Eating Slowly, Day Three

I woke up yesterday with my eye on the vacation ball. I knew if I could chug my way through a couple more weeks, I would be golden. I started the day with a bowl of rolled oats that I  made with milk. I mixed in some ground flax seed and topped it with a bunch of blueberries. For the third day in a row, I noticed that I struggle most with eating slowly in the morning. I’m not sure if that is because I seem to always be in a hurry or if it is because I am really hungry. I do typically wake up hungry in the mornings but this is an area that I really need to focus on eating more slowly.

oats and blueberries

oats and blueberries

Once I made it to work, I knew right away that it wasn’t going to be the easy care free day I had envisioned in my head. We recently switched email servers and because I send out mass emails to our membership, I had been blacklisted from sending email. Not a great way to start a Monday. This took up the better part of my morning and by 11am I still hadn’t been able to really get started with my day. At that time, I realized I was hungry so I had a banana. I had forgotten how much I like bananas as a snack, lately I have been having them in something but this was great all by itself.

mmmm...banana

mmmm...banana

Shortly after 11, T came around wanting to know about lunch. The Pro had been in meetings all mornings so we took it upon ourselves to make the grand decision. We decided on Panera. T ran out to pick it up while I tried to make some sense out of the piles on my desk. I order a pick two, ceasar salad and turkey chickpea chili with whole grain baguette. The chili was great, it was the first time I had tried it. I went easy on the ceasar dressing by just barely dipping my fork into the little container, I think I probably ate about 1.5 to 2 teaspoons of it. I also didn’t eat the croutons. Ya know, I am really picky about croutons. I only really like the fresh made ones, the prepackaged kind just don’t float my boat. I also also most of the bread. I adore the bread from Panera.

Panera

Panera

After lunch, I stayed really busy and I literally looked at the clock thinking it was about 2:00 but it was actually 4:00 already. And I was ready to get out of there so I packed up my bag and went home. Once home, I made a very simple dinner. Grilled pork chops, whole wheat couscous and a salad. I seasoned both the pork and the couscous with paprika, onion, garlic, salt and pepper. The chops made their own pan sauce so I poured a little of that over the couscous. This is the favorite way in our house. I over cooked the pork a little so it was a bit dry but it was still very tasty. 

home grown tomatoes!!

home grown tomatoes!!

quick dinner

quick dinner

After dinner, we just hung around and relaxed. I resisted the urge for something sweet because I wasn’t hungry! This is another one of those areas where I need to work out my issues. I went to bed with peace of mind that today, I did not overeat, I ate slowly (for the most part) and I ate until “not hungry”. Yippee!

7 Responses

  1. I had almost the exact same breakfast as you this morning- I was eating it as I was reading your post. How coincidental.

    p.s. Love your blog!

  2. I always have such a hard time eating slowly at breakfast also! I usually have cold cereal with almond milk..so I think I eat fast so it won’t get too soggy. Oh well!

    I’m glad your day ended well!

    PS: Love the blog!

  3. All of those meals sound great – and the photo of the blueberries is gorgeous! WOW!

  4. Hey, you’re tagged! See my blog for details!

  5. I love Panera’s bread, too. The whole grain baguette is tasty, tasty heaven. 🙂

  6. Congrats on listening to your body and eating till you’re “not hungry.” I love your blog and your meals look so delicious!

  7. sounds like a super mindful day! that’s awesome! and nice job on not eating something sweet after dinner because you weren’t hungry. it’s always awesome when you can keep in mind “if you don’t need it – don’t eat it!”

    i too am picky about croutons! 😉 i figure – why eat them if i’m not gonna super love them?!

Leave a Reply

