A Child Like Breakfast

I got to sleep in a little extra yesterday because the course was closed and T told me that no one would be around at the time I usually arrive. It was nice to get a few extra zzzz’s before going in to work. And of course, I slept a little too late and was hurried as I got ready. So, I skipped the oats for a bowl of this new cereal I bought from Target. It is called Cinnamon start with high protein and I topped it with hazelnut milk. It was really tasty, it reminded me of cinnamon toast crunch from being a kid but the NI is much better šŸ™‚

cinnamon start

cinnamon start

Work was pretty busy but I was able to get alot of work done despite being in a meeting most of the morning. I had the leftover edamame from Sunday’s hike around 10 and then around 12, I had a banana. T went out to pick up lunch since the club is closed for 10 days and the Pro was out of town. She wasn’t expected back until one, hence the two snacks before lunch. She arrived around 1:15 with sushi. I had a tuna dynomite roll, a summer roll and a small square of dairy free dark chocolate. Sorry for the lack of pictures but I left in such a hurry this morning, I forgot my camera.

Lunch kept me going until I got home where I made black bean burgers. I served them on ezekial buns topped with lettuce, yellow tomato, ketchup and spicy mustard. They were super good, this is one of those recipes that I have been working to perfect for a while now and I think I am almost there. Stay tuned to see the recipe once I get it just right! With the burgers, we had a small salad tossed with oil and vinegar.

black bean burger

black bean burger

After dinner, we caught up on the dvr and got a little housework done. We are getting ready for our vacation that starts TOMORROW (!!!) so we have a lot going on. Once our work was done, we settled into our books and then headed to bed.

QOTD: What do you eat for breakfast when you are in a hurry? For me, it is generally cold cereal.

19 Responses

  1. Glad to hear you were able to get a little extra sleep!

    I usually either eat a banana or a nutrition bar for breakfast if I am in a hurry.

  2. I def have bars on hand if I am in a rush I will grab one of those an add milk, yogurt or extra nuts or something!

  3. I always grab yogurt and a little baggie of cereal or oats to toss in it.

    Is that black bean burger homemade?

    Heather

  4. Yes, the black bean burger is homemade. As I mentioned in the post, it is a recipe I am working on and plan to post it once I get it just right.

  5. That black bean burger is HUGE!! LOOOOVE it šŸ™‚

    When I’m in a hurry, I make a protein shake for breakfast (made with hempmilk, frozen strawberries, and hemp protein powder).

  6. send me your mailing address and i will mal you a PB larabar! seebriderun at gmail.com!

    šŸ˜€

  7. Caitlin, that is so nice of you! I will email you RIGHT AWAY!!

  8. pb and toast! the awesome standby!

    your welcome!

  9. YAY for vacation times! and your burger looks stellar! i can’t wait to try out your recipe! mmmmmmm!

    my favorite quick breakfast = fruit smoothie. a little rice milk + 2 of my favorite fruits = fast + tasty!

  10. That is a serious burger, it looks amazing!
    Smoothies, or a handful of trail mix and yogurt. šŸ™‚ Have a great day!

  11. The burger looks AMAZING! Bean patties are the best!

    As for a quick breakfast, it’s usually something portable, like a piece of toast and some fruits, or maybe a bar or something–I get even hungrier afterwards, but better than nothing!

  12. I’m going on vacation tomorrow, too!!! And I feel like I REALLY need it. Yay for us! lol.

    In the mornings when I’m rushed I usually grab a piece of fruit and/or a kashi bar. It’ll do the trick, although otherwise I’m an oatmeal or cereal girl. šŸ™‚

  13. I definitely eat cold cereal when I’m in a hurry – nothing gets much easier than that!

    I’ve always wanted to try a black bean burger – they look so good!

    I apologize if you’ve said this before…but do you work at a golf course? I love golf!!

  14. Eatingbender, I do work for a golf club, one of the best courses in the country. I don’t play, it just pays my bills šŸ™‚

  15. i can’t wait for the recipe for that burger!!! i’m salivating over here šŸ˜›

    when i’m in a hurry, i usually grab a banana and put some peanut butter on it šŸ™‚ cereal is another one of my faves, too

    have a great day!

  16. i can’t wait for the recipe either!! it looks SO good! for quick breakfasts, i usually rely on fage and fruit šŸ™‚

  17. I love cereal if I’m in a hurry or not. I also used to eat protein bars a lot when I was in college.

  18. Wowza! That black bean patty looks HUGE. I love thick patties! I still have yet to try black bean burgers though!! I keep saying I will…..or better, that I’ll make them…. yaaaaaaaaa.

  19. can’t wait for the recipe because this looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

