Home Sweet Home

I woke up around 7 yesterday and got to work right away on getting us home. I first made pretty  much the same breakfast that we ate the whole time we were there. A bowl of 7 grain cereal made with soymilk, mashed banana, vanilla bean paste and a dash of salt. Then once it was cooked, I topped it with some homemade trail mix. We ate our breakfast out on the deck but didn’t linger too long as we had lots to do and it was pretty muggy.

again with the trail mix

again with the trail mix

After breakfast, we got all of our things packed into the car and headed out. On our way out of town, we stopped into the local coffee shop for lattes. I got a soy toffee coffee latte and the dear husband got a soy snickerdoodle. Both were delicious and really got us ready for the long ride home.

toffee coffee latte

toffee coffee latte

A few bathroom breaks later, we were finally in Chesterfield and stopped for lunch. The name of the place was Vinny’s Italian Grill and we think we have eaten there before during past travels. I ordered a bowl of italian wedding soup to start. It came with garlic bread and even though it had butter on it, I did indulge. I had been tossing around in my mind for a couple of days that if cutting dairy isn’t really helping my allergy symptoms after almost two weeks, then maybe I don’t have to be so stringent about it. Don’t get me wrong, I still plan to avoid it for now but not completely. But I digress.

I ate butter

I ate butter

For lunch, I ordered a chicken wrap on wheat with bacon, lettuce, tomato and honey mustard. It came with homemade chips which were so delicious. I ended up eating very little of the wrap and too many of the chips. Which I paid for later with low blood sugar symptoms from all the carbs, lesson learned.

mmmm...potatoes

mmmm...potatoes

Once our stomachs were full, we finished our drive home which was only about another 30 minutes. When we got home, we unpacked the car and I made my way to blogland. Oh, it was so nice to have my high speed internet back. While we were away, we were using dial up and it took me so long to blog each day. I also found out the google reader really isn’t made for using with dial up, it kept timing out as did many blogs I tried to comment on. Needless to say, I had almost 200 posts in my reader to catch up on yesterday afternoon.

Once I was all caught up with blogging, we went to the grocery store to stock up for the week. When we got home, we both kind piddled around the house and got a few things done. Around 6, we started up the grill to make some burgers. We put the burgers on ezekial buns and topped them with lettuce, tomato, pickles, ketchup and mustard. On the side, we had some watermelon that one of our lake neighbors was kind enough to give up on her way out! It was so good and was the first watermelon I had had all summer. I know, that is a mortal sin but it is true. I don’t like buying them unless there are plenty of people around to share otherwise, they go bad. So, I will be eating lots of watermelon these next couple of day!

After dinner, the dear husband settled into some paperwork and I settled into a book. We had a great time on our vacation but it was nice to be home.

QOTD: What is your favorite summertime fruit? I think mine has to be peaches and berries. I’m so sad all of that is coming to an end. 😦

19 Responses

  1. I really love all the strawberries and blueberries I’ve been eating! Yum.

    I also really love the topping on your 7 grains! It really puts it over the edge!

  2. Ooh! What book are you reading? Your trail mix looks delish! My fave summer fruits are berries and mangos. It’s sad when summer is over, isn’t it?

  3. While on vacation, I read “the Beach House” which was a nice light read and last night I started “The Lovely Bones” which is probably old news but it has been on my book shelf for ages and I am trying to read what I have before I buy new books.

  4. Thanks for taking the time to post while you were on vacation, especially since it took so long to do it using dial up.

    I’m so glad you have some watermelon to eat! It’s one of my favorite summertime fruits, along with blueberries and strawberries!

  5. I don’t think I can pick a favorite summer fruit, but I did buy some amazing summer peaches this week!!

    I need to try trail mix on my oatmeal!

  6. WELCOME HOME!!!

    Favorite summertime fruit: cherries!!! I seriously cannot go ONE FREAKING DAY without them – it’s an addiction, I swear!! Haha 😉

  7. Watermelon is, hands down, my favorite summer fruit. I honestly can’t get enough of it in the summer and it doesn’t take long for the 3 of us to finish one up! (1 of the 3 of us being a watermelon-loving 9-month old!)

    The last few we’ve had have not been as good, and that, to me, marks the changing of the seasons!

    Welcome back! Sounds like you had a marvelous time!

  8. i saw your post on carrotsncake.com.. i didn’t really understand the brick concept. could you please explain it a little more? thanks!

  9. welcome back! sounds like it was amazing!!!

    trail mix and oats sounds like a heavenly combo!

    favorite summertime fruit: blueberries! especially since i’ve been spoiled by getting to pick my own all summer.. the ones is grocery store are shriveled and gross already. i’ll definitely miss them!

  10. Rhodeygirl,

    I wasn’t sure if you would check back here or there so I thought I would answer you in both places.

    You put the bricks in the back of your toilet so when the water fills the tank, it takes less water to fill it. And as a result, uses less water each flush.

  11. I dont know if this is summer time fruit but I recently got very into mangos I wasnt really a big fan before but now I def love them they are very versitile and can be sued in sweet and savory dishes!

  12. awesome thank you so much for the tip!

  13. I just came accross your website and I love it! I will be putting your link on my site! My favorite summer fruit has to be strawberries! To me, nothing beats a freshly picked strawberry!

  14. Bing cherries, without a doubt!!!

  15. so glad you enjoyed your holiday 🙂

    your burger is tall!! and looks amazing!

    i think that just having little amounts of dairy here and there won’t do you any harm. indulgences are part of life 😉 and if it doesn’t trouble you physically, don’t ban yourself from anything!

    those chips do look good, i don’t blame you from enjoying them 🙂

  16. Mine are cantaloupes and strawberries.

    I know that it’s NOT watermelon. I hate watermelon, yuck! I know, I know – I’m weird… but even the smell of it makes me gag. HOWEVER, I love watermelon *flavored* anything. Weird, huh?

  17. Nectarines for me!

  18. I coule eat nectarines until I threw up, and plums and peaches are right behind.

    The melons are all right, cantaloupe being my favorite. I always long for the next seasonal fruit when I have tired of what is in season.

    After plums and such, I say, bring on the citrus. Yummo!

  19. I vote berries! And I’m personally super excited about it because in the southern hemisphere summer is coming up quickly, yay :).

    By the way, thanks for stumbling upon my blog, because now I found yours, and it’s wonderful. I was reading your story and background and I admire your honesty and the strides you have made in healthy eating habits. I, too, am far from perfect and have experienced some bingeing tendencies so I can totally understand. Good luck with everything! And I hope you don’t mind but I added you to my blog roll. Take care!

Leave a Reply

