Of course, it was Mac N Cheese

I’m not sure why, but this morning I woke up wiped out and starving. I think the endless headaches, ear and jaw pain are really starting to catch up to me. I started the day with a bowl of hot grains (wheatberries, oats, and bulgur) topped with ground flax seed, a banana and some almond butter. I ate the entire bowl and still felt like I could eat more but in the essence of time, I headed to work instead.

oats, no milk

oats, no milk

Work started out pretty easy and I was working at a pretty comfortable pace. By 9, I felt starved again and knew that the staff lunch was coming soon. I normally try to wait until the end of it to go get my lunch but today, I was first in line at 10:30! It was roasted chicken, bacon green beans and, of course, the best looking mac and cheese I had ever laid my eyes on. I skipped the mac n cheese to stay dairy free but I did have some of the chicken and the beans along with a slice of toasted wheat bread. I ate most of the chicken, the beans minus the bacon and all of the bread.

staff lunch

staff lunch

An hour later, I was hungry again and I knew it would be my last chance to eat anything until dinner so I had the banana that had been sitting on my desk for a couple days. It was perfectly ripe, the kind of ripe that makes you say out loud how good the banana is! After my banana, I had 3 meeting scheduled. The first started at 12 and it ran over causing me to have to cancel the 2:00 meeting. And it ran over still to the point that I had to end it when my 2:45 meeting arrived on site. Needless to say, it was a hectic afternoon. I ended up leaving work about 45 minutes late and by then I was starving again.

I called the dear husband and asked him to help me with the prep which made dinner go by much faster. I made baked salmon with greek seasoning, whole wheat couscous and the dear husband put together a salad. This was one of my go to meals when I was on weightwatchers. And tonight, I remembered why. It is fast, tasty and healthy all rolled up in one meal.

fast, healthy and delicous

fast, healthy and delicous

After dinner, I caught up on blogland via google reader (don’t you just love it?) and then settled in with my new book, Small Changes, Big Results by Ellie Kreiger. The book is a 12 week program to make small changes over time for a healthier lifestyle. It addresses three important factors, food, exercise and emotional well being all of which I could use some help. Unfortunaley, I fell asleep before I could even get through the first week, so more on that tomorrow. When I woke up a couple hours later, I was starving, my stomach was growling so loud I think the dear husband could hear it. I had a small bowl of hazelnut biscotti cereal with soymilk and then headed to bed.

QOTD: Do you have a harder time staying on track with eating right and exercising when you aren’t feeling great?

12 Responses

  1. I hope your head gets better.

    Interesting Q. I have a hard time eating right if I’m depressed or bored, but not when I’m tired or sick. When I’m tired or sick, I usually eat intuitively because I have other things on my mind, which ususally involves trying to not be sick because I don’t have time for it, if that makes any sense.

  2. Ahh, hang in there!! I’m praying that all the pain is gone soon!! On a brighter note, that oatmeal looks delicious – yum!

  3. Thanks, ladies. I am doing everything I can to find a solution to these allergies. They are really interupting my life! I am hearing really good things about giving up dairy so I am crossing my fingers that it will help me. I also got a netti pot that I need to teach myself how to use 🙂

  4. good luck with the allegries! i would recommend seeing a holistic doctor as well as a regular MD for your allegries. a holistic doctor might be able to recommend some natural solutions to the problem!

    ugh when i feel like crap, i just want to stuff my face! but thats normal 🙂

  5. Yeah, my friend Monica is a Hollistic health counselor, she is the one that recommened I cut the dairy. It is nice to have friends like that 🙂

  6. OMG Google Reader is the best thing since sliced wheat bread. It makes blog reading so easy (in addition to finding new faves)!

    I love Ellie’s cookbook, and I love her take on healthy living. I’m sure her plan will be good, but keep filling us in as you get into the nitty gritty (say like Nacho Libre) of it. 🙂

  7. Keep us posted on that Ellie book! And I hope you feel better. 😦 Boo!

  8. I’m so enjoying your blog; and beautiful pix.
    As to the QOTD: Absolutely; when I feel like crap, I tend to eat that way too. Heavy on the toast and butter, and peanut M&M’s. Which doesn’t help my overall health.

    Good luck with the allergies; they can wreak havoc with your life. 🙂

  9. i saw your comment about cottage cheese oats and just wanted to let you know that Lactaid makes cottage cheese so you can have your oats and eat them too!

    my grandparents are lactose intolerant so they have tons of substitutions–some take a little getting used to, but they aren’t half bad. Also, I’m a big fan of vanilla and chocolate almond milk, especially in my oatmeal, it really gives it a little something extra!

  10. Aww that stinks. Hope you feel better. Get some rest.

    I love bananas for exactly the reason you said – so good, you just have to say it out loud. I love Ellie Krieger so keep us updated on the book.

  11. YES!!!

    and when Im tired.

    when I dont sleep enough the sugarcalls and seems like a pretty good choice 🙂

  12. Thanks, Sarah. Unfortunately, lactose intolerance isn’t my problem. There are current studies out showing a link between alleriges (like my grass allergy) and consuming dairy products. I believe it is the protein in the dairy that aggreviates the allergies. So, anyway, that is why I can’t eat dairy.

Leave a Reply

