Somewhat lazy, Somewhat active

I was able to sleep in a little yesterday, I didn’t wake up until 7! I made the dear husband and I am nice bowl of oats made with soymilk. I topped the oats with some homemade trail mix and a banana. I have seen this combo in blogland often and have always thought that it must be an interesting texture combo. It was that and more. I enjoyed it so much and it left me satisfied for hours. We will be having this combo again, for sure.

oats and trail mix

oats and trail mix

Once our breakfast settled, we hit the pool for some swimming and some relaxing. We spent a couple of hours there reading, splashing around and having a grand time. Afterwards, we went back to the condo and took a nap! Oh, how I love vacation. When we woke up, it was time for a late lunch. I made low sodium board head turkey on whole wheat with honey mustard, lettuce and tomato. Along side the sandwiches, we had some plain sunchips and a nice bunch of grapes.

lunch on the deck

lunch on the deck

We ate our lunch on the deck, here is the view:

lunch with a view

lunch with a view

After lunch, we headed out for some exploring but first we had to stop for a local latte. This time I got a soy snickerdoodle and the dear husband got a soy almond joy. I thoroughly enjoyed mine, it was sweet and cinnamony and after a lazy morning, it really perked me up.

snickerdoodle soy latte

snickerdoodle soy latte

The lattes lead us to The General Store, a cozy little shop with lots to offer. We browsed around the unique gifts and local made quilts and crafts. We finally stumbled upon the local food and this is where we spent the majority of our time and money. We bought a huge mason jar of local and some local made wasabi peas. After the general store, we decided to hit the road and see where it took us. The first place that peaked out interest was the Booker T. Washington National Monument. We stopped to walk around and read the history on Mr. Washington. And to our delight, after looking at the animals, we happened upon a hiking trail called the Jack-o-lantern trail. Despite my being in flip flops and blue jeans, we decided to go for it. We walked the trail and really worked up a sweat! Here are some shots of our time at the Monument and on the trail:

duck

duck

sheep and chicken

sheep and chicken

trail

trail

Once we finished the hike, we hit the open road. We came across a small town and a local creamery that boasted fresh baked goods and local produce. We had to stop! Though the fresh homemade ice cream was hard to resist, we still came out with the quite the loot. We bought some local jam, homemade whole wheat pasta, a 7 grain hot cereal mix and a whole wheat pancake mix, all local to VA! High on food finds, we decided to see what the next town would bring. We decided that we would eat dinner at the first place that appealed to us.

About 10 miles later, we were in Rocky Mount, VA and came across a restaurant called Red Clay. We knew this was our place. It was empty, I think we were the only ones there but the staff was friendly and the atmosphere was hip but cozy. We started with the almond dusted shrimp served with a pineapple salsa and a citrus vinaigrette. The shrimp was delightful, I really enjoyed it with the vinaigrette. I apologize for the pictures but it was very dimly lit which I do not have very much experience with.

almond dusted shrimp

almond dusted shrimp

For dinner, I chose the special. It was jumbo lump crab cakes served with two sides of my choice. I chose the steamed veggies and the roasted corn. The crab were served with a cajun roumelad sauce, they were very good. I really enjoyed this dinner, and the best part is it was dirt cheap!

crab cake special

crab cake special

After dinner, we headed back to the condo for some relaxing and chocolate 🙂 We shared a dark chocolate cranberry almond bar. This was my favorite of all of my dairy free chocolate I have tried so far. I really liked the chew that the cranberries gave and the crunch from the almonds.

cranberry almond dark chocolate

cranberry almond dark chocolate

We settled in for some tv and a little reading and then hit the hay. It had been a lovely day here in the mountains.

QOTD: Am I the only one who seeks out food on vacation? I always find it so interesting to see the foods that the locals always have access to. The dear husband jokes that we always come home from vacation with more food than we left with.

8 Responses

  1. AW Mr. Ducky!!

    Those shrimp and crab cakes sound and look awesome!! I definitely seek out food on vacation… ALWAYS….sometimes even searching for restaurants ahead of time…or sometimes just going where we are told by the locals! Always a good time…and normally delicious!

  2. Looks like the perfect vacation day! Good food and lots of action.

    Yes, I love to see what local food is available when I’m on vacation – local restaurants, little markets, etc. I always try to get something special that is local.

    Heather

  3. Hooray for sleeping in, enjoying a bowl of trail-mix oats, eating lunch with a picturesque view, hiking & sightseeing, and local food! 🙂

    Nope, you’re not alone – I love seeking out local finds at markets/restaurants/etc. while on vacation.

  4. I think the food pics you took in the restaurant are great! No need for apologies!

    I think seeking out local food on vacation just adds so much more to the overall experience!

  5. what a great hiking area from the looks of it! and i love the domestic mallard! they’re so pretty…

  6. I just found your blog and am loving all of the yummy food photos.. YUM!

  7. ..change that to “re-found” your blog…!

  8. […] made breakfast around 8. I made whole wheat pancakes from a mix that we bought on our trip to Smith Mountain Lake back in August. I normally make pancakes from scratch but I really wanted to try out that mix since […]

Leave a Reply

