fascinating and delicious! your 15 minute method sounds very effective. i should really use that for my own bedroom…. hmm.

    i really want to try and run outdoors more, too – it’s just not one of my favourite things. i tend to go for ages without doing it and then do 3 days in a row suddenly! couch to 5k sounds interesting, i should look into it.

  14. Happy anniversary!! The flower pot bread looks very interesting!

    I love the idea of 15 minute cleaning, in fact I think I will try that now!

  15. Hi Christie! Thanks…purple is my favorite color!

    I have to ask….what is frog jam?????

    I typically run 5km 5 days a week over my lunch hour on the treadmill at home.

    Great looking anniversary dinner!
    Krista

  16. Wow that flower bread pot is so cute!

    I love to run but there are some weeks when my body just doesnt want to do it.. I usually do 3 hard workouts a week and if i feel up to it i will do some casual runs but I try to cross train as much as possible

  17. I love Bonefish Grill… the bang bang shrimp is the ultimate appetizer. I’m glad you got to experience it.

    I am training for a half marathon so I usually run 4 – 5 days a week.

Leave a Reply

