Ah, Vacation

Yesterday started out slow and easy. I woke up early and made breakfast right away. I made creme brulee custard oatmeal (click for recipe and photo) to go along with my morning cup. It was nice and creamy and was really everything I had expected. I had found a recipe from Eating Out Loud and thought I would expand on it by combining it with my own custard oatmeal. I am glad I did, this will go down in history as one of the best ways to eat oats!

After breakfast, I worked on getting us packed for our trip. around 10, I began to feel a little hungry and since I was pretty busy I wanted something simple and easy so I made half an almond butter and strawberry jam sandwich on whole wheat. It was so good, such a nice twist on a classic.

ab & j

ab & j

Once we were all packed and ready to go, I was really hungry and ready for lunch. I had a hankering for a sub so I drove to the ever spectacular wawa and got one. I ordered a whole wheat italian shorti with loads of veggies, olive oil, vinegar and spicy mustard. I purchased some plain sunchips to go along side. At first I bought the harvest cheddar ones because they are my favorite and then had a very duh moment about the fact that they have cheese in them, even if only the powdered version. I quickly exchanged them for the plain version. The lunch was great, it was really what I was craving.

italian sub and sunchips

italian sub and sunchips

After lunch, we loaded the car and headed out. We had a couple of errands to run first but finally hit the road around 2:30. About twenty minutes into the trip, I thought that a Starbucks would be just the thing I needed to cure my raging headache and prepare me for the long road ahead. With my friend Jessyin mind, I ordered a soy vanilla latte in my own to go mug. The mug is very special to me because the dear husband and I purchased it at Starbucks in Hawaii on our honeymoon.

Eco Friendly Starbucks

Eco Friendly Starbucks

Once we got our drinks, we headed towards Smith Mountain Lake, VA. The roads were long, winding and had really no signs of much except churches, caution lights and cows. It was a beautiful drive. We arrived at our destination around 5:30 and immediately perused the dinner options. We finally decided to take our chances and just stop somewhere on our way to the grocery store. We ended up at The Blackwater Cafe, a little place just down the road from the condo we will call home for the next few days. The waitress immediately brought some bread and crackers to the table. I apologize for the lack of pictures but I left the camera at our temporary home. 

We ordered an appetizer called Grilled Shrimp and Pineapple bruschetta. It was grilled shrimp with a pineapple salsa served over a warm flat bread. It was pretty good though I thought the shrimp lacked seasoning. For dinner, I ordered one of the specials.  North Carolina trout with a vegetable couli served with roasted Yukon’s and green beans. I guess the chef has pretty bland tastes because both of us thought all of the food lacked in the flavor department. I gave my food a nice layer of salt and all was well.

Once we finished dinner, we headed to the grocery store to stock up on some fresh items to get us through the next few days. We also piddled around the shopping center only to find that everything closes promptly at five. There are some cute little shops that we will surely be visiting during our adventures here. Once we made it back to the condo, we settled in for some reading and headed off to bed soon after. A beautiful lake and lovely mountains await us!

QOTD: How do you handle vacation eating?

9 Responses

  1. Have fun on your vacation!

    When I go on vacation, I try to have at least one meal “at home” or wherever I’m staying. Even if that’s oatmeal with a banana and almond butter in the hotel room. Then one meal out that I try to be good–salad with protein or something similar. THEN one meal a day that is special and I try to order something that’s local to the place I’m staying. I eat slowly and chew thoroughly and ENJOY the food, even if it’s not “good for me” 🙂 Hey, you’re on vacation!

  2. I’m so glad you got there safely! I hope you guys have a GREAT vacation, even thought I’m sad I won’t get to see you this trip 😦

    Enjoy the time off!

    Vacation eating: Anytime there is a kitchen/fridge available, I try to bring and/or buy as many things as I can so that I’m prepared. Eating out can always be a challenge, but there’s usually always at least one good choice available. Or so you hope 🙂

  3. I hope you have a wonderful vacation! My tip for vacation eating is to take it one meal at a time. If you try to remember that each meal is special and that yes, there will be another meal – in other words, don’t put too much on your plate so that you can’t enjoy the next one – you will be fine 🙂 But also remember that vacation is about treating yourself, both with food and fun!

  4. Mmm, that oatmeal sounds divine; and I love the ABJ!!

    Enjoy every minute of your vacation – you deserve it!!

    Since I’m blogging about my recent trip to Chicago right now, you’ll see that vacation eating is actually quite simple when you have great restaurants at your disposal 🙂 And I always fill up the fridge in the hotel room with fresh fruits, vegetables, and other foods for breakfasts and snacks and such.

  5. Vacay Eating for me = Never really an issue. Especially when it’s hot outside, I find myself craving fresh fruits and veggies ALL THE MORE! And to think of it as a special experience for both you AND your bod, helps to remember that ESPECIALLY during vacay, the respect to the whole picture is important! CAN’T WAIT TO HEAR MORE 🙂

    (ps) I don’t know if I’ve ever commented before but I love your blog! So sorry if this is my first comment though! You do such a fabbb job and your blog is quite charming 🙂 I enjoy reading it so! Take Care girlie and enjoy your time to the fullest! You totally deserve this vacay 🙂

  6. love the cute flask!

    it seems you are doing really well with holiday eating (sorry i just can’t get myself to use vacation – i’ve never said the word out loud before!!) – i think if i’m away somewhere different, abroad with different culture/language etc. i try to enjoy the national/local food as part of the touristy experience… i’m not sure about just going away for a break, though – don’t think i’ve ever done that!

  7. I had wanted to buy the glass hawaii mugs at Starbucks when we were there last week, but I told myself I have too many mugs : /

    My biggest weakness for vacation eating is getting a dessert too many nights. I pack a lot of healthy bars and snacks, and also pick up fresh fruit for the fridge if there is one.

  8. Have a great vacation. I love the new picture you added.

    On vacation I try to enjoy special things and eat lots of fruits and vegetables as sort of a cleanser of the other crap.

    Have a wonderful wonderful time.

    Heather

  9. i love your starbucks mug! it’s so awesome! and really different & pretty, too! hooooray for reusing! man, that rocks so hard!

    have fun @ smith mountain lake. i used to go there alllll the time when i was growing up in lynchburg. it’s a cute little town and gorgeous there, too! yay for vacation times!

Leave a Reply

