Our Last Full Day

Yesterday, I slept until a whopping 7:30! If only I could have a few more days of vacation, maybe I could sleep until 8. I started our day with a bowl of 7 grain cereal made with soymilk, vanilla bean paste and a mashed banana. Once it was cooked, I once again topped it with homemade trail mix. This combo is so delicious and so filling,Β Ican see why so many in blogland eat their oats this way.
the best way to eat oats

the best way to eat oats

After breakfast, we hit the pool for a couple of hours. once we started to think about lunch, we made our way back to the condo and got ready to head out. While we were getting ready, I had a small handful of wasabi peas to tide me over. I love how crunchy and spicy they are:

wasabi peas

wasabi peas

For lunch, we went to lunch at Chopsticks, a local chinese/sushi bar/hibachi place right on the water. We ordered sushi, of course, and a bowl of miso along with a ginger dressing salad.

miso soup and ginger salad

miso soup and ginger salad

When the sushi came, I thought it was the most beautiful presentation of sushi I had ever seen. There was a duck carved out of some sort of veggie or fruit in the middle of our rolls. We had a volcano roll, a shrimp tempura roll, a smoked salmon roll and a boston roll. The rolls were much larger than we are used to and with with my bottomless pit dear husband, we did not finish it all. My favorite was the shrimp tempura roll though I like the volcano roll quite a bit as well. We finished off our lunch with a fortune cookie.

duck and sushi

duck and sushi

Lunch led us to the only winery on Smith Mountain lake, Hickory Hill Winery. We first did a tour and then I did a tasting. I tasted a total of nine wines and liked three of them. I ended up buying a bottle of the Smith Mountain Misto, Cabernet Franc and Redbud.

redbud

redbud

After the winery, we headed to the grocery store for dinner fixens and then back to the condo. Once there, we read for a couple of hours and then started on dinner. I made a salad with lettuce, tomato, baby cukes, orange peppers, shredded roasted chicken, sea salt, oil and vinegar. I served the salad along with a tuscan garlic loaf of bread topped with some smart balance. This meal was just what I needed, my lack of veggies was really catching up with me so it was just what I was craving.

roasted chicken on salad

roasted chicken on salad

brean n fake buttah

brean n fake buttah

For dessert, we had some peach sorbet that pleasantly surprised me. I had never had sorbet before and it really did the trick on my ice cream craving.

peach sorbet

peach sorbet

After dinner and dessert, we settled in for some tv and finally went to bed. We had really enjoyed our time and we didn’t want it to end. Can’t wait until next summer!

QOTD: Are you a wine drinker? What is your favorite?

12 Responses

  1. I love Sushi.. and that presentation with the duck made out of veggies and fruit looks awesome.

    QOTD: I really like wine and would like to go to a wine festival or wine tasting at a vineyard sometime soon. As for red I like Pinot Noir, Chianti, and Cabernet Sauvignon. I like it to be somewhat dry but not too dry. I also like sweet cold white wines on a summer day like Riesling.

  2. Mmm, trail mix oats and miso soup!!

    Haha, love the “fake buttah” πŸ˜€

    No wine for me!

  3. I love white wine and Riesling is my fav.

  4. Your oats and sushi look delicious!

  5. I am a wanna be wine drinker, which means I wish I liked it, but really, I could care less. Your sushi is beautiful and the peach sorbet just looks amazing.

  6. peach sorbet!! mmmm. at the moment i love rose wine. so summery and refreshing πŸ™‚ but normally i’m more of a red drinker.

    i love those wasabi peas!! they were on sale at the japanese food store the other day, so very almost bought them πŸ™‚

  7. funfunfunfunfunImCheapYellowTailFUN!

  8. What a beautiful bowl of oatmeal! I had some wasabi peanuts a couple weeks ago and forgot how yummy wasabi anything is. πŸ™‚ I know it’s been up for awhile, but I adore that picture of you and your hub. Have a great week!

  9. That peach sorbet looks so refreshing!

  10. That sushi presentation is definitely beautiful – I love when you can enjoy the presentation as much as the food itself because it makes eating so much more enjoyable πŸ™‚

    I’m glad you had such a nice time – that peach sorbet sounds amazing!

    I love wine – a good one is La Bicyclette!

  11. These are great looking low cal meals. I would love to spend everyday like that.

  12. I will drink just about anything that is served, but I prefer the hard stuff. Yep, I openly admit loving a Dirty Martini, with extra olives.

    Granted, I rarely if ever drink. I there was an expiration date on liqour, my cabinet would be empty, so does that tell you how much I drink?

    When I first got married(27 years ago) I loved White Russians, but have turned to saltier items as I have gottne older, who knew.

    But what ever is being served at the home I am dining is fine with me.

Leave a Reply

