Last Day of Vacation

I woke up around 7:30 and started my last day of vacation with a bowl of 7 grain cereal. I cooked it in vanilla hemp milk, a mashed banana, some sea salt and just before turning off the stove, I mixed in a well beaten egg. I topped it with some “on their last leg” blueberries and a spoonfull of almond butter. This bowl of hot cereal was excellent. It was rich and creamy and really filled me up and kept me going for most of the morning.

After breakfast, I started on my quest for a clean house. Something that hasn’t really happened since I moved into a much larger house with my dear husband. As I have mentioned before, I am a perfectionist and this has led to me never starting any thing when it comes to house work. So, slowly but surely, I have been getting the house in order as a starting point for my new plan of action. I plan to do the nitty gritty cleaning on Saturday while the dear husband does his marathon training and then also commit to 15 minutes per day of de-cluttering. Yesterday, I was able to achieve a nice starting point.

I took a break around 1 and made lunch. I used some leftover roasted chicken to make a sandwich on whole wheat bread with lettuce, tomato and honey mustard. On the side I had more of the watermelon from Monday. The sandwich wasn’t spectacular by any stretch of the imagination but it did the trick and fueled me for the rest of my cleaning.

A little after lunch, I decided to have some of the cherry almond chocolate bar that I had on my mind for a couple of days. I ate about a 1/3 of the bar and had to really stop myself from eating the rest. It was so so good right up there with the cranberry chocolate bar from a couple days ago. Luckily, this cherry almond bar is more readily available so I can have it whenever I want!

After the cleaning was done, I made some dinner just in time for the dear husband arrival from work. I had planned to make tofu stir fry and in the midst of baking the tofu, I decided to just use up the rest of the roasted chicken and save the tofu for snacking and a meal later in the week. I loaded the stir fry with lots of mixed veggies and made a sauce with some general tsao’s sauce, chili sauce and honey. I served the stir fry on top of some brown rice I heated up from the freezer. Once we started to eat it, it seemed a little bland so I gave it a good glug of soy sauce and that was just what it needed.

After dinner, I spent 15 minutes cleaning and organizing my bedrooms drawers and then settled in with my book. It had been a nice and productive last day of vacation, I am counting the days until the next one!

QOTD: Are you a clean freak or a messy slob? I seem to be both, I can’t seem to find any middle ground which is what I am really trying to work on.

10 Responses

  1. I’m a clean freak with my house & a complete slob with my car. Weird?

  2. I hate clutter, but I’m not great with the deep cleaning. Although I do love a clean house.

    Oh, and the 15-minutes a day of de-cluttering does WONDERS for me! It somehow makes me feel lighter and very productive. And, usually, you can do it while watching The Hills. (No judging. lol.)

  3. HOORAY FOR HEMPMILK!! 🙂

    I’m a perfectionist, so I’m definitely a “clean freak,” haha 😉

  4. I am def a clean freak but I have learned to let things go since I live wih a sister who is a messy slob… I think you have to pick and choose whatyou let bother you/ruin your day and I (try to) refuse to be controlled by things like something not being spotless!

  5. I love a clean house, unfortunately, I live with a DH who is a fan of little teeny collectibles, and ‘stuff.’ My main method of cleaning is to ‘beat it back with a stick.’ 🙂

    I love the 15 minutes of de-cluttering. I need to start doing that daily, I’m sure in short order, I’d be living a much calmer life.

  6. i’m so glad i have blueberries in the fridge, because your first picture definitely made me crave them!!

  7. LOL!

    No, I didn’t clean them for the picture. My boyfriend is a neat freak. Whenever I go grocery shopping, he organizes the fridge to make room for the new stuff.

  8. Have fun on your last day of vacation!! I think that everyone is a mixture of both, there are certain things i am super clean about and then other things i don’t mind if they are a little unorganized…which makes me believe that no one can be a clean freak about everything! beautiful pics!!

  9. Soya sauce has multiple uses. Nice blog

  10. I’m psycho clean! It’s ridiculous and stressful.
    Something about that almond butter blob looks really good! 🙂 It’s just a nice picture!
    Way to reign it in on the cherry chocolate bar – that can’t be easy! I swear I can’t even have stuff like that in the house.

Leave a Reply

