I just love Sundays

Sundays are by far my favorite day of the week. Especially when they are slow and easy with nothing but relaxing to do. I started the day with a big glass of chocolate milk to tide me over while making breakfast. My camera batteries died so I don’t have a picture of the milk but it really just looked the same as the milk from Saturday 🙂 For breakfast, I made some blueberry oat muffins. I used whole wheat flour, oat flour and rolled oats. I was a little nervous about mixing up the flours but they turned out great. I had two of them with a little light smart balance. It was my first time using smart balance and I have to say that I liked it. It was smooth and buttery tasting without all the saturated fat of regular butter and without the trans fats of margarine. A nice compromise, I think.

blueberry oat muffins

blueberry oat muffins

After the muffins, we packed up a backpack and headed for a short hike. We went to Point of Rocks park which is about 10 miles from home. It has a nice marsh walk and a few miles of trails. The morning was cool so it made for great hiking weather. I’m not exactly sure how far we went because the gps kept losing it’s signal but we were out there for about an hour. If I had to guess, I would say it must have been about 2.5 miles. Here are some nice pictures we took along the way.

the marsh walk

the marsh walk

pretty

pretty

what a view

what a view

After hiking, we headed home for some lunch. I made buffalo sliders; they were tasty! I made two little mini burgers on 100% whole wheat Hawaiian rolls. I topped each with a little lettuce, local tomatoes, pickles, ketchup and mustard. On the side we had some green grapes. It was a satisfying lunch after being in the wilderness 🙂

buffalo soldier...i mean slider

buffalo soldier...i mean slider

grapes

grapes

The afternoon was lovely, we read, watched tv, did some laundry and of course took a nap. When I woke up from my nap, I felt ravenous. I made a small bowl of fage with raspberries and honey. For some reason, the yogurt was very tart so I ended up only eating the berries and the honey. The same thing happened last week and I thought it was the blueberries but now I am thinking something was wrong with that batch of yogurt. Oh well, I have new containers waiting for me in the week ahead.

greek yogurt with raspberries

greek yogurt with raspberries

For dinner, I made tofu parmesan. I drained some of the local tofu I bought on Saturday, sliced it into four slices and then coated it in panko mixed with parmesan, then egg wash and then panko again. I baked the tofu for about 45 minutes so that it was nice and crispy on the outside. I served the tofu over whole wheat angel hair pasta and then topped it with mozzarella cheese and marinara sauce. Alond side the pasta, we had a green salad with oil and vinegar. I think it was the best dinner I had eaten in a long time. It was also the best “oven fried” results I had ever achieved.

tofu parmesan

tofu parmesan

A couple of hours after dinner, I had a raging sweet tooth. I finally decided to have a small bowl of cocoa bumpers to wipe it out. After my dessert, I was off to dreamland. It had been a perfect Sunday.

cocoa bumpers

cocoa bumpers

QOTD: Do you have a sweet tooth? What do you do when you aren’t hungry but are really craving something sweet?

16 Responses

  1. Hi! What are Hawaiian rolls?

    Tofu parm – definitely doing that!

    Sweet tooth – uh, yeah! Well, I used to try to eat other things like an apple if I wanted a piece of chocolate or cake or something. But I always ended up eating the sweet eventually anyway and feeling bad! Now, I just eat a little of the sweet and feel better. Luckily though, I really do love fruit and that usually does it for me. Also, if I don’t have the sweet in my house, it’s much much easier to resist. 😀

    Heather

  2. The parm rocked!

    Here is a link to the hawaiin rolls, they are awesome. We buy the 100% whole wheat variety. They are slightly sweet so I like them alot 🙂

    http://www.kingshawaiian.com/

  3. mmm…i love Hawaiian rolls! i used to eat them all the time as a little girl!

    and your tofu looks fab….need to make me some of that!

    and sweet tooth? i think it’s in my blood. haha. i’m a huge chocoholic so i just have a little something when the craving hits…cause if i try to divert it with something else sweet like fruit, i end up eating what i wanted originally plus some later on, which is not what i want!

  4. Your tofu looks SO GOOD!

    Hmm, for when my sweet tooth hits and I’m not hungry.. it depends what I’m craving! If it’s something crunchy, maybe I’ll have a ricecake with ricemallow cream or a bowl of sweet cereal. If it’s for something sweet and creamy I will grab a bowl of sorbet or soy ice cream if I’ve got it!

  5. Wow, what I am learning here is that eating when not hungry may not be the end of the world.

  6. I love Smart Balance. It’s a stapel in our house and even bakes pretty well.

    When I need something sweet, but I’m not hungry, I usually try to pull out a piece of gum. Nine times out of 10 it’s something else that’s really bothering me, and I can “chew” it out. 😉

  7. Oh, I’m definitely trying tofu parmesan!

    Sugar cravings. I have a few steps that I go through.

    1). Distract myself 🙂 Do something that will hopefully distract me from the craving–change my environment, do something productive,etc.
    2) Drink a glass of water.
    3) Grab some frozen fruit..yes, still frozen! I love frozen grapes, bananas, blueberries, and mango for snacking on. Really helps with the sugar cravings.
    4). Dark chocolate.
    5). Eat what I’m craving! And enjoying it. And moving right on.

  8. Hi, I love this blog – I have been a lurker for a while on the Core board and have always been impressed with your determination and willingess to share your stories and experiences.

    I was wondering if you would be able to post your recipe for the bluebery oat muffins from Sunday’s post. They look fantastic.

    Thanks so much!
    Jenn

  9. Oh the dreaded sweet tooth….

    Sometimes some fruit will be enough, especially berries, but often what I really need is some CHOCOLATE! There are so many good individually wrapped portion-controlled chocolates out there that taste great. Some of my favorites are the Hershey’s Dark Chocolate Squares (I think they’re like 40 calories each) but I also really like the Choxie brand from Target. They have great flavors and come in packs of 3. I like the Chocolate Toffee one a lot and the Dark Chocolate Cappuccino—yumm! Each bar is around 100 calories and tastes great!

  10. I too love Sundays; but then Monday comes…. haha 😉

    Those muffins looks wonderful; and the scenic photographs are spectacular!!

    When I’m craving something sweet, it’s always fruit – so I go for it 🙂

  11. Ooops, the muffins LOOK wonderful – sorry 🙂

  12. I am totally going to try that tofu recipe! That looks incredible, wow!
    All of my teeth are sweet.
    Sometimes, I eat a gin-gin (10 calorie candy) after a meal. Other times I eat tums.
    But I always, always, always have a fun food every day, and it’s usually something chocolate with peanut butter! I can’t deprive myself or I’ll go crazy. So I just try to hold off until it’s fun food time.
    A fun food: one eaten JUST FOR PLEASURE. Whether hungry or not.

  13. ok
    you lost me at the miniburgers. dang they look amazing.

    ok

    back.
    dare I say airpopped popcorn with choc protein powder sprinkled on top?

  14. Jen, I found the recipe in a random google search and then I tweaked it to death without writing down my changes 😦 Sorry for the lack of recipe.

  15. The muffins are really cute! Now I’m craving muffins…

    And wow–I’m jealous of the VIEW you get on your walking trip! All I get is cement and trees!

    The tofu parmesan looks soooo delicious! I love how versatile tofu can be!

    When I crave something sweet, which is all the time, it’s usually brownies! And when I’m not craving brownies, I’m craving oatmeal and/or peanut butter 😛

  16. Those burgers look fantastic!

    As for my sweet tooth, a piece or two of dark chocolate usually does the trick. I like Ghirardelli because it tastes really decadent 🙂

Leave a Reply

